Move to KDE from Mate

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
mfaridi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:46 am

Move to KDE from Mate

Post by mfaridi » Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:15 am

I use LMDE mate and I want Move to KDE , what I must do ?
I want everything we have mint kde 17.1

User avatar
kc1di
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5265
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Move to KDE from Mate

Post by kc1di » Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:20 am

if it were me I would backup any important files to external media or the cloud and do a fresh install of mint 17.1 kde.
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

mfaridi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:46 am

Re: Move to KDE from Mate

Post by mfaridi » Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:31 am

kc1di wrote:if it were me I would backup any important files to external media or the cloud and do a fresh install of mint 17.1 kde.
Thanks
I want use LMDE and only I want move to KDE from MATE and have Linux Mint Debian Edition

py-thon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:24 pm
Location: Paraguay

Re: Move to KDE from Mate

Post by py-thon » Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:09 pm

Current LMDE is so outdated I would not waste time by changing the DE from Mate to KDE right now.
If you want to stay with LMDE in spite of the changes to come wait for LMDE 2 to be released and do a fresh install with KDE (I suppose that LMDE 2 being based on Debian Stable will come with all DEs of the main edition, but that's just my opinion without any insight into the maintainers' intentions).
Tower: Sparky 64 bit Mate+mintmenu - Netbook: Sparky 32 bit Mate+mintmenu

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”