LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking TESTING

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by Gerd50 » Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:24 pm

Times of Nvidia beta driver are over. 290.10-1 is available in Sid. It is working proper on my machine since this morning.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by viking777 » Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:35 pm

Gerd50 wrote:Times of Nvidia beta driver are over. 290.10-1 is available in Sid. It is working proper on my machine since this morning.
Thanks Gerd. Just installed it with sgfxi and it is working well.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by wyrdoak » Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:29 pm

FIO: For it doesn't seem to be causing any problems, just seems to be garbage.

Started getting this when I start the regular terminal but not in the root terminal:

Code: Select all

bash: /dev/cgroup/cpu/user/4248/tasks: No such file or directory
bash: /dev/cgroup/cpu/user/4248/notify_on_release: No such file or directory
wyrdoak@wyrdoak_xfce ~ $ 
The /user/number folder seems to be random so I can't just make a dummy file to make it stop.
-Dell Mini Inspiron 910 Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(LinixMint-17.1: KDE)

User avatar
doktordave
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:57 am
Location: Danville, VA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by doktordave » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:15 pm

wyrdoak,

This worked for me in gnome, might work in xfce. Worth a shot, in any case.

Remove or comment out these lines in /etc/bash.bashrc:

Code: Select all

    if [ "$PS1" ] ; then
      mkdir -p -m 0700 /dev/cgroup/cpu/user/$$ > /dev/null 2>&1
      echo $$ > /dev/cgroup/cpu/user/$$/tasks
      echo "1" > /dev/cgroup/cpu/user/$$/notify_on_release
    fi

wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by wyrdoak » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:21 pm

doktordave wrote:wyrdoak,

This worked for me in gnome, might work in xfce. Worth a shot, in any case.

Remove or comment out these lines in /etc/bash.bashrc:
That did it, Thank you much.
-Dell Mini Inspiron 910 Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(LinixMint-17.1: KDE)

User avatar
desmadre
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 1:04 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by desmadre » Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:44 pm

Feffer,

Your fix for the virtualbox modules on the 3.1 kernel worked for me as well.
THANKS!!!

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:04 pm

I hesitate to mention this as a problem. I think it might be just specific to me and my setup.

This one is LMDE 64bit Gnome (3.0 shell) tracking testing.
Updates in the last couple of days has borked my 'menus', namely 'alacarte'. Everything looked fine until I tried editing a menu item with alacarte (main menu editor), then my menus got all borked up, and alacarte no longer let me edit them. (I can delete some objects, but not untick, add, resort). It also added a lot of redundant crap. I should have taken a screenshot, but didn't. Now on a re-installed backup clone from a couple days ago.

I should mention that the same thing happened to my other LMDE install (tracking SID) a month or so ago. No fix has come down in all that time.
If you haven't updated yet, and this is important to you, then you may want to wait and see if its a real problem or not.

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by viking777 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:45 pm

Alacarte has been a problem for me too Gene.
As a matter of interest I installed Fedora 16 recently (gnome3.2) and it doesn't work on that either - won't even start. (python errors). So I don't think it is just a Debian problem.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:49 pm

viking777 wrote:............
HeyViking :)

AH! Ok, its not just me.
That stinks.. :cry:
Looks like I am going to revert to 'incoming' (and not have updates for a LONG time).
I've made lots of custom menu changes and dont want to loose them.
You think its python?
Last edited by GeneC on Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
desmadre
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 1:04 pm

btrfs message on boot

Post by desmadre » Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:43 pm

Hello,

Tracking testing, 64 bit with gnome-shell.... all of my linux partitions are ext4, with a few NTFS as well

reporting the message on boot which duplicates this post:
http://forum.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.ph ... 68#p499165
jlsmith722 wrote:I have a new message during boot now.

Immediately after the message "Loading initial ramdisk" the nest lines that appear are:

*******************************************************
This software is considered Deprecated
Please consider to switch to btrfs utilities

*******************************************************
:?:
Anyone know what this is all about?


the original post was for those tracking SID.

any cause for concern? after searching around the LMDE forum is the only place thus far with anything related to this message. all of my partitions are ext4 and ntfs

thanks in advance!

Chris M
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:01 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by Chris M » Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:45 pm

GeneC wrote:
viking777 wrote:............
HeyViking :)

AH! Ok, its not must me.
That stinks.. :cry:
Looks like I am going to revert to 'incoming' (and not have updates for a LONG time).
I've made lots of custom menu changes and dont want to loose them.
You think its python?
Gene, I'm on Windows (at work) right now, but I'm 99% sure my update last night pushed through python 2.6 and 2.7 updates. Do you remember those as well?

Here's hoping you don't move to "incoming". We need some talent here in testing.

I love lightweight DE's. I was moving to XFCE before folks were even contemplating GNOME 3 issues. I must say that I have had very few problems with XFCE, but it's probably not your thing. But you could install XFCE in addition to keep rolling along in testing.

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:54 pm

Hey Chris.
Moving to 'incoming' is an empty threat.. :lol:
Its too boring.

