Time on VirtualBox

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
redlawn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:45 am

Time on VirtualBox

Post by redlawn » Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:48 am

I am running Mint 17.2 on virtual box but notice that the time is drifting. Should some type of NTP service be running? I couldn't see ntp or chrony in the process list.

Prior to 17.2 I didn't notice any issues with the time?

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Time on VirtualBox

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:06 am

Most likely you did not install the guest additions in the VM.

redlawn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:45 am

Re: Time on VirtualBox

Post by redlawn » Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:43 am

Good thinking, I did have the additions installed but I have reinstalled them. Still the time drifts

I am using virtualbox 5.0.0 r101573

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Time on VirtualBox

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:01 am

IMHO VB 5 is still in heavy development phase. But surely your VB version is outdated. Update it and then update the guest additions.

redlawn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:45 am

Re: Time on VirtualBox

Post by redlawn » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:44 am

Thanks.

I may install NTPD or Chronyd, it is not a major issue just annoying!

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Time on VirtualBox

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Sep 24, 2015 2:37 pm

There is no need to install anything for time synchronization. If this dos not work as described in the help file (open the chapter about Guest additions and scroll a little bit down), than anything is broken. Chances are, that this is VB5. VB5 is now at 5.0.4, so the first measurement is what I advised above.

BTW: What OS has your host?

mehimu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Time on VirtualBox

Post by mehimu » Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:50 am

I installed it in VMware. It worked well.
I am learning linux and computer networking more and more. I've a blog related to computer networking. If you are interested may visit there. Thanks
whilenetworking.com

Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization”