[SOLVED] LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
User avatar
eiver
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:51 am

[SOLVED] LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by eiver »

Hi,

Like in the subject, I am trying to configure LMDE201204 64-bit. The installation works for both images (MATE & Xfce), but I am struggling to configure hardware acceleration on the VM. Does anyone know the solution (or a link to instructions how to do it)? I failed to find the solution on the net. The old LMDE+UP3 worked like charm with Gnome2 or Xfce+All comipiz effects

Xfce version has nvidia packages installed by default but they do not work.
MATE version does not, but installing them has no effect.
Generating xorg.conf using nvidia-xconfig results in a black screen after restarting x.

Cinnamon also doesn't work (Failed to load session) - probably due to the problem above.

Host specs:
Linux Mint 10 + VirtualBox 4.1.12 r77245
Last edited by eiver on Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Oscar799
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9911
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by Oscar799 »

Moved here by moderator
Image

User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 523
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by äxl »

My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.

User avatar
eiver
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:51 am

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by eiver »

Thanks, I tried the DKMS method, but it didn't work. Kernel headers are already installed and so is the nvidia dkms package (i reinstalled it and rebooted to make sure).
The Xorg log file contains only the following lines (repeated many times):

Code: Select all

[    14.750] (II) VBoxVideo(0): EDID vendor "VBX", prod id 0
[    14.750] (II) VBoxVideo(0): DDCModeFromDetailedTiming: 1920x1105 Warning: We only handle separate sync.
[    14.750] (II) VBoxVideo(0): Using hsync ranges from config file
[    14.751] (II) VBoxVideo(0): Using vrefresh ranges from config file
[    14.751] (II) VBoxVideo(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
[    14.751] (II) VBoxVideo(0): Modeline "1920x1105"x0.0  128.38  1920 1922 1924 1926  1105 1107 1109 1111 -hsync -vsync (66.7 kHz)

User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 523
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by äxl »

eiver wrote:Thanks, I tried the DKMS method, but it didn't work.
There are four more methods. ;)
The Xorg log file contains only the following lines (repeated many times):
That's just information (II). Errors are (EE). There's no information on drivers?!
But maybe you should ask where people know more about VirtualBox.
My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.

User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 523
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by äxl »

My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.

Myself
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:42 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by Myself »

Removing 4.0.6 which wasn't upgraded by UP4 and downloading and installing 4.1.12, with extensions, solved my problems. 4.1.8 was and is the newest version offered in LMDE's Synaptic. I tried 4.1.8 on another install but 4.1.12 is better.
CPU = U9300, 4GB RAM, Intel GM45 Graphics @ resolution 1366x768, 128GB internal drive, 6TB external storage, Main OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4. 2nd OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4, Other installed OSs = Bodhi 1.4.0, Ubuntu 10.04 & 12.04, Mandriva & Windows.

User avatar
eiver
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:51 am

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by eiver »

ok. This may sound very silly, but I reinstalled the VM and just applied all updates (just mint system and mint desktop). I didn't install anything else (not even guest additions) and now Compiz works after typing compiz --replace in the console (fusion icon does not). Cinnamon works out of the box... It is either that the problem fixed itself or it was some weird vbox issue or I am becoming delusional and I imagined the whole problem in the first place :shock:

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3036
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by Monsta »

eiver wrote:ok. This may sound very silly, but I reinstalled the VM and just applied all updates (just mint system and mint desktop).
Did you use the latest ISO (201204 RC) for that?
The point is that it already contains the latest Xorg and all that, so VirtualBox wasn't confused by these radical updates this time. :D

Well, at least it was so in my case. First I've experienced a breakage while updating (see the link that äxl posted above). Then I've installed the latest RC ISO to a fresh VM - no serious problems this time.

User avatar
eiver
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:51 am

Re: LMDE201204 + VirtualBox + nVidia

Post by eiver »

Yes, I am testing the latest ISO on the VM, before upgrading the real machine.

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”