Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modules)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
The_Rain
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:53 pm

Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modules)

Post by The_Rain »

Hallo
i tried to use fancontrol under LMDE.

The manpage of fancontrol says i should use pwmconfig to create a configuration file. If I use the command:

Code: Select all

sudo pwmconfig
it says:

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/pwmconfig: There are no pwm-capable sensor modules installed
So i read about how to get these lm-sensors up and running. They are installed already and i tried to use:

Code: Select all

sudo sensors-detect
which worked. It questions if it should add the sensors to etc automatically. I said no because this was recommended in diffrent online ressources...

I then tried to find out if sensors is added as a demon. But I could not find the /etc/rc.conf. I read a little bit about this and there were topics that debian does use the SysV initialization style.

When i use

Code: Select all

sensors
it says:

Code: Select all

$ sudo sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +76.0°C  (crit = +97.0°C)

radeon-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:        +74.0°C  

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +77.0°C  (high = +86.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 0:         +73.0°C  (high = +86.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1:         +70.0°C  (high = +86.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
so i imagine this works. But how can i get the pwmconfig running to use fancontrol?

Thanks.

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by xircon »

I had a long struggle with cpu/gpu temperatures and *might* be of some assistance and people here are very helpful and knowledgeable :)

So here are a few questions to get started:

What are the specifications of your machine? (Processor/Video card etc).

What is the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/modules
Have you got cpufreq installed? What is the output of cpufreq-info?

What is the output of:

Code: Select all

glxinfo | grep render
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

The_Rain
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by The_Rain »

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/modules 
# /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
#
# This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
# at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.
# Parameters can be specified after the module name.

loop

# Generated by sensors-detect on Sun Jan 22 11:37:39 2012
# Chip drivers
coretemp
sbs
Sorry for the german texts from cpufreq...

Code: Select all

$ cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 007: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2009
Bitte melden Sie Fehler an cpufreq@vger.kernel.org.
analysiere CPU 0:
  Treiber: acpi-cpufreq
  Folgende CPUs laufen mit der gleichen Hardware-Taktfrequenz: 0 1 2 3
  Die Taktfrequenz folgender CPUs werden per Software koordiniert: 0
  Maximale Dauer eines Taktfrequenzwechsels: 10.0 us.
  Hardwarebedingte Grenzen der Taktfrequenz: 800 MHz - 2.30 GHz
  mögliche Taktfrequenzen: 2.30 GHz, 2.30 GHz, 1.80 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.40 GHz, 1.20 GHz, 1000 MHz, 800 MHz
  mögliche Regler: userspace, conservative, powersave, ondemand, performance
  momentane Taktik: die Frequenz soll innerhalb 800 MHz und 2.30 GHz.
                    liegen. Der Regler "ondemand" kann frei entscheiden,
                    welche Taktfrequenz innerhalb dieser Grenze verwendet wird.
  momentane Taktfrequenz ist 800 MHz.
  Statistik:2.30 GHz:8,86%, 2.30 GHz:0,46%, 1.80 GHz:0,19%, 1.60 GHz:0,23%, 1.40 GHz:0,33%, 1.20 GHz:0,50%, 1000 MHz:0,75%, 800 MHz:88,68%  (13271)
analysiere CPU 1:
  Treiber: acpi-cpufreq
  Folgende CPUs laufen mit der gleichen Hardware-Taktfrequenz: 0 1 2 3
  Die Taktfrequenz folgender CPUs werden per Software koordiniert: 1
  Maximale Dauer eines Taktfrequenzwechsels: 10.0 us.
  Hardwarebedingte Grenzen der Taktfrequenz: 800 MHz - 2.30 GHz
  mögliche Taktfrequenzen: 2.30 GHz, 2.30 GHz, 1.80 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.40 GHz, 1.20 GHz, 1000 MHz, 800 MHz
  mögliche Regler: userspace, conservative, powersave, ondemand, performance
  momentane Taktik: die Frequenz soll innerhalb 800 MHz und 2.30 GHz.
                    liegen. Der Regler "ondemand" kann frei entscheiden,
                    welche Taktfrequenz innerhalb dieser Grenze verwendet wird.
  momentane Taktfrequenz ist 800 MHz.
  Statistik:2.30 GHz:18,18%, 2.30 GHz:0,32%, 1.80 GHz:0,10%, 1.60 GHz:0,18%, 1.40 GHz:0,28%, 1.20 GHz:0,19%, 1000 MHz:0,67%, 800 MHz:80,09%  (2472)
analysiere CPU 2:
  Treiber: acpi-cpufreq
  Folgende CPUs laufen mit der gleichen Hardware-Taktfrequenz: 0 1 2 3
  Die Taktfrequenz folgender CPUs werden per Software koordiniert: 2
  Maximale Dauer eines Taktfrequenzwechsels: 10.0 us.
  Hardwarebedingte Grenzen der Taktfrequenz: 800 MHz - 2.30 GHz
  mögliche Taktfrequenzen: 2.30 GHz, 2.30 GHz, 1.80 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.40 GHz, 1.20 GHz, 1000 MHz, 800 MHz
  mögliche Regler: userspace, conservative, powersave, ondemand, performance
  momentane Taktik: die Frequenz soll innerhalb 800 MHz und 2.30 GHz.
                    liegen. Der Regler "ondemand" kann frei entscheiden,
                    welche Taktfrequenz innerhalb dieser Grenze verwendet wird.
  momentane Taktfrequenz ist 800 MHz.
  Statistik:2.30 GHz:4,92%, 2.30 GHz:0,02%, 1.80 GHz:0,00%, 1.60 GHz:0,00%, 1.40 GHz:0,02%, 1.20 GHz:0,02%, 1000 MHz:0,02%, 800 MHz:95,00%  (180)
analysiere CPU 3:
  Treiber: acpi-cpufreq
  Folgende CPUs laufen mit der gleichen Hardware-Taktfrequenz: 0 1 2 3
  Die Taktfrequenz folgender CPUs werden per Software koordiniert: 3
  Maximale Dauer eines Taktfrequenzwechsels: 10.0 us.
  Hardwarebedingte Grenzen der Taktfrequenz: 800 MHz - 2.30 GHz
  mögliche Taktfrequenzen: 2.30 GHz, 2.30 GHz, 1.80 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.40 GHz, 1.20 GHz, 1000 MHz, 800 MHz
  mögliche Regler: userspace, conservative, powersave, ondemand, performance
  momentane Taktik: die Frequenz soll innerhalb 800 MHz und 2.30 GHz.
                    liegen. Der Regler "ondemand" kann frei entscheiden,
                    welche Taktfrequenz innerhalb dieser Grenze verwendet wird.
  momentane Taktfrequenz ist 800 MHz.
  Statistik:2.30 GHz:3,37%, 2.30 GHz:0,03%, 1.80 GHz:0,02%, 1.60 GHz:0,01%, 1.40 GHz:0,01%, 1.20 GHz:0,01%, 1000 MHz:0,01%, 800 MHz:96,55%  (146)

