question about mint debian

Archived topics about LMDE 1
neil_fl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:14 pm
Location: philly

Re: question about mint debian

Post by neil_fl » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:13 pm

zerozero wrote:neil_fl,
probably i said no such thing :D you can find a very brief Q&A about security in section 2 - Q1 (and as always with links to further study the subject)
my bad, it was in one of your quotes ^^
widget wrote:One thing that you should know about Debian is that they try very hard to offer, by default, only FOSS packages (Free Open Source Software). The linux kernel, for instance includes some firmware that does not meet Debians standards and they remove it.

They do offer most nonfree software on their servers in the nonfree repos. One thing most people should install as soon as they get their install up and running is the package "firmware-linux-nonfree".

You will have to enable the nonfree repos in your /etc/apt/sources.list. Mine looks like this;
deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main contrib non-free
## deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main contrib non-free

## deb http://security.debian.org/ squeeze/updates main contrib non-free
## deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze/updates main

## squeeze-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze-updates main contrib non-free
## deb-src http://mirror.cpsc.ucalgary.ca/mirror/d ... rg/debian/ squeeze-updates main

# Debian Stable Backports
# For information visit
# http://www.backports.org/dokuwiki/doku. ... structions
# Secure apt: apt-get install debian-backports-keyring
## deb http://backports.debian.org/debian-backports squeeze-backports main contrib non-free
## deb-src http://backports.debian.org/debian-backports squeeze-backports main

## debian multimedia
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free
## deb-src http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free
note that I have all the sources repos commented out (## ), don't need all that. Can be enabled by un commenting (remove the ## ) if I need them. I also do not use the backports repo. You may want all of them.

As this is not a Debian forum I suggest the;
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/debian-26/
as a good place to get answers.

Watch out for some strange character from SE Montana. Guy is nuts. Goes by widget.
thank you!
will do that once i have it installed :)
does the last sentence imply that you're on the board or someone else by your name ? :/

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: question about mint debian

Post by zerozero » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:16 pm

widget,
in lmde, contrib and non-free and multimedia are part of the standard repos. so, if neil_fl is to install lmde he doesn't need those tweaks anymore (needs others listed here http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=185&t=82346 )

edit: neil, i saw your last comment now, no probs 8)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

neil_fl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:14 pm
Location: philly

Re: question about mint debian

Post by neil_fl » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:21 pm

zerozero wrote:widget,
in lmde, contrib and non-free and multimedia are part of the standard repos. so, if neil_fl is to install lmde he doesn't need those tweaks anymore (needs others listed here http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=185&t=82346 )

edit: neil, i saw your last comment now, no probs 8)
thats alright,
still racking my mind as to what i want

debian = rock solid but needs tweaking
lmde = not all that rock solid but gives me what i need

why is it so hard for me to choose ? :oops:

edit:
considering debian for the time being :/

widget
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 2:49 am
Location: S.E. Montana

Re: question about mint debian

Post by widget » Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:38 pm

does the last sentence imply that you're on the board or someone else by your name ? :/
It just means I am nuts. And a grumpy geezer.

One thing you can do that most don't think about is to have more than one install. Doesn't need to take a lot of room.

If you install LMDE on two partitions, / (root) and /home then you can install Debian by creating another / partition and pointing the installer at your LMDE /home partition and NOT formating it. You need a different user name for the second install. That way you have 2 OS's with 1 /home partition.

That /home partition will have 2 /home/<user name> directories. This is important because your "hidden" files in those directories are your config files for each OS. They obviously do not want to be mixed.

With a little tweaking of user permissions you can have both users use the same regular data files so that everything is together. I do this with a couple installs that I have. I do a lot of "improving" on one and leave the other alone. This way when my improvements prove not to be so great and the system refuses to boot, I simply boot to the other and can do repairs from there and, at least, access my files where there are notes on what I did.

This may be a handy thing for you depending on what kind of programming you are doing. If it is simply creating application probably not. On the other hand even a mistake in an application can take a system down.
Dell XPS 420 Core2 Quad Q 6600, audigy5.1, Radeon HD 6450 - currently 4 320Gb HDD, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian testing for daily use, Debian Sid for fun.

whirly
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:20 pm

Re: question about mint debian

Post by whirly » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:20 pm

if you install the lmde distro and find it's incompatible with the course requirements for some reason, it's not too hard to unmintify by changing your repositories over to pure debian ones
i should think the course wants debian based as common so that commandline inputs all match and there isn't too much discrepancy between student's units, and the required course materials. for example if some students were using fedora as i might expect in a red hat sysadmin course and some were ubuntus, then some debian, then some Centos some of your commandlines instructions would be slightly different for things like ten computers on the same router or hosting a vpn
so three votes for lmde
additionally after you learn a bit (you're taking a course after all) it will all seem easier.
As for 'breaking' your installation the better term is borking because it's rarely ever actually broken, it just doesn't recognize itself as being where you left it. If you change a configuration or lose a driver or something else you can get a black screen or a terminal comes up. but it's not like it erased itself never to be seen again. It's more like it's hidden and you need tofigure out which instructions will find it again
i didn't read to links but debrefcard the debian reference commandline page is invaluable it prints up a walletsized bunch of commands organized by sections

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”