[SOLVED] VirtualBox disappearing. How to install properly?

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Dirkoir
Level 4
Level 4

[SOLVED] VirtualBox disappearing. How to install properly?

Post by Dirkoir »

Hello, I am new to linux, and...

My attempts to install VirtualBox have resulted in several mysterious disappearances of the just installed VirtualBox and in a current installation of it which fails to work.

I am on Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon, the Ubuntu-Version of Mint. The straightforward install as described in http://www.zdnet.com/how-to-install-ora ... 000028403/ certainly did not work. Software Manager and terminal have both failed me.

The non-free and free packages for VirtualBox were both release version 4.3. The qt version of VirtualBox is 4.3.10-dfsg-1. I don't know how to id my version of Linux Mint exactly. I made the live dvd a week ago (2014-07-24) and ran upgrades last night (2014-07-29) with the Update Manager which seems to have worked since it only lists the level 4 and 5 packages now.

Events and terminal feedback:

I installed virtualbox-nonfree from the Software Manager since I had read on the web this is the version of VirtualBox to go for.

It seemed to install and showed in the Start Menu. (no idea what else to call the menu that resembles a Windows Start Menu). All seemed fine.

Then I installed virtualbox-guest-additions-iso also in the Software Manager which was still open. I closed the Software Manager, believing I was done.

And then the grief:

In the Start Menu, Oracle VirtualBox was GONE! :(