Code: Select all

$ glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Sandybridge Mobile  
cpufreq is installed. I have a Sony Vaio VPCSB 1V9E/B.

Processor is a Core i5, Graphics is a Radon:

Code: Select all

$ lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc NI Seymour [AMD Radeon HD 6470M]
Hope this is the information needed.

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by xircon »

So you are running the AMD/ATI drivers not the open source drivers? Ich sprach can deutsche :D

I can't run the AMD/ATI drivers, they do not work well in Gnome 3 :(

Try:

Code: Select all

sudo cpufreq-set -g powersave
Have a Google for Linux power regression problem:

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
Check the lines:

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash pcie_aspm=force i915.i915_enable_rc6=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 init=/sbin/bootchartd"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi.power_nocheck=1"
The above is what mine is set to, ignore the bootchartd stuff. Don't know if the i915 does anything, but it doesn't hurt!!

Sources:
http://www.webupd8.org/2011/06/linux-ke ... e-fix.html
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=132684
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2011/11/linu ... pad-fixed/

Then get a vacuum cleaner with a hose and run it over all of the vents on the case of your laptop (with a soft brush).

How are you loading acpi-cpufreq and cpufreqd? I stuffed mine in /etc/modules

Code: Select all

# /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
#
# This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
# at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.
# Parameters can be specified after the module name.

loop

# Generated by sensors-detect on Sat Nov  5 17:06:03 2011
# Chip drivers
coretemp
acpi-cpufreq
cpufreqd
brcmsmac
We have very similar hardware, mine is dell (in my signature). Mine was running as hot as yours, but I am now running 20 deg C lower:

Code: Select all

sudo sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +50.5°C  (crit = +102.0°C)

radeon-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:        +51.5°C  

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:       +50.0°C  (high = +95.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
Core 2:       +51.0°C  (high = +95.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by secipolla »

The_Rain wrote:...It questions if it should add the sensors to etc automatically. I said no because this was recommended in diffrent online ressources...
Run it again and say yes (sensors-detect is only to find out your sensors, but if the config isn't set then of course there's nothing it can do).

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by xircon »

@secipolla, I bet it only adds coretemp and that is already there, :)
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

The_Rain
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by The_Rain »

I forgot to say: After my first post on this topic i did already try again and said 'yes' when the sensors-detect question came and restarted my system. So the previous outputs contain already all changes the 'sensors-detect' command did on my system.

The_Rain
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by The_Rain »

Maybe someone who has done this before can tell me how i can create a configuration file for fancontrol by myself. If i understand it right the fancontrol does only generate a recommended configuration, so if i know enough about sensors, the cpu and the typical fanspeed it should be possible to make a own configuration or not?

EDIT:
I don't want to give up right now. Has anyone a configuration he/she can post? I searched for the /ect/fancontrol folder, because fancontrol wants to load the configuration file from this location. But the folder does not exists. Does pwmconfig create the folder normally?
Is anyone out there who uses LMDE and has fancontrol/pwmconfig up and running?

The_Rain
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Using fancontrol under LMDE (adding sensors to /etc/modu

Post by The_Rain »

It seems that it is not possible on a modern sony vaio notebook to use any software for fanspeed-control.

A short explanation is on this website: http://vaio-utils.org/fan/

If someone knows a way though, please let me know.

:?

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”