(SOLVED) How to resize Steam Link Client (I'm a Linux noob)

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ulrickai
Level 1
Level 1

(SOLVED) How to resize Steam Link Client (I'm a Linux noob)

Post by ulrickai »

Short Version: Need a way to resize the Steam Link Client, is there a way to force resize a program using the command line?

Long Version: I'm using an old Macbook Pro 2012 but the sides and corners of the screen are damaged. It means when in fullscreen, the sides and corners aren't visible. The Steam Link Client (the screen that the game/program/desktop gets streamed to) forces fullscreen mode and pressing Alt-F8 does nothing, pressing Alt-Space, the resize option is grayed out and of course there doesn't seem to be an option to resize the window within the settings of the program. I read somewhere that --windowed in the command line option would do the trick but I'm quite the noob at linux so I don't really know what that means. If someone would be willing to take the time to explain that, or has a different solution, that would help greatly.

Extra note: I'm aware that I could just use Moonlight Streaming but sometimes Steam Link does better at streaming when I'm just running a game. So having BOTH options available would helps me out at times.
Last edited by LockBot on Thu Jul 20, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Level 6
Level 6

Re: How to resize Steam Link Client (I'm a Linux noob)

Post by 1000 »

forces fullscreen mode
Maybe you mean Big Picture mode?

Settings --> Display --> Interface -->
uncheck " Start Steam in Big Picture "
Exit from Steam, open again and check.

Options for game with you can test ( but may not work )