Page 1 of 1

civ VI

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:29 am
by gesteent
I have problems running Civ VI, rise and fall. I can get tothe start menu but the moment i start a new game it glitches, freezes, reacts very slowly. I'm on linux mint 19, have an acer aspire vx5 with nvidia geforce gtx 1050 so hardware shouldn't be a problem.

Any thoughts? Often it starts having troubles in the leader loading screen

Re: civ VI

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:48 am
by catweazel
gesteent wrote:
Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:29 am
I have problems running Civ VI, rise and fall. I can get tothe start menu but the moment i start a new game it glitches, freezes, reacts very slowly.
That isn't surprising.

https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager. ... &iId=17832

Re: civ VI

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:34 am
by smurphos
Via wine or Linux native version from Steam?

Re: civ VI

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:38 am
by catweazel
smurphos wrote:
Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:34 am
Via wine or Linux native version from Steam?
Crikey! I missed that. I must be going bling.

Re: civ VI

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:48 pm
by gesteent
Native

Re: civ VI

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:33 am
by idle
Had a similar problem with CitiesXL (very similar game) and it turned out to be graphics drivers that were the problem. Well the error log was saying there was a graphics memory issue, which translated to me meant drivers. I changed drivers and everything worked as normal. Have you tried different graphics drivers?

Re: civ VI

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 4:06 am
by gesteent
idle wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:33 am
Had a similar problem with CitiesXL (very similar game) and it turned out to be graphics drivers that were the problem. Well the error log was saying there was a graphics memory issue, which translated to me meant drivers. I changed drivers and everything worked as normal. Have you tried different graphics drivers?
Well i didn't try that yet. I will anytime soon.