How to have plymouth working?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

Dear Sirs,
I have LMDE installed and fully upgraded to Update Pack 8. Some months ago I realized that plymouth does not work but I did nothing.
These days I tried to re-activate or to make to work again but unsuccessfully. Even I follows the bellow quoted how to unsuccessfully too.
Is there a kind soul here to instruct me step by step what to do, in order to have plymouth back?

Many many thanks.

Best Regards,
Mike Kranidis

===== QUOTE =====
Monsta Says:
February 22nd, 2014 at 10:48 am
How to get back plymouth:

Plymouth (the splash screen) is not starting in the installed system. This will be fixed in the final release. In the meanwhile, you can do the following to bring it back if you want:
1. Edit /etc/default/grub as root: sudo nano /etc/default/grub
2. Change GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet” to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet splash”
3. Save and exit.
4. Update your GRUB configuration: sudo update-grub
5. Reboot.

===== UNQUOTE =====
P.S. From the above how to the step 2 need to be modified (at leat in my case) as this to work:
2. Change GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet” to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet" "splash”

User avatar
clfarron4
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by clfarron4 »

mikekgr wrote:P.S. From the above how to the step 2 need to be modified (at leat in my case) as this to work:
2. Change GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet” to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet" "splash”
The usual advice is to have it all within one set of quotes due to how strings are parsed. Your suggestion only puts quiet at the end of my kernel entries instead of all the other stuff I need (like cryptsetup).
Problems? Tell us EXACTLY what you've done and what you expected to happen, IN DETAIL. That will save us questions, and we should get along better,

I have dysgraphia. This means I might have understood you incorrectly through no fault of my own.

User avatar
dwainehead
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by dwainehead »

or you may be like my system plymouth was never installed....
LMDE x64 20120409 UP5 AMD FX 4100 x4 3.6gHz Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 16g Corsair Vengeance PC1600 Hitachi 750gig sata 3 EVGA Geforce 550Ti 1g kernel 3.2.0-3

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3038
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by Monsta »

mikekgr wrote:Even I follows the bellow quoted how to unsuccessfully too.
And why did you do that? These instructions were posted in the comments to the announcement of new ISOs and were intended for those who had installed LMDE from these ISOs.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by killer de bug »

What's the result of

Code: Select all

apt policy plymouth
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

clfarron4 wrote:
mikekgr wrote:P.S. From the above how to the step 2 need to be modified (at leat in my case) as this to work:
2. Change GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet” to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet" "splash”
The usual advice is to have it all within one set of quotes due to how strings are parsed. Your suggestion only puts quiet at the end of my kernel entries instead of all the other stuff I need (like cryptsetup).
What i tried to say is: in my case the only way to have quite & splash putted at the end of CMDLINE is to write in the particular file as I mentioned: ”quiet" "splash”. Otherwise I got an error message when I am doing as root update-grub.
Is it more clear now? (Try for yourself to see what will happens if you wrote ”quiet splash”. By the way I checked the grub file /boot/grub/ and have correct at he end of CMDLINE quiet & splash

mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

Monsta wrote:
mikekgr wrote:Even I follows the bellow quoted how to unsuccessfully too.
And why did you do that? These instructions were posted in the comments to the announcement of new ISOs and were intended for those who had installed LMDE from these ISOs.
I just tried among others tries... No result tho !

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3038
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by Monsta »

mikekgr wrote:in my case the only way to have quite & splash putted at the end of CMDLINE is to write in the particular file as I mentioned: ”quiet" "splash”.

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/default/grub | grep splash
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
mikekgr wrote:Otherwise I got an error message when I am doing as root update-grub.
Post the exact error message.

mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

killer de bug wrote:What's the result of

Code: Select all

apt policy plymouth
I am not in front of my LMDE installation but I have thoroughly checked and all seems installed normally (even, I did apt-get --reinstall install ...)
What else to check/do... ?

