Synaptic dist-upgrade

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
Mister.T
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:10 am

Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Mister.T » Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:49 am

Is there a way to use synaptic to perform a dist-upgrade while still holding on to my locked packages? I ask as, if I perform a dist-upgrade using either the Terminal or the Update Manager, the fact that I have locked versions of packages is completely ignored and they are upgraded anyway.

Alternately is there a way to perform a dist-upgrade in terminal while not upgrading locked package versions?

Thank you.
LMDE2 and Mint 17.3
HP Pavilion 500-260ea
8Gb ram
AMD A10 6700 (3.7GHz) 4 core
Nvidia GTX 645

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2998
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Monsta » Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:19 am

If you want to hold some packages so they won't be upgraded, use apt-mark. Here's an example of using it: viewtopic.php?f=198&t=146187#p770495

Mister.T
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:10 am

Re: Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Mister.T » Sun Nov 17, 2013 8:30 am

That's a lot of packages to type out. I was hoping just to be able to link to the packages locked in synaptic (all of the Mate 1.4.0-1 packages, not just the already installed ones). I wish not to upgrade these packages as the global menu does not work in versions above this, even 1.4.0-2.

Any other suggestions?
LMDE2 and Mint 17.3
HP Pavilion 500-260ea
8Gb ram
AMD A10 6700 (3.7GHz) 4 core
Nvidia GTX 645

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2998
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Monsta » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:07 am

Well, if you'll find some way to get the list of the locked packages out of Synaptic, you can of course pass that list to apt-mark to save some typing. But I'm not aware of any way to do it.

Mister.T
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:10 am

Re: Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Mister.T » Mon Nov 18, 2013 11:14 am

Anybody know how to do this?
LMDE2 and Mint 17.3
HP Pavilion 500-260ea
8Gb ram
AMD A10 6700 (3.7GHz) 4 core
Nvidia GTX 645

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2998
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Monsta » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:41 am

Well, I've managed to found where Synaptic stores it:

Code: Select all

/var/lib/synaptic/preferences

It's a text file with syntax similar to what is used in /etc/apt/preferences. That means you can create a symlink to it in /etc/apt/preferences.d directory, and then apt-get will be aware of these pinned/locked packages:

Code: Select all

sudo ln -s /var/lib/synaptic/preferences /etc/apt/preferences.d/locked_in_synaptic

And you won't need to use apt-mark.

Mister.T
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:10 am

Re: Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Mister.T » Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:46 am

Monsta wrote:Well, I've managed to found where Synaptic stores it:

Code: Select all

/var/lib/synaptic/preferences

It's a text file with syntax similar to what is used in /etc/apt/preferences. That means you can create a symlink to it in /etc/apt/preferences.d directory, and then apt-get will be aware of these pinned/locked packages:

Code: Select all

sudo ln -s /var/lib/synaptic/preferences /etc/apt/preferences.d/locked_in_synaptic

And you won't need to use apt-mark.



Thank you Monsta, I'll give this a try next and let you know how it goes.
LMDE2 and Mint 17.3
HP Pavilion 500-260ea
8Gb ram
AMD A10 6700 (3.7GHz) 4 core
Nvidia GTX 645

Mister.T
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:10 am

Re: Synaptic dist-upgrade

Postby Mister.T » Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:36 pm

Monsta, you are a diamond :D Thank you.
LMDE2 and Mint 17.3
HP Pavilion 500-260ea
8Gb ram
AMD A10 6700 (3.7GHz) 4 core
Nvidia GTX 645


Return to “Archive”