[???SOLVED???] "Unexpected Inconsistency: Run fsck Manually"

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
User avatar
merc1973
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:07 pm

[???SOLVED???] "Unexpected Inconsistency: Run fsck Manually"

Post by merc1973 »

System: LMDE 64-bit UP6, on a 1 year old Dell XPS with intel and nVidia GPU. I am running it with a dual boot with Win 7 since new and have had zero issues, except GPU wants to run full blast and Im afraid to install BumbleBee since it doesnt always work.

All of a sudden, my dual boot LMDE will load GRUB then the terminal screen but stops and says this: BTW, I am posting in the Win 7 partition now with no issues.

Photo of screen:

http://s64.photobucket.com/user/owentimo/media/IMAG0402_zps71d4fe83.jpg.html
Last edited by merc1973 on Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:14 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
merc1973
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: LMDE 64-bt wont boot Anymore

Post by merc1973 »

It is very similar to this but without being able to even get to the splash screen: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=124775 with:

Code: Select all

"Unexpected inconsistency; run fsck manually"
shows up even in Recovery mode.

All I can think of is the battery died last night and it shut off while in sleep mode, or it never went to sleep while in the computer bag and overheated, could that cause an issue?
Last edited by merc1973 on Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
merc1973
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: Won't Boot: "Unexpected Inconsistency: Run fsck Manually

Post by merc1973 »

Solved*** :D

It let me login as root, I found from another linux forum and entered

Code: Select all

fsck /dev/sda7
and entered "Y" for yes to all fixes (see linked photo):

http://s64.photobucket.com/user/owentimo/media/IMAG0403_zps5d7d0f4f.jpg.html

It like I'm using my own posts as a sounding board, lol. Thanks for being there in spirit, linux mint forum members.

Transitman
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:48 am

Re: [SOLVED] "Unexpected Inconsistency: Run fsck Manually"

Post by Transitman »

From what I read on your last post/picture, you've got a hard drive getting ready to fail.
Those counts indicate bad sectors that grub/Windows/Linux could not read, hence the warning and the running of fsck.

How old is the drive?
Do you have a backup of your files?

User avatar
merc1973
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: [SOLVED] "Unexpected Inconsistency: Run fsck Manually"

Post by merc1973 »

Transitman wrote:From what I read on your last post/picture, you've got a hard drive getting ready to fail.
Those counts indicate bad sectors that grub/Windows/Linux could not read, hence the warning and the running of fsck.

How old is the drive?
Do you have a backup of your files?
The hard drive is the original 1-TB 5400 rpm (Costco package so it's probably cheap) HDD. So its 2 years old.

This is not good news. I suppose I better back stuff up today then.

Any recommendations for new HDD? Should I go solid state(maybe not considering price)? Its a Dell XPS L502X, can run Sata I to III and up to 6.0Gb/s.

realitykid
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:43 pm

Re: [SOLVED] "Unexpected Inconsistency: Run fsck Manually"

Post by realitykid »

merc1973 wrote:
Transitman wrote:From what I read on your last post/picture, you've got a hard drive getting ready to fail.
Those counts indicate bad sectors that grub/Windows/Linux could not read, hence the warning and the running of fsck.

How old is the drive?
Do you have a backup of your files?
The hard drive is the original 1-TB 5400 rpm (Costco package so it's probably cheap) HDD. So its 2 years old.

This is not good news. I suppose I better back stuff up today then.

Any recommendations for new HDD? Should I go solid state(maybe not considering price)? Its a Dell XPS L502X, can run Sata I to III and up to 6.0Gb/s.
I would personally just go with another 1TB HDD. I recently replaced my 320GB HDD with a 500GB one, and used CloneZilla to move the contents of the 320 over to the 500. Cost me close to $50 on Amazon. Granted, I only bought a 5400RPM drive. But that's been plenty fast for me.

I wouldn't bother with SSDs due to their price, which you pointed out, and the fact that you have to spend a fortune to get a 1TB SSD - assuming it exists. SSDs also don't last as long as HDDs typically. But they do tend to be more durable while they are operational. Still, until SSDs can last as long as a good HDD under normal use, SSDs aren't ready to replace HDDs.

Here's a few 1TB HDDs from Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SpinPoint-5400rpm-2-5-Inch-HN-M101MBB/dp/B0053YLTBC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1379699462&sr=8-1&keywords=1tb+hdd+2+5

http://www.amazon.com/HGST-Travelstar-2-5-Inch-Internal-0J22423/dp/B00B4QESVQ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1379699462&sr=8-2&keywords=1tb+hdd+2+5

http://www.amazon.com/Notebook-2-5-Inch-Internal-Drive-Retail/dp/B005L2O3C8/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1379699462&sr=8-12&keywords=1tb+hdd+2+5

1TB SSDs:

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Solid-Hybrid-2-5-Inch-ST1000LM014/dp/B00B99JUBQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1379699578&sr=8-1&keywords=1TB+ssd+2.5 (hybrid)

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-2-5-Inch-adapter-Internal-CT960M500SSD1/dp/B00BQ8RGL6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1379699578&sr=8-3&keywords=1TB+ssd+2.5

http://www.amazon.com/OCZ-Technology-2-5-Inch-Performance-OCT1-25SAT3-1T/dp/B006L7JM64/ref=sr_1_17?ie=UTF8&qid=1379699665&sr=8-17&keywords=1TB+ssd+2.5
Read my full signature, it's too long for this forum:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/113 ... nature.txt

Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”