Among Us doesn't start

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
biseybulamadim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:17 pm

Among Us doesn't start

Post by biseybulamadim »

I freshly installed mint for the first time :mrgreen: I have hp pavilion dm4. It has this integrated graphics by intel. I don't know if I need drivers for that but it already uses some driver, I think.

What I did? I just downloaded Steam, I have the game. I download. I did try with steam runtime, then proton. It didn't work. When I click play, it seems like its gonna work but no. Then nothing happens. Play button comes back as if I didn't click. Let me say that its a very low graphics game even some 90s pc probably run that.

And also, it works in my another linux pc. Without any tweak. Please help.

And wine doesn't work as intended in linux mint. In my other linux pc, I just install it, click on an exe, instant work no hassle. Did I download wrong wine?
User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2928
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: Among Us doesn't start

Post by JoeFootball »

biseybulamadim wrote: I have hp pavilion dm4. It has this integrated graphics by intel.
A laptop from that era may be unable to meet your gaming expectations. Regardless, someone would need to see the details of your system to make informed suggestions. Post the output of inxi -Fxxxrz between [code][/code] tags so that people can see what you're working with.
1000
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 2:14 am

Re: Among Us doesn't start

Post by 1000 »

I did try with steam runtime, then proton.
1. Are you sure it is done ?
Steam Settings --> Steam Play --> Enable Steam Steam Play for all ...

More about Proton there https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Proton/issues

List games working with Proton and hardware.
There you are valuable tips (from users) if the game doesn't work or needs add options.
https://www.protondb.com/app/945360


2. Check command in terminal

Code: Select all

 glxinfo | grep rendering
Output should looks
$ glxinfo | grep rendering
direct rendering: Yes
...

2. Wine is a different story, it requires some knowledge of Linux.
https://wiki.winehq.org/Ubuntu
You add on your own responsibility.
You have to take into account possible problems with the system repository.
New script useful too, for download new "direct", but i don't remember the name
Last edited by 1000 on Fri Oct 02, 2020 8:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
1000
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 2:14 am

Re: Among Us doesn't start

Post by 1000 »

3. Other way it is run from Lutris manager.
https://lutris.net/games/among-us/
- You add Lutris on your own responsibility.
1000
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 2:14 am

Re: Among Us doesn't start

Post by 1000 »

JackDuncan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 3:21 am

Re: Among Us doesn't start

Post by JackDuncan »

Can you play among us now? I don't understand why this game doesn't run on my computer but everything is fine on my phone. What could be the reason? All other games load on my computer, so the problem is definitely not related to the computer. Maybe I should reinstall the game? By the way, my girlfriend and I met even thanks to this game. So I want to give her among us plushie for Christmas. I think this is a very nice gift that she will definitely like.
Last edited by JackDuncan on Mon Nov 16, 2020 3:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
guythp
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:11 pm

Re: Among Us doesn't start

Post by guythp »

JackDuncan wrote:
Sun Nov 08, 2020 3:30 pm
Can you play among us now? I don't understand why this game doesn't run on my computer but everything is fine on my phone. What could be the reason?
At a guess your phone runs either android or ios and the game is available for these platforms.
If your computer is running linux then that may be the issue; among us is (as far as I know) not available to run natively within linux, however there are workarounds such as installing wine, using a windows/android VM or using lutris in order to play the windows version (as to how you go about doing that I don't know as I made a clean break from windows programs some time ago).

tl:dr
among us isn't on linux.
Manofmen420
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 3:14 pm

Re: Among Us doesn't start

Post by Manofmen420 »

After reading this
https://www.protondb.com/app/945360

People there suggest that you add these to launch options, it could help.

"PROTON_NO_ESYNC=1 PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1 %command%"

Also, try using the different proton versions to see which works
Post Reply

Return to “Gaming on Linux Mint”