Yes. there are some python packages that want to update

Code: Select all

Calculating upgrade... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  glib-networking-common glib-networking-services
The following packages will be upgraded:
  acpid btrfs-tools cups-pk-helper curl debconf debconf-i18n debhelper
  docbook-xsl eog file-roller gir1.2-clutter-1.0 gir1.2-gtksource-3.0
  gir1.2-json-1.0 gir1.2-mutter-3.0 git git-man glib-networking
  gnome-user-guide gucharmap libatkmm-1.6-1 libclutter-1.0-0 libcurl3
  libcurl3-gnutls libdatrie1 libglib2.0-0 libglib2.0-bin libglib2.0-data
  libgtksourceview-3.0-0 libgtksourceview-3.0-common libgucharmap-2-90-7
  libgudev-1.0-0 libiw30 libjson-glib-1.0-0 libmutter0
  libpackagekit-glib2-14 libpangomm-1.4-1 libpython2.6 libpython2.7
  libthai-data libthai0 libudev0 libunique-1.0-0 libv8-3.4.14.21 menu
  mutter-common ntfs-3g pinta python-crypto python-httplib2 python2.6
  python2.6-minimal python2.7 python2.7-minimal tomboy udev vino
  wireless-tools xfsprogs
58 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 56.3 MB of archives.
After this operation, 510 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 

I am going to try upgrading and holding those back.
I already tried holding the 'menu' package back. That seemed the obvious problem, but not so.

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:23 pm

It does appear to be the new python packages that cause menu and alacate problems.

I held these back and upgraded

Code: Select all

libpython2.6 libpython2.7 python-crypto python-httplib2 python2.6
 python2.6-minimal python2.7 python2.7-minimal
Menus are still OK.
The only problem is these packages cant be pinned forever and it looks to be a while for them to be fixed (if ever).
The problem still exists in SID, and has been a problem there for over a month.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by zerozero » Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:31 pm

i knew Gene couldn't leave testing/sid :lol: bahh incoming, no way :wink: :lol:

about that btrfs message on boot, the most relevant thing i found is the patch (i think from dec last year) that deprecates btrfsctl,
btrfs-vol and btrfs-show and adds that message in the install file:
the full patch is here http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.comp.fi ... btrfs/8024

and sorry guys for not popping more often in here but i'm moving out :shock: and until mid next week my desktop is packed away (and all my LMDE's installs in it)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:01 pm

zerozero wrote:i knew Gene couldn't leave testing/sid :lol: bahh incoming, no way :wink: :lol:
I lasted a whole 35 minutes on 'incoming' :lol:

GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GregE » Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:37 pm

GeneC wrote:It does appear to be the new python packages that cause menu and alacate problems.
Hi Gene, I tred a few things to approach this problem differently. I have all my Python updated. I removed alacarte and installed the version from squeeze but that just ended in dependency issues. I checked the status in experimental and oddly it lists the version as 13.2-2 not 13.2-3 as exists in wheezy/sid. But if you try and download it it does not exist, so it appears the page has not kept pace with the correct version. So then I tried to get the oneiric Ubuntu version. They are using 13.2-2 and it installs and runs, but the issues are the same so that achieved nothing.

So in the end I just reinstalled the Debian package 13.2-3. The checkbox visibilty toggle is the most obvious flaw. But I can add new entries and delete or edit old ones by right click on the entry.

I did this to remove all the unwanted duplicates in the Gnome Shell menus .....
http://jasondclinton.livejournal.com/83142.html

The only issue I had was that Synaptic would not start. All that required was to edit the entry so the command read gksu synaptic, then it functions as it should.

So now I have a clean menu in Gnome Shell and I have entries for my own programs that are manually installed using the current version of alacarte.

I hope someone fixes it up eventually as it is an important part of ecosystem.

:)

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:51 pm

Hi again Greg.

Yes, it appears to be a Debian problem. Both my Ubuntu 11.10, and Mint 12 function perfectly. Both my LMDE testing and SID installations had this problem. As I mentioned, re installing a recent clone, and holding back the python packages mentioned above, and no problem. My menu customizations are not removed, and I can still edit menu with alacarte. It appears to be not alacarte that is the problem, but python upgrades. Perhaps there will be some upgrades coming from experimental that will fix the problem? I guess we will see.
I agree that its an important feature to have working correctly.

GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GregE » Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:27 pm

GeneC wrote:Hi again Greg.

Yes, it appears to be a Debian problem.
Hi Gene, I trawled the Debian bugs system and found the workaround.

"The cause for both these bugs seems to be python 2.7. If you change
/usr/bin/alacarte's shebang line to "#! /usr/bin/python2.6 -OOt" it
works again as expected."

So just edit /usr/bin/alacarte by adding 2.6 in the very first line, as above, and all the issues evaporate. Just remember if an update to alacarte comes through the fix might need to be re-applied.

Happier now.

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by viking777 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:08 am

GregE wrote: Hi Gene, I trawled the Debian bugs system and found the workaround.

"The cause for both these bugs seems to be python 2.7. If you change
/usr/bin/alacarte's shebang line to "#! /usr/bin/python2.6 -OOt" it
works again as expected."

So just edit /usr/bin/alacarte by adding 2.6 in the very first line, as above, and all the issues evaporate. Just remember if an update to alacarte comes through the fix might need to be re-applied.

Happier now.
That was a good find Greg - it seems to work for me :)
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:40 am

Most excellent find, Greg! :D
Worked perfectly.
Fixed both testing and SID LMDE's. First time 'alacarte' in SID has worked in over a month. Makes you wonder why the Debian folks hadn't fixed it in upgrades :x

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”