Trying to get Elder Scrolls Online working on WINE

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
WalkingBear

Trying to get Elder Scrolls Online working on WINE

Post by WalkingBear »

Hi everyone!

I'm totally new to Linux. I finally had enough of Microsoft's nonsense and made the switch. I'm now running Mint on dual boot and for the most part, I love it. The steep learning curve seems a bit daunting but I'm not afraid to learn something new. I've done a little scripting but not a codehammer by any means.

My only issue is my preferred game: Elder Scrolls Online. I installed (or so I thought) Play on Linux/WINE and then ESO following the instructions within Play On Linux. Living in rural Alberta, downloading near 50GB took nearly 2 days. My system was very boggy during all this (which I was expecting) so once the install was done I restarted. Now I can't find Play on Linux and ESO gives me an error message. I went into WINE Configuration and the virtual drive it created is no longer there (or at least, I can't find it).

I have a monthly cap of 300GB from my ISP and REALLY don't want to spend 2 days downloading again...

I've spent some time at itsfoss.com reading tutorials and I'm finding my way around the Terminal but I'm being careful with it :wink:

If any Learned Linux(er?) could help me sort this out, I'd be grateful!

Thanks!
~WB~
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
WalkingBear

Re: Trying to get Elder Scrolls Online working on WINE

Post by WalkingBear »

Ok, so bad original title and wrong forum. Got it.

Thanks to whoever the mod was that edited and moved my post. :lol:
Amii_Leigh
Level 5
Level 5

Post by Amii_Leigh »