Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2969
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by MintBean » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:22 am

Civ VI is brought to you by the animal 'Tux' and the foodstuff 'cookies.'
http://www.pcgamesn.com/civilization-vi ... amos-linux

This is a lesson to make some noise to developers if you want to see more Linux ports. I'm not much of a gamer these days, but we will all benefit from better driver support as gaming increases on the platform.

User avatar
eu2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by eu2 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:24 pm

I'm not looking forward to this at all.

It's going to be lacking at first and then eventually a ridiculous time drain..

On the plus side though it's a great excuse to upgrade pc hardware.

User avatar
eu2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by eu2 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:42 pm

^^ Kinda wondering if there is a reason you still frequent these forums rather than nuking India?

https://lowrey.me/civilization-vi-quotes/

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 819
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by Citizen229 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:42 pm

Sid once stated his AI does not cheat. He is correct. When difficulty is placed to diety, AI gets different rules. Which is not cheating. Witnessed this on Civ 3 and 4.
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

darsh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:47 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by darsh » Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:56 pm

Empire: Total War had unbearable AI turn times on Windows for me, but the Linux version was quick and actually playable. I installed Civilization VI the other day on Linux Mint 18.2 KDE (32 if not 64 bit) and it gave me an error and wouldn't load, about to try it on Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon 64-bit now.

The game (C6) loads a little slower than I like on my Windows 10 PC and so alike ETW I'm going to figure that it'll be more pleasant this way, which seems to be true with the exception of rare cases where the hardware is to blame rather than the OS and/or game version's coding.

Steam and multiple games (growingly so) working on Linux has been a significant part of my switching from Windows to Linux.

At any rate, I'll edit my comment here and say if it worked and was quicker but still the same, or not.

EDIT (a number of days later): Still no luck for me with getting Civ6 to work. The unrecoverable error persists through versions. My specs aren't that bad, it's only a few year old computer with dual core 2.4 ghz i3 cpu and 8 gb ram but probably a low mb/mhz gpu. If that is the case, the alternative possible fix to the libgl1 update that crashed my OS when I tried it, long story, is some tactic to trick C6 into thinking my specs meet the requirement. Perhaps I'll take a gamble on that next.
Last edited by darsh on Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon 64-bit user

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 819
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by Citizen229 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:06 am

The Civ series has always been a CPU hog on turn processing. I looked up the system specs for Civ6. Both my rigs are 4 core 4 thread. I do not think either will process the game very well. The video card specs are just as hungry.
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

uberdorf
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:15 am

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by uberdorf » Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:31 am

Steam's minimum specs for Linux on Civ VI is a bit high. It works fine on my dual core computers that are over 3 GHz when I have 8 GB of RAM installed. Both use a NVIDIA GT 710 or higher graphics card. After I had to reduce my RAM to 4 GB on an Intel dual core 3.2 GHz CPU with the GT 710, I had to disable the animated movements for units to make it playable.

I have also played Civ VI on an Athlon 64 5000+ (dual core 2.6 GHz) with a GT 710 and 4 GB RAM, but the animations have to be turned off.

User avatar
eu2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by eu2 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:28 pm

I hate my life ;-)

Just finished my first game as the Bruce (R&F)..

Spent the best part of the long weekend doing it.

Apparently I only rate as Abe Lincoln (whoever that was (jk)).

My first meet was with Victoria and I savoured dismantling her which had nothing to do with playing as Scotland.

It did get a little laggy towards the end and if I never hear bagpipes again I'd be ok with that.

User avatar
eu2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by eu2 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 9:58 am

Just a heads up if you find that civ5 or civ6 wont run that it could be because of the current steam beta:
https://steamcommunity.com/app/289070/d ... 7556973968

User avatar
MurphCID
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:29 pm

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by MurphCID » Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:26 am

That sounds nice, I will look forward to it arriving. Although I still play the heck out of Civ V.

User avatar
eu2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by eu2 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:21 pm

MurphCID wrote:
Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:26 am
That sounds nice, I will look forward to it arriving. Although I still play the heck out of Civ V.
Hi MurphCID,
Civ6 has been around for linux for over a year (Feb 2017)
The rise and fall expansion came out a little bit longer than we wanted compared to windows.
Also cross platform multiplayer with windows still doesn't work for us (or mac).

darsh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:47 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by darsh » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:05 pm

To follow up on my previous post here:

Civilization VI works great on my newer laptop with Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon 64-bit!

It wasn't 18.3 that was the issue, as to why I couldn't load Civ6 before, it was my previous laptop. Which also didn't run it on 19.

It works well! Civ6 via Steam on Mint 16. Using an HP Pavilion B2 this this time, was on an HP Notebook 2000 before.
Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon 64-bit user

User avatar
MurphCID
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:29 pm

Re: Civilisation VI coming to Linux

Post by MurphCID » Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:12 am

eu2 wrote:
Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:21 pm
MurphCID wrote:
Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:26 am
That sounds nice, I will look forward to it arriving. Although I still play the heck out of Civ V.
Hi MurphCID,
Civ6 has been around for linux for over a year (Feb 2017)
The rise and fall expansion came out a little bit longer than we wanted compared to windows.
Also cross platform multiplayer with windows still doesn't work for us (or mac).
Thanks, I did not know that it worked on Linux. I really don't game much on my linux machine since it only has laptop graphics, it will have to wait until I get an Oryx Pro.

Post Reply

Return to “Gaming on Linux Mint”