Page 35 of 38

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:28 pm
by zerozero
secipolla wrote:
bug67 wrote:
omns wrote:bug67 you seem to have the same intel card that I have one one of my machines. To solve this problem I had to remove the xserver-xorg-video-nouveau and xserver-xorg-video-nv packages then run sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg. I restarted X and all was well. I don't fully understand why this works as the removed packages aren't intel related.
I don't know how to do any of the stuff you suggest. When I get some time (if I don't get frustrated and re-install Helena) I may poke around a bit and see if I can figure it out. I saw a thread elsewhere about Compiz not working. There was some terminal commands given as a solution and a similar GLX error was returned. Compiz isn't working on my machine either. Wonder if tw friens is all related.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge xserver-xorg-video-nouveau xserver-xorg-video-nv

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
Reboot.

You may also check if libgl1-mesa-dri is installed

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy libgl1-mesa-dri
if it isn't, then

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri
and reboot.
My compiz wasn't working either until now, following these steps, and since i also have a Inte® GM45 Express Chipset i now can set compiz to run and starting compiz from Terminal the output is as follow:

Code: Select all

amadeu@inspiron1545-laptop ~ $ compiz --replace
Backend     : gconf
Integration : true
Profile     : default
Adding plugins
Initializing core options...done
Initializing move options...done
Initializing resize options...done
Initializing place options...done
Initializing decoration options...done
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXCreatePixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported!  This is an application bug!
Initializing gnomecompat options...done
Initializing svg options...done
Initializing wobbly options...done
Initializing mousepoll options...done
Initializing imgjpeg options...done
Initializing text options...done
compiz (cube) - Warn: Failed to load slide: /usr/share/images/desktop-base/debian-blueish-wallpaper-640x480.png
Initializing cube options...done
Initializing thumbnail options...done
Initializing 3d options...done
Initializing rotate options...done
Initializing cubeaddon options...done
Setting Update "next_slide_key"
Setting Update "raise_on_rotate"
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXDestroyPixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported!  This is an application bug!
As far as i can tell and see everything seems fine, but i may be missing something...
Of course after reboot the settings are lost, and now my question is which the best way to have compiz on logon? add it to startup applications or the script mmesantos1 and ikey created?

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:47 pm
by kmb42vt
Pilosopong Tasyo wrote:
kmb42vt wrote:To me it sounds like the name of an antacid. :D
The name change reminds me of an anti-fungal cream! :shock:
Oog!

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:49 pm
by msuggs
zerozero wrote:As far as i can tell and see everything seems fine, but i may be missing something...
Of course after reboot the settings are lost, and now my question is which the best way to have compiz on logon? add it to startup applications or the script mmesantos1 and ikey created?
Either solution needs to be added to your startup applications. Adding a new item with the command compiz --replace is probably the easiest method.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:05 pm
by bug67
I got the card games working. I also got Compiz to work by doing:

Code: Select all

compiz --replace  &
And, all is well...until I log out/re-boot. I saved to following in gedit and added it to start-up items but, it's not sticking:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
echo “Get Some”
if [[ `pidof compiz` ]]; then
    # compiz running, nuke it.
    metacity --replace &
    killall -9 compiz
else
   # no compiz.
   compiz --replace &
fi
Any ideas?

EDIT:

OK. I removed the script and just added

Code: Select all

compiz --replace
to startup items with no "&" at the end of it. Now, Compiz is set when I log out, log back in. :D

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:23 pm
by zerozero
omns wrote:
zerozero wrote:As far as i can tell and see everything seems fine, but i may be missing something...
Of course after reboot the settings are lost, and now my question is which the best way to have compiz on logon? add it to startup applications or the script mmesantos1 and ikey created?
Either solution needs to be added to your startup applications. Adding a new item with the command compiz --replace is probably the easiest method.
I just did exactly that and after reboot, voila!! joy!! compiz is up and running.
Just for the safe i changed the time in the script that starts conky from 10 to 20 and alls fine!!

