Broke my sound output,

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
QuotidianMe2

Broke my sound output,

Post by QuotidianMe2 »

I've had no problem with sound until today, sadly whilst showing off linux on my machine to a co-worker. I work in a hotel and, as people would come and go, I had to keep muting video files played both on firefox (youtube) and with vlc, muted variously at both locations and also at the "mixer" at the bottom panel. I did so in no particular order, just whichever way seemed convenient.

Then I couldn't get anything to make a sound. I've looked at the volume settings on all the above mentioned items, I've also checked the hardware "Mute" button on the keyboard, nope.

Anyplace else obvious (or not so obvious) I should look to turn the sound on? I'm guessing something got written by the machine and now isn't getting un-wrote, is all. But really, I'm just a driver, and not much of a mechanic.

If it helps, here's the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Fx
System: Host zora_neale Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i5-2430M (-HT-MCP-) cache 3072 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips 9577.38
Clock Speeds: (1) 800.00 MHz (2) 800.00 MHz (3) 800.00 MHz (4) 800.00 MHz
Graphics: Card-1 Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller Card-2 NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 520M] X.Org 1.12.1.902 Res: 1366x768@60.0hz
GLX Renderer Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile GLX Version 3.0 Mesa 8.0.3 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio: Card Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network: Card-1 Broadcom BCM43227 802.11b/g/n driver wl BusID: 03:00.0
Card-2 Broadcom NetLink BCM57785 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver tg3 v: 3.121 BusID: 02:00.0
Disks: HDD Total Size: 640.1GB (1.7% used) 1: /dev/sda WDC_WD6400BPVT 640.1GB