Best way to download and use the latest WINE?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
woodsman

Best way to download and use the latest WINE?

Post by woodsman »

I'm using LMDE, fully updated. I am new to Debian and Mint.

WINE is one of those packages where the latest version almost always is the preferred version. The Debian Testing version is a few versions behind the official release, but the LMDE version is way behind.

Just as important, is knowing how to update the dependencies. I'd like to use the latest official version, but WINE has many dependencies. I don't know the proper way to keep everything updated.

I am still fuzzy with Debian package management. I appreciate guidance understanding how to do this.

Thanks. :)
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
DrHu

Re: Best way to download and use the latest WINE?

Post by DrHu »

I would also have a quick read-through wine HQ commentary ref their program
http://wiki.winehq.org/HowTo

Doesn't wine have the latest updated builds available..
http://www.winehq.org/site/download
--sometimes there is a PPA available, although I don't think that it the best idea, it is nevertheless an option, if you want an easily managed install, and if a PPA is available, it will likely (justs as that one) have a later or latest version of wine available..
woodsman

Post by woodsman »

Thank you. I remain uncertain. Looks like Debian Testing has the latest stable. What kind of conflicts will I see when I add the Debian Testing branch to the apt sources? Is there a way to instruct the package management system that I am interested only in WINE and dependencies from Testing and no other packages? Should I instead install WINE from the LMDE repositories to pull all dependencies and then manually install WINE from Testing to get the newer version?