Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
fayad
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:07 pm

Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by fayad »

There is a new browser called Vivaldi. The name sounded awkward to me but I got used to it. Thought i would share my findings.

I like the browser for its availability for Debian, proper dependencies in Betsy, decent load times and stabily for a beta release, friendly community (folks from opera), comes from Norway.

https://vivaldi.com

I read they built a new browser because Opera was moving away from what it stood for. Check out their flat design.

Featured on http://thenextweb.com/apps/2015/01/27/m ... ceo-opera/

fayad
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:07 pm

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by fayad »

I was curious about what Vivaldi offers over Opera and why Vivaldi was somewhat similar. Tatsuki said that “Opera used to offer many unique powerful features, but like I say above, Opera too now offers more simple product […] we know that there are still many millions of people out there who are using an old version of Opera.”
Interesting.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by killer de bug »

Unfortunately it's a proprietary software...
More than ever voting for Firefox :lol:
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

fayad
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:07 pm

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by fayad »

killer de bug wrote:Unfortunately it's a proprietary software...
More than ever voting for Firefox :lol:
Unfortunately yes. Firefox is undoubtedly the most preferred. I also like Midori http://midori-browser.org/. Snappy and works.

fayad
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:07 pm

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by fayad »

Once in a while its fun to test a software and like it. Finally conclude this is not going stay because it is proprietory software. :)
Can never be a mainstream browser but can stay in my tool kit.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9785
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by Pierre »

it's from a bunch of coders who did work for Opera, at one point in time.
& yep - Unfortunately it's a proprietary software...
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8951
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by jimallyn »

I tried it, and it was OK, but I decided it's not quite ready for prime time. I think the version I tried was called a "technology preview" or something along that line, so they are aware that it's not quite ready yet. I intend to keep my eye on it, as I used Opera almost from the first version, but haven't been all that pleased with the path they've been on recently. It would please me greatly if Opera would just update the old 12.xx version browser, and that's what I hoped for when I tried Vivaldi.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

fayad
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:07 pm

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by fayad »

What is it that cost opera's popularity and caused power users to move from opera ?

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Vivaldi - a new browser in town

Post by killer de bug »

fayad wrote:What is it that cost opera's popularity and caused power users to move from opera ?
They discontinued the development of a Linux Version.
The lack of novelties also and the choice they made (it is not possible anymore to stack tabs, and this is why Vivaldi was created).
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”