[SOLVED] Gnome-terminal true transparency

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
LMDE 2 support ends on 1-1-2019
Locked
linky
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:14 am

[SOLVED] Gnome-terminal true transparency

Post by linky » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:10 pm

Hi,

I installed LMDE two days ago, and it's great.

But there is a point i dislike :
The transparency of the gnome-terminal is not a true transparency, it only shows the desktop background, not considering other windows possibly opened.

How to make it true transparency ?

With LM11, it was true transparency, wasn't it ?
Last edited by linky on Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 23193
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Gnome-terminal true transparency

Post by xenopeek » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:39 pm

Linux Mint 11 has full transparency indeed, so showing other windows behind it instead of just the desktop. LM11 has GNOME Terminal 2.32.1, while LMDE has version 3.0.1. There are various bugs reported on transparency not working properly, but that would be only for unmaximized windows and not for maximized windows. On LMDE also on maximized windows this issue is there, so it is something else.
Image

User avatar
zombie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:45 pm
Location: Longmont Colorado

Re: Gnome-terminal true transparency

Post by zombie » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:53 pm

I believe you have to use compositing. If you're not using Compiz you can enable compositing in metacity.
Start gconf-editor > apps > metacity > general > check compositing_manager.
This worked for me.

wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: Gnome-terminal true transparency

Post by wyrdoak » Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:42 pm

-Dell Mini Inspiron 910 Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(LinixMint-17.1: KDE)

linky
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:14 am

Re: Gnome-terminal true transparency

Post by linky » Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:21 am

Thanks !

I checked compositing_manager, it works perfectly.

And thanks for having answered so fast.

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”