Downloading windows games

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
James01
Level 1
Level 1

Downloading windows games

Post by James01 »

Hi! I am new to Linux and would like to play games(such as Fortnite or among us) with my friends who all have windows. I have done a web search and found out that I can use Lutris or Wine to download those games. I have tried installing them, however, they do not work and I suspect it might be because I am using version 18 (instead of Mint 19 or 20). Is there any way around this besides for getting the newest version of Linux?
Thanks a lot for your help!
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Downloading windows games

Post by xenopeek »

Are these games boycotting Steam? Playing Windows games is trivial on the Steam client. Just enable Steam Play and it will automatically run compatible Windows games with Proton (Steam's builtin Wine version). You can optionally also enable Steam Play for all titles so you can try any Windows game in your Steam library on Linux. You can check on https://www.protondb.com/ how well Windows games run in Steam Play.

As Linux Mint 18.x has 6 months left till it reaches end of life, wouldn't it be a good time to upgrade anyway? Switch to Linux Mint 20 I suggest.

I don't have any experience running Windows games that boycott Steam. Lutris is undoubtedly easier to get such games running than doing yourself through Wine. Lutris is supported on Linux Mint 19.x and Linux Mint 20.x. You will have to upgrade from the almost end of life Linux Mint 18.x if you want to use Lutris. Again suggest to go for Linux Mint 20. Installing Lutris is then following these instructions: https://launchpad.net/~lutris-team/+arc ... ntu/lutris. You will also need Wine which you can install from the terminal with command apt install wine-installer. Again, you do need Linux Mint 20.
cretsiah
Level 2
Level 2