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by killer de bug »

mikekgr wrote: I am not in front of my LMDE installation but I have thoroughly checked and all seems installed normally (even, I did apt-get --reinstall install ...)
What else to check/do... ?
Sorry but I don't trust your feeling. I want to see the results :wink:
And post the command results monsta asked too :lol:

Edit: You need to have plymouth and a theme installed too

Code: Select all

apt policy plymouth-themes-mint plymouth-themes-all 
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3038
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by Monsta »

Just in case, the system installed from the latest ISO has these packages:

Code: Select all

$ apt search ~iplymouth
i   plymouth                        - Graphical Boot Animation and Logger       
i   plymouth-drm                    - Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (DRM) 
i   plymouth-themes-mint            - Linux Mint Plymouth theme                 
i   plymouth-x11                    - Graphical Boot Animation and Logger

mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

OK gentleman I will do it when in front on my system LMDE (2-3 hours later) and I will post the result here.

Many thanks for your replies and support

mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

Well dear gentlemen, follows the checks you asked me to do:

root@mint-debian:/home/mikek# apt policy plymouth
plymouth:
Installed: 0.8.8-6+deb8u3
Candidate: 0.8.8-6+deb8u3
Version table:
*** 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 0
400 http://ftp.gr.debian.org/debian/ testing/main i386 Packages
500 http://linuxmint-apt.killerhorse.eu/debian/latest/ testing/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

root@mint-debian:/home/mikek# dpkg -l '*plymouth*' | grep -i ii
ii plymouth 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 i386 Graphical Boot Animation and Logger
ii plymouth-drm 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 i386 Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (DRM)
ii plymouth-themes-all 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 all Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (themes metapackage)
ii plymouth-themes-fade-in 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 all Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (fade-in theme)
ii plymouth-themes-glow 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 all Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (glow theme)
ii plymouth-themes-mint 1.0.3 all Linux Mint Plymouth theme
ii plymouth-themes-script 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 all Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (script theme)
ii plymouth-themes-solar 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 all Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (solar theme)
ii plymouth-themes-spinfinity 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 all Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (spinfinity theme)
ii plymouth-themes-spinner 0.8.8-6+deb8u3 all Graphical Boot Animation and Logger (spinner theme)

As I can see plymouth-x11 is not installed in my case. I will try it later on.
What do you think???

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by killer de bug »

First when you post results, please use code block. It makes things more readable.

Second, installing plymouth-x11 seems necessary. :)
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

killer de bug wrote:First when you post results, please use code block. It makes things more readable.

Second, installing plymouth-x11 seems necessary. :)
No nothing even with plymouth-x11 installed the plymouth is not come up at booting as well as at shutdown :(

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by killer de bug »

Can you please provide the informations requested by Monsta?
Monsta wrote:

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/default/grub | grep splash
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
mikekgr wrote:Otherwise I got an error message when I am doing as root update-grub.
Post the exact error message.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

mikekgr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by mikekgr »

killer de bug wrote:Can you please provide the informations requested by Monsta?
Monsta wrote:

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/default/grub | grep splash
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
mikekgr wrote:Otherwise I got an error message when I am doing as root update-grub.
Post the exact error message.
Yes sure,
now as it is :

Code: Select all

root@mint-debian:/home/mikek# cat /etc/default/grub | grep splash
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quite" "splash”
in this case update-grub doing what is supposed to do.


if I change to:

Code: Select all

root@mint-debian:/home/mikek# cat /etc/default/grub | grep splash
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quite splash”

root@mint-debian:/home/mikek# update-grub
/usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig: 9: /etc/default/grub: splash”: not found

Any conclusion ?

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by killer de bug »

mikekgr wrote:

Code: Select all

root@mint-debian:/home/mikek# cat /etc/default/grub | grep splash
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quite splash”

root@mint-debian:/home/mikek# update-grub
/usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig: 9: /etc/default/grub: splash”: not found

Any conclusion ?

Can you try without any typo please ? it's "quiet splash"
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3038
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by Monsta »

The conclusion is to avoid typos ("quite" when it should be "quiet") and to use the normal quotation marks instead of these strange inclined ones.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: How to have plymouth working?

Post by killer de bug »

Ohhhhh Monsta, you have good eyes. I totally missed whose strange quotation marks :lol:
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”