Tks a lot

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:25 pm
by msuggs
bug67 wrote:I saved to following in gedit and added it to start-up items but, it's not sticking:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
echo “Get Some”
if [[ `pidof compiz` ]]; then
    # compiz running, nuke it.
    metacity --replace &
    killall -9 compiz
else
   # no compiz.
   compiz --replace &
fi
Any ideas?
Did you make the script executable?

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:37 pm
by bug67
I don't know how to make it executable so, no. :oops:

I did get it working by adding just the line "compiz --replace" to startup items.

Now, however, I think I've borked something else. I like to have a work space applet running in my panel. However, the one that's there has zero preferences. I.E. I can't change the number of work spaces nor can I even switch to another work space. To be honest, I can't remember if it worked before I made all these changes or not. All I know is I prefer 3 spaces and I can't change from the default 4 and I can't even switch out of 1! :shock:

Thanks, everyone, for being so patient with me.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 4:12 am
by shayney
kmb42vt wrote:
gotjazz wrote:Good idea. But for now you can get all Google software including 'Google Chrome Stable', 'Google Chrome beta' and 'Google Chrome Unstable' (that's how they're labeled) listed in Synaptic by adding the 'Google Linux Software Repositories'.
I for one would rather have chromium over chrome.
Mean reason being the way chrome seems to fiddle my search results.
Chrome DOES do ad tracking (which is inherited by chromium) which is mentioned in their privacy policy and includes how to disable it.
But the search results are something else.

I happened to notice that searching exactly the same thing in chrome (for example, "linux mint" or "mandriva") was giving me odd results.
The entire first page of both searches was giving links to many ad-heavy review sites without a single to link to any official site or forum for mint or mandriva.
The same searches in firefox, chromium, midori etc were giving the official home pages of both sites as first results followed by forums and distrowatch and wikipedia pages etc.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:05 pm
by kmb42vt
shayney wrote:
kmb42vt wrote:
gotjazz wrote:Good idea. But for now you can get all Google software including 'Google Chrome Stable', 'Google Chrome beta' and 'Google Chrome Unstable' (that's how they're labeled) listed in Synaptic by adding the 'Google Linux Software Repositories'.
I for one would rather have chromium over chrome.
Mean reason being the way chrome seems to fiddle my search results.
Chrome DOES do ad tracking (which is inherited by chromium) which is mentioned in their privacy policy and includes how to disable it.
But the search results are something else.

I happened to notice that searching exactly the same thing in chrome (for example, "linux mint" or "mandriva") was giving me odd results.
The entire first page of both searches was giving links to many ad-heavy review sites without a single to link to any official site or forum for mint or mandriva.
The same searches in firefox, chromium, midori etc were giving the official home pages of both sites as first results followed by forums and distrowatch and wikipedia pages etc.
I've added certain applications form repos that are targeted for Ubuntu rather than Debian without a problem so far. So I can't see why Chromium would be any different. You can find the PPA for Ubuntu daily builds of the Chromium browser here:

https://launchpad.net/~chromium-daily/+archive/ppa

So far the few programs I've added from Ubuntu related PPAs have installed and worked fine. I have a feeling that since the directory hierarchy for Debian and Ubuntu is basically the same I expect most 3rd party programs for either distro to install without too much of a problem. However, system components, modules, system files and such that are directly related to the OS itself (such as Ubuntu's Hardware Drivers module for a gross example) I wouldn't expect to be at all compatible. Any corrections to my theory here are welcome of course. :mrgreen:

Let me know if it works.

Edit - You can download an older version (6.* vs 7.*) of the Chromium from the sid repos via this page:

http://packages.debian.org/sid/chromium-browser

I wouldn't advise actually replacing the Testing repo with the sid repo as they suggest at the top of the page but you can download individual .deb files at the bottom of the page (i386, amd64). I haven't tried this mind you so I don't know if it actually works or not.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:39 pm
by Joylove
kmb42vt wrote:
Pilosopong Tasyo wrote:
kmb42vt wrote:To me it sounds like the name of an antacid. :D
The name change reminds me of an anti-fungal cream! :shock:
Oog!
aptosid
probably a mix of Apoptosis(a living organism's cell undergoing a controlled death) and Sidux


:lol:

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:45 pm
by kmb42vt
Joylove wrote:
aptosid
probably a mix of Apoptosis(a living organism's cell undergoing a controlled death) and Sidux


:lol:
Someone needs to talk to these people! (And yes, all this may be a bit off topic but it sure is fun).

