civ VI

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
gesteent
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:43 am

civ VI

Post by gesteent » Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:29 am

I have problems running Civ VI, rise and fall. I can get tothe start menu but the moment i start a new game it glitches, freezes, reacts very slowly. I'm on linux mint 19, have an acer aspire vx5 with nvidia geforce gtx 1050 so hardware shouldn't be a problem.

Any thoughts? Often it starts having troubles in the leader loading screen

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7776
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: civ VI

Post by catweazel » Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:48 am

gesteent wrote:
Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:29 am
I have problems running Civ VI, rise and fall. I can get tothe start menu but the moment i start a new game it glitches, freezes, reacts very slowly.
That isn't surprising.

https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager. ... &iId=17832
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2262
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: civ VI

Post by smurphos » Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:34 am

Via wine or Linux native version from Steam?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7776
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: civ VI

Post by catweazel » Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:38 am

smurphos wrote:
Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:34 am
Via wine or Linux native version from Steam?
Crikey! I missed that. I must be going bling.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

gesteent
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:43 am

Re: civ VI

Post by gesteent » Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:48 pm

Native

User avatar
idle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Aka-kabunga West

Re: civ VI

Post by idle » Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:33 am

Had a similar problem with CitiesXL (very similar game) and it turned out to be graphics drivers that were the problem. Well the error log was saying there was a graphics memory issue, which translated to me meant drivers. I changed drivers and everything worked as normal. Have you tried different graphics drivers?

gesteent
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:43 am

Re: civ VI

Post by gesteent » Sat Sep 01, 2018 4:06 am

idle wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:33 am
Had a similar problem with CitiesXL (very similar game) and it turned out to be graphics drivers that were the problem. Well the error log was saying there was a graphics memory issue, which translated to me meant drivers. I changed drivers and everything worked as normal. Have you tried different graphics drivers?
Well i didn't try that yet. I will anytime soon.

Post Reply

Return to “Gaming on Linux Mint”