Anyone else playing Open Arena?

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Landon
Level 3
Level 3

Post by Landon »

I started playing "Quake ]|[ Arena" back in 1999 when it first came out, and have also played "Quake ]|[ Team Arena" as well, so when I found "Open Arena" (and finally fixed it so that it works) I found it to be a nice update to the classic game.

Hardness settings 1 and 2 seemed a bit too easy for me, setting 3 seemed to be where I was about even with the Bots, setting 4 has definitely been a challenge but I'm getting to the point that I usually win the round, I tried setting 5 once and it was just way too much too soon.

Things that I like about the game... new levels, new characters, it has never glitched on me once and caused me to die while I was waiting on it to un-glitch, and finally... there was definitely some imagination that went into making the update.

Things I don't like....

1. In "Quake ]|[ Arena" if you did something stupid that caused your own death you lost a kill, that is not the case in "Open Arena" I see the bots constantly doing stupid things that I think should cost them a kill.

2. Things don't add up...

[OA_KOTH2 - "Floating Tower" ] This is pretty much the only level that I play, I've played the entire game and this is my favorite level, sometimes I'll play "Five Steps Ahead", having multiple opponents I feel makes it more fun, one-on-ones get boring after a while.

2a - I've had 200 health and all the armor that I could collect and unloaded everything I had, rockets, Gatling Gun/rotary cannon, nearly all the ammo I had left, meanwhile the bot had its back to me the entire time it turns around and shoots me once and I'm dead.

2b - The same two bots seem to win over and over (Liz and Gargoyle).