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 1:02 pm
by nadir
kmb42vt wrote:
...
I've added certain applications form repos that are targeted for Ubuntu rather than Debian without a problem so far. So I can't see why Chromium would be any different. You can find the PPA for Ubuntu daily builds of the Chromium browser here:

https://launchpad.net/~chromium-daily/+archive/ppa

So far the few programs I've added from Ubuntu related PPAs have installed and worked fine. I have a feeling that since the directory hierarchy for Debian and Ubuntu is basically the same I expect most 3rd party programs for either distro to install without too much of a problem. However, system components, modules, system files and such that are directly related to the OS itself (such as Ubuntu's Hardware Drivers module for a gross example) I wouldn't expect to be at all compatible. Any corrections to my theory here are welcome of course. :mrgreen:

Let me know if it works.

Edit - You can download an older version (6.* vs 7.*) of the Chromium from the sid repos via this page:

http://packages.debian.org/sid/chromium-browser

I wouldn't advise actually replacing the Testing repo with the sid repo as they suggest at the top of the page but you can download individual .deb files at the bottom of the page (i386, amd64). I haven't tried this mind you so I don't know if it actually works or not.
What i will post is valid for Debian.
I don't know if it is valid for Linux Mint Debian.

a)In general it is not a very good idea to add applications targeted at Ubuntu on a Debian system
(for some it might work, for some it doesn't, it might work for a while and then it might suddenly make trouble).
People who know what they are doing might do it, besides that it is not recommended.

b) In case one really needs application from Debian unstable (aka sid ) there is one recommended way. It is nice and easy, and it will save trouble:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=15612

c) If there are applications one think one can't live without there is still the option to compile them from source:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... 76&start=0

Debian is a rock solid distribution with tons of apps. I can't think of a single application which is so important that i would give up the stablity Debian offers.
Same seems to be valid for the Mint version of Debian. I wouldn't bork it by adding questionable third-party repos or deb's, by compiling from source or by mixing it with unstable or upgrade to unstable (though, like said, the last two points are recommended ways of doing it. They are still operations of sweaty hands).

Once the freeze of testing is over apps will arrive quite fast in testing from unstable. Don't get used to bad habits only cause Debian is in the freeze atm.

Like said: that was the Debian point of view which might differ from the Linux-Mint-Debian point of view.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 3:52 pm
by kmb42vt
nadir wrote:
What i will post is valid for Debian.
I don't know if it is valid for Linux Mint Debian.

a)In general it is not a very good idea to add applications targeted at Ubuntu on a Debian system
(for some it might work, for some it doesn't, it might work for a while and then it might suddenly make trouble).
People who know what they are doing might do it, besides that it is not recommended.

b) In case one really needs application from Debian unstable (aka sid ) there is one recommended way. It is nice and easy, and it will save trouble:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=15612

c) If there are applications one think one can't live without there is still the option to compile them from source:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... 76&start=0

Debian is a rock solid distribution with tons of apps. I can't think of a single application which is so important that i would give up the stability Debian offers.
Same seems to be valid for the Mint version of Debian. I wouldn't bork it by adding questionable third-party repos or deb's, by compiling from source or by mixing it with unstable or upgrade to unstable (though, like said, the last two points are recommended ways of doing it. They are still operations of sweaty hands).

Once the freeze of testing is over apps will arrive quite fast in testing from unstable. Don't get used to bad habits only cause Debian is in the freeze atm.

