Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
Locked
Dan Stinnett
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:52 am

Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Post by Dan Stinnett » Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:25 am

Up front, thank you for the help I know I'll get.

I have a feeling this is a really simple fix that I'm missing, but I cannot get my computer to automatically go to GRUB.

I am running a dual boot system with LMDE Cinnamon and Windows 10 on a HP Envy dv7 laptop.

When I turn the computer on, if I don't do anything it will boot straight to Windows... no grub or anything. If I hit F9 before Windows loads it will take me to the boot order screen, which allows me to select Linux, which takes me to the grub menu. Grub recognizes windows.

Any idea how I can make the computer take me to grub by default?

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Post by Pjotr » Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:42 am

Open the UEFI settings and move the Windows Boot Manager to the bottom of the boot priority order:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... rity-order
(item 2.2, left column)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Dan Stinnett
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:52 am

Re: Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Post by Dan Stinnett » Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:16 pm

So this is what I'm working with right now.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6CaHd ... cslist_api

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6CaHd ... cslist_api

The only options that work on the boot manager are OS Boot Manager (boots windows) and linuxmint (boots grub).

As you can see though, in that particular menu, there's no option to change order.

I think the Ubuntu options are shadows of a previous installation of LM17.2... they fail to boot anything.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Post by Pjotr » Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:55 pm

That's weird.... Apparently, HP has configured its UEFI in a bad way. :(

You might try if it helps when you clear all secure boot keys: this should at least clear the unused Ubuntu keys. Note that this is just a shot in the dark, probably won't solve the main issue and may have unwanted side effects. Try at your own risk.

Another thing to try: restore the HP default settings and /or load HP factory default keys. This is another shot in the dark; just poking a bit in the UEFI in the hope that it has a favourable effect on your problem.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Dan Stinnett
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:52 am

Re: Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Post by Dan Stinnett » Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:40 pm

No effect... like none...

I did poke around a little more though, and though its probably irrelevant, turns out that if I select the boot from EFI file in the boot manager then I can explore both OSs and find an EFI to boot into either. I just wish there was a way that I could set them both to go to GRUB right away instead of windows just doing things sua sponte.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10406
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Post by Pjotr » Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:51 pm

Have you checked the support section of the HP website for a newer BIOS / UEFI? If it's available, I'd install it. With a bit of luck it'll contain a better configuration which enables you to correct the boot order permanently.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Dan Stinnett
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:52 am

Re: Can't Get Grub to Load by Default

Post by Dan Stinnett » Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:12 pm

I looked, the BIOS/UEFI that I currently have is Insyde F.23. HP doesn't offer anything new right now, and I can't find on the Insyde website what the appropriate replacement would be.

Starting to look like I'll have to get used to doing things manually.

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”