Mint Debian

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
deleted

Re: Mint Debian

Post by deleted » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:06 pm

Cool...
My only brush with sid was sidux.. I'll try Debian "proper".
Thanks for the info.
-H

shayney
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:24 pm

Re: Mint Debian

Post by shayney » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:30 pm

I miss Sid. I used it for a long time and it's what got me into linux in the first place.
I would love to go back but since no debian distro (except ubuntu/mint with some tweaks)) works with my soundcard it's not to be :(
Also rules out me being able to use any debian mint desktop I've been so longing for :( :(

User avatar
mintnoob
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:46 pm
Location: USA

Re: Mint Debian

Post by mintnoob » Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:39 pm

Thanks everyone for giving me a Debian 101.

Another question I had, since I use KDE, would it be better to just use Debian Testing instead of the future Mint Debian and having to install KDE on top of the default GNOME that I assume Mint Debian will default with?
Chakra Linux

User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2045
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: Mint Debian

Post by MALsPa » Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:33 am

mintnoob wrote:Another question I had, since I use KDE, would it be better to just use Debian Testing instead of the future Mint Debian and having to install KDE on top of the default GNOME that I assume Mint Debian will default with?
Wow, it seems like it would be almost the exact same thing except that Debian Testing wouldn't include the Mint tools.

But it would probably be quite a bit quicker and easier to install Mint Debian and add KDE than to install Debian Testing's KDE version!

User avatar
mintnoob
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:46 pm
Location: USA

Re: Mint Debian

Post by mintnoob » Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:49 am

MALsPa wrote:Wow, it seems like it would be almost the exact same thing except that Debian Testing wouldn't include the Mint tools.
Which Mint Tools are on KDE beside the Software Manager? I use the Synaptic and hardly ever the SM.
But it would probably be quite a bit quicker and easier to install Mint Debian and add KDE than to install Debian Testing's KDE version!
Definitely easier along with the codecs and drivers out of the box, but would adding KDE be just as stable? If so, then I'd have no worries.

If just seems the Mint Tools are mainly for all the flavors except KDE. But I'd still stick with Mint because of the out of the box ease and elegant panel.
Chakra Linux

User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2045
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: Mint Debian

Post by MALsPa » Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:57 am

mintnoob wrote:Which Mint Tools are on KDE beside the Software Manager? I use the Synaptic and hardly ever the SM.
I don't know. And, I use Synaptic, too. But it seems to me that when I've installed KDE on top of earlier Mint (GNOME) versions, the Mint tools were still available when I logged into KDE.

User avatar
mintnoob
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:46 pm
Location: USA

Re: Mint Debian

Post by mintnoob » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:02 am

MALsPa wrote:But it seems to me that when I've installed KDE on top of earlier Mint (GNOME) versions, the Mint tools were still available when I logged into KDE.
Oh that's cool! Didn't think about that advantage. I hope Mint Debian becomes a reality soon. Dying to try it. Tired of doing fresh installs.
Chakra Linux

craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1575
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Mint Debian

Post by craig10x » Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:13 pm

I was just wondering if it works as well when you add the kde desktop environment on the gnome Mint...which is what of course you would be doing with Debian Mint (gnome)?

Now that i finally got "into" kde...thanks to the excellent Mint 9 KDE which turned me around... :lol: ... I hope that the Gnome version of Mint Debian becomes so popular that the Mint team adds a 64 bit version as well as KDE version in 32 and 64 bit... :wink:

User avatar
mintnoob
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:46 pm
Location: USA

Re: Mint Debian

Post by mintnoob » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:01 pm

So is there an ETA on MDeb?
Chakra Linux

User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2045
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: Mint Debian

Post by MALsPa » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:42 pm

craig10x wrote:I was just wondering if it works as well when you add the kde desktop environment on the gnome Mint...which is what of course you would be doing with Debian Mint (gnome)?
I've done it a few times, and it has worked out well. The main thing is that for both environments I have to go back and edit the menus if I don't want all of the apps from both environments showing up. But usually there are only a few changes I make to the menus.

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4128
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Mint Debian

Post by clem » Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:08 pm

A rough estimation: early September.

Clem
Image

Rifester

Re: Mint Debian

Post by Rifester » Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:31 pm

Thanks for the update Clem!

Gnarly
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: Mint Debian

Post by Gnarly » Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:32 pm

clem wrote:A rough estimation: early September.

Clem
Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4128
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Mint Debian

Post by clem » Sat Aug 28, 2010 3:58 pm

Hi Ikey,

Among the few bugs remaining there's that Cairo partitions graph which doesn't redraw itself... "hint" ;)

Clem
Image

craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1575
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Mint Debian

Post by craig10x » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:26 pm

That's great news, Clem...But now that i got "hooked" on boo's Mint 9 KDE (darn you...lol) i hope that you will expand it and offer the following:
Mint Debian (gnome) 32 bit and 64 bit as well as Mint Debian (kde) 32 bit and 64 bit... :wink:

I'm sure MANY mint fans have the same wish :lol:

User avatar
frsu
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:26 am

Re: Mint Debian

Post by frsu » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:33 pm

craig10x wrote:That's great news, Clem...But now that i got "hooked" on boo's Mint 9 KDE (darn you...lol) i hope that you will expand it and offer the following:
Mint Debian (gnome) 32 bit and 64 bit as well as Mint Debian (kde) 32 bit and 64 bit... :wink:

I'm sure MANY mint fans have the same wish :lol:
Nice and easy, don't rush it. Beginning September is soon.... :D

craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1575
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Mint Debian

Post by craig10x » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:51 pm

sorry..let my enthusiasm overcome me :wink:
but i suspect this is going to be extremely popular...so i just wanted to "pitch" the idea out at the "mint lords" :lol:

User avatar
frsu
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:26 am

Re: Mint Debian

Post by frsu » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:56 pm

+1 :D

rbpyogesh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Mint Debian

Post by rbpyogesh » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:13 am

craig10x wrote:That's great news, Clem...But now that i got "hooked" on boo's Mint 9 KDE (darn you...lol) i hope that you will expand it and offer the following:
Mint Debian (gnome) 32 bit and 64 bit as well as Mint Debian (kde) 32 bit and 64 bit... :wink:

I'm sure MANY mint fans have the same wish :lol:
Yeah...Plenty are out there....

Even a 32 Bit KDE version will do....

Sorry...I am not following this topic...I have few questions...
Is this Debian Version going to be a Rolling Distro..>??

And what will happen to the Ubuntu based GNOME version..??

Are you gonna keep focussing on that one too..??

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4128
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Mint Debian

Post by clem » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:24 am

Is this Debian Version going to be a Rolling Distro..>??
Yes.
And what will happen to the Ubuntu based GNOME version..??
Same as before.
Are you gonna keep focussing on that one too..??
Yes.

More info: http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=1467

Clem.
Image

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”