Like said: that was the Debian point of view which might differ from the Linux-Mint-Debian point of view.
nadir - Excellent points and I certainly won't argue them as I would state the same for any pure Debian stable/testing installation. With that said I'll say that any of my suggestions on this particular thread are just that; suggestions. Most I've tried myself without a problem, some I haven't attempted myself and am relying on past experience alone and I'll make sure I state that. I do have to assume though that anyone who's posting on this thread and has already installed LMDE should know what their doing, more or less.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 4:44 pm
by ginjabunny
I have presumed that it is ok to change the debian repository to be country specific, I noticed earlier when doing a big update that I wasn't getting the download speeds I was expecting, so I have changed ftp.debian.org to ftp.uk.debian.org and doubled my download speeds.

Is it ok?
Can I change any of the others to be country specific?

GB

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 5:37 pm
by Gramps50
ginjabunny wrote:I have presumed that it is ok to change the debian repository to be country specific, I noticed earlier when doing a big update that I wasn't getting the download speeds I was expecting, so I have changed ftp.debian.org to ftp.uk.debian.org and doubled my download speeds.

Is it ok?
Can I change any of the others to be country specific?

GB
You should be fine, in fact it is recommended that you change your repository to a mirror that is close to your location. Just be sure to choose one from the official mirror list.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 6:21 pm
by craig10x
by the way...as a "rolling distro" when i see the mention of the words "you might occasionally get breakage" what exactly does that mean? would you have to re-install? If it is a matter of fixing something, what if one isn't that technically oriented? Would the fix shortly come up through the updates and correct the "breakage"? I'm thinking that eventually many newbies may try this, and if that would be a problem for them, they may get discouraged...Or,even after the team gets it much more polished, is it really oriented more toward the "tinkerers" among the mint community?

Also, since i am not actively participating...i hope someone will post if/when the team does stuff to make the web surfing font rendering for the various browsers closer, equal of even better then what you get in the ubuntu based versions...

By the way, i noticed that the installer isn't particularly newbie friendly...the normal mint installer gives you the options of installing over your current os, or having them side by side and specifying how big you want it to be, without going into advanced settings where as the current one on the debian version ONLY has the advanced type of settings...hope that will be changed down the road...

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:34 pm
by shayney
craig10x wrote:by the way...as a "rolling distro" when i see the mention of the words "you might occasionally get breakage" what exactly does that mean? would you have to re-install?
I think it would take a very extreme case to need a re-install and is very unlikely.
From Sid/sidux experience, breakage would generally come in the form of updates to major components such as the whole of gnome, KDE or xorg.
Mainly because a user might update before all the packages are fully ready so it turns out to be a half-upgrade without realising (this is probably the biggest downside to rolling distros), so you could end up unable to get a graphical desktop.

Other cases might be down to mistakes in dependencies but such issues are usually caught in Sid and fixed before they reach testing.

Might be worthwhile having something like the "upgrade warnings" section on sidux forums.
Here, people can read up on potential upgrade problems so that they know beforehand how to fix/workaround issues or better still, so they can wait until issues are resolved before upgrading themselves.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:46 pm
by randomizer
Just don't update your system as soon as the update is available and then you'll likely avoid the major breakage problems. If a package is really bad, it should be corrected, or at least pulled from the repo, within 24 hours. This will vary with mirrors though, since they only sync with the official repos once or twice a day at the most.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:41 pm
by msnthrp
I installed LInux Mint Debian today. How Sweet It IS!!!

I had my hard drive extended partition configured with the logical swap partition first, then the root logical partition (and three more logical partitions in the extended one). The installer froze when trying to install with that configuration. So I used gparted to delete the swap and root partitions and recreated them with the root first and the swap second. The next install try went without a hitch. Beautiful.

I wish there was 64 bit edition since my machine has an Intel dual core x64 and I have 4GB of DDR2 800 RAM. But I figure the x64 edition will get here sometime. Maybe the x64 Flash will be here by then.

Re: Mint Debian

Posted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 9:31 am
by kmb42vt
Check it out. Linux Mint just went to number 1 on Distrowatch for the last 7 days by nearly 200 hits above Ubuntu (check the list in right-hand sidebar and select "Last 7 days" from the drop down menu). :mrgreen: