RetroPie or RetroArch

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:39 pm

I'd like to do some retro gaming on my LM 19.1 system. During my research I came across RetroPie and RetroArch. I think these are both collections of emulators, with a front-end to try to make them easier to use.

My understanding is that RetroPie includes RetroArch as well as other emulators that aren't in RetroArch. As such RetroPie is a superset of RetroArch. Is that correct?

What do other people use for retro gaming?
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Sat Mar 02, 2019 7:19 pm

So we don't have any retro gamers on this forum?
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

User avatar
VincentGR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:28 am

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by VincentGR » Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:55 am

I use Retropie on my Raspberry boards, can't get it to work on Mint though.
Yes, Retropie is a fancy frontend for retroarch, from there you can install packages and experimental packages.
The depth of tweaking is enormous from resolutions to controllers etc.
Amiga rulez.

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:36 pm

VincentGR wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:55 am
I use Retropie on my Raspberry boards, can't get it to work on Mint though.
Yes, Retropie is a fancy frontend for retroarch, from there you can install packages and experimental packages.
The depth of tweaking is enormous from resolutions to controllers etc.
Thanks for your feedback.

That's very disapointing that you can get Retropie to work in Mint. I haven't had a chance to try yet but my understanding is that it's meant to work ok.
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

User avatar
VincentGR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:28 am

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by VincentGR » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:52 pm

Fixed that, works like charm :-)
Amiga rulez.

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:24 pm

VincentGR wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:52 pm
Fixed that, works like charm :-)
You got Retropie working with Mint? Anything I should be aware of before I try it myself?
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

User avatar
VincentGR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:28 am

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by VincentGR » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:15 am

Nop, I just forgot to press Basic install... oh getting old.
Amiga rulez.

JasonStonier
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:51 am

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by JasonStonier » Sun Mar 24, 2019 7:48 am

I use RetroPie on mint, works perfectly and I had no issues at all setting it up!

I have a dedicated PC set up as a console emulator running mint 18 32bit booting into RetroPie by default. Currently with Atari 2600, SNES, N64, MegaDrive, NES, PlayStation 2 (PCSX2 with RetroPie as the launcher) and DosBox with RetroPie as the launcher, and BeebEm compiled for Debian with RetroPie as the launcher.

The only thing running in there that I don’t launch fro RPie is my Amiga emulator because I haven’t had time to get the whdload working on the emulator I use so the console front end doesn’t really work well.

User avatar
VincentGR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:28 am

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by VincentGR » Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:36 am

Haven't set it up either on Mint but on my Pi works great.
Two configs, one a default Amiga and the other full speed for rendering.
WHDLoad works fine and even high end games like Payback.
Amiga rulez.

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:32 pm

I haven't got around to trying RetroPie yet as I plan on buying a new screen soon and I also am yet to buy a controller. I suppose I could install it and play around with the systems that work ok with a keyboard/mouse (eg Atari ST, of which I've got lots of games for).

What controller are you guys using? I was thinking of getting a Logitech F310 controller as they seem to have all the necessary buttons, they're reasonably cheap and I've read lots of comments saying they work fine with RetroPie/RetroArch.
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

User avatar
VincentGR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:28 am

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by VincentGR » Sun Mar 24, 2019 7:52 pm

I made a 10 button joystick for this.
But for Amiga games that want only a button I use my trusty Greek stick with an adapter.
Attachments
20180511_173303_resize.jpg
20151125_181609_resize.jpg
Amiga rulez.

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:08 pm

Nice!

I'm mainly wanting to use it for Atari ST, Atari Lynx, MSX, Spectrum, PlayStation 1 (all systems that I've owned in the past, when they originally came out) and maybe Wii (I've got a real Wii but I'm interested in seeing how well the emulation works). I might be interested in trying a few Gameboy and NES/SNES games.

I subscribe to the Retro Gamer magazine and would really like to try many of the games that they mention.
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

JasonStonier
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:51 am

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by JasonStonier » Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:32 am

I've got a Speedking joystick from the 90s and I made a USB adapter for it from a cheap USB gamepad. Works great.

For general console emulation, I use a Playstation 2 controller with a USB adapter bought from Amazon for about £3.

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:41 pm

JasonStonier wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:32 am
I've got a Speedking joystick from the 90s and I made a USB adapter for it from a cheap USB gamepad. Works great.

For general console emulation, I use a Playstation 2 controller with a USB adapter bought from Amazon for about £3.
Ah yes, I've looked at those adaptors because I have a spare PS2 controller (third-party) but then I thought I'd like a nice new controller so that's why I was looking at the Logitech ones.
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:53 pm

So last night I installed RetroPie and so far it's working very well. I'm just using my keyboard as a controller at the moment, which is quite awkward, but I'll try to get a proper controller in the weekend and set that up.

So far I'm only played some Atari 2600 games and I installed the optional Hatari emulator so I can play Atari ST games.
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

User avatar
77slevin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:06 pm

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by 77slevin » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:32 am

Sorry for resurrecting an older thread, but I'm having trouble getting correct advice for my problem. Most fail to understand I'm running on Linux Mint and give advice as if I'm working from a Raspberry Pi. :roll: I have installed Retropie and roms on Linux Mint 19.2 MATE and it's working fine, except when I first start a game: I need to enter my password, any following games I play work without needing to enter my password. When rebooting/restarting Retropie again i need to enter my password 1 time. This is fairly annoying seeing I want to put the Intel NUC in my arcade and not planning to attach a keyboard. Someone suggested Retropie needs access to /dev/ and that's the reason this happens. How do I give Retropie full access without needing to enter my password?

User avatar
murray
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: RetroPie or RetroArch

Post by murray » Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:37 pm

77slevin wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:32 am
How do I give Retropie full access without needing to enter my password?
Unfortunately I can't offer you a solution, but I can say that on my RetroPie setup I don't have to enter my password at any stage to play a game.
Running Mint 19.2 Cinnamon on an Intel NUC8i5BEH with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD

Post Reply

Return to “Gaming on Linux Mint”