[solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
sbaumgartner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:03 am

[solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby sbaumgartner » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:30 am

Hello community,

I have installed Mint 18 Cinnamon on a Lenovo T440s and almost everything is working properly - as far as I have investigated at least.

But I have a minor problem with VMWare Workstation 12 - I can only see the "File" menu in the menu bar - see screenshot.

Image

The menu items are there, if I hover over the space, where the menu items are supposed to be I can access the menu items ...

I have done some research and came accross the following article:

viewtopic.php?t=169197

But the suggested solution does not work for me as the referenced packages are already installed (with a newer version though):

Code: Select all

baumi@beryll ~ $ dpkg -l | grep -E "^ii\s+libgtkmm.*"
ii  libgtkmm-2.4-1v5:amd64      1:2.24.4-2          amd64        C++ wrappers for GTK+ (shared libraries)
ii  libgtkmm-3.0-1v5:amd64      3.18.0-1            amd64        C++ wrappers for GTK+ (shared libraries)


Did anyone else experience the same problem and has solved it?

Thanks in advance, best regards
Stefan
Last edited by sbaumgartner on Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
matt
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:13 pm
Location: Earth/North America/USA/home

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby matt » Sun Jul 17, 2016 10:38 am

Have you tried reinstalling VMware?

sbaumgartner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:03 am

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby sbaumgartner » Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:12 am

After I installed VMware the auto-update came up and I updated ... same behaviour as before.

User avatar
matt
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:13 pm
Location: Earth/North America/USA/home

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby matt » Sun Jul 17, 2016 2:07 pm

Check out these links. Although I'm aware that your host OS is not Windows, you can try the solutions these are users are suggesting. I used VMware Workstation back when I was using W10. I switched to VirtualBox when I went to Linux on single boot. I'm only using Linux ISOs on my guest OS.
http://www.ericgoldman.name/en/2009/vmware-tip-recover-missing-menus-and-toolbars/
https://askubuntu.com/questions/554528/ubuntu-14-04-on-vmware-player-menu-options-not-visible

getut
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:49 am

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby getut » Mon Jul 18, 2016 12:11 pm

I don't have the resolution to this problem, because I have it also, but I have additional information that may help someone more knowledgeable help us.

To make sure we are still talking about the same problem, we're talking about a Linux Mint HOST running VMware Workstation. The problem is purely with the host, not with any guest OS's. This same problem existed for me in Mint 17 since VMware workstation 10. The file menu is present but edit and everything to the right of that is invisible, but there and still works if you click on it.

The fix that I found in this thread ( viewtopic.php?t=169197 ) for this issue in previous versions was to install the libgtkmm-2.4-1c2a package. But this package has no candidate in Mint 18 as 18 has gone to newer packages that don't fix the issue but there is still just something small missing.

sbaumgartner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:03 am

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby sbaumgartner » Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:06 pm

Exactly. :/

lachabe
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:41 am

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby lachabe » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:45 am

you can fix it if you change the theme. It work with awaida theme.

t5un4m1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:47 pm

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby t5un4m1 » Tue Sep 13, 2016 12:44 pm

This is still an issue with LM18/Cinnamon. Also the 12.5 update to workstation doesn't fix the problem.

sowenby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:55 am

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby sowenby » Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:59 am

Hinto's suggestion below does work. My original suggestion only worked with Adwaita Theme.
Last edited by sowenby on Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

deleted

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby deleted » Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:37 am

edit /etc/vmware/bootstrap to add:

Code: Select all

export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK="yes"

-Hinto

sbaumgartner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:03 am

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby sbaumgartner » Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:55 am

Thank you Hinto - this fixed this issue.

deleted

Re: [solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby deleted » Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:29 am

Cool.
I've been a fan of VMWare for years (and I don't work for them ;) )
-H

nbholt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 3:49 pm
Location: East Texas

Re: [solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby nbholt » Fri Oct 07, 2016 3:57 pm

Just upgraded to Mint 18 yesterday. I had the same issue with VMplayer 12.5 and VMworkstation missing the menu iems.
This resolved my issues.

Thank you for your post.

mtrento
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:32 am

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby mtrento » Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:38 am

hinto wrote:edit /etc/vmware/bootstrap to add:

Code: Select all

export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK="yes"

-Hinto

Thanks hinto this worked for me aswell.
By the way it solved another problem with vmware workstation 12.5 where the windows auto minimized when opening a virtual machine.
For all others , make sure you include the "export" in the command

Cheers.

deleted

Re: [solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby deleted » Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:08 am

Cool.
I found I had to re-do it when I updated the Player (there's a new one now)
-H

bookter
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:22 pm

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby bookter » Tue May 16, 2017 8:30 pm

hinto wrote:edit /etc/vmware/bootstrap to add:

Code: Select all

export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK="yes"

-Hinto



:D :D

Thank you!

supertzar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 12:08 pm

Re: [solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby supertzar » Wed May 31, 2017 12:09 pm

Hinto's suggestion worked here too. Workstation 12.5.6 on Mint 18. Thanks.

masterpro0415
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:19 am

Re: [solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby masterpro0415 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:23 am

Hinto. Do you know how to fix this error. I can't connect to internet by using vmware workstation 12. When I click on Vitual Network Editor have an alert :" Network Configuration is missing. Ensure that /etc/vmware/networking exits. Anyone know please help me. thank you

deleted

Re: [solved] Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby deleted » Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:59 am

In the terminal, try:

Code: Select all

sudo vmware-modconfig --console --install-all

This will rebuild all of your modules.

Check to see if everything builds.

-H

gsaran88
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:03 pm

Re: Mint 18, VMWare Workstation 12, Menus partly missing

Postby gsaran88 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:06 pm

hinto wrote:edit /etc/vmware/bootstrap to add:

Code: Select all

export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK="yes"

-Hinto


Excellent. Thanks a lot for your help. Now it is fixed for me.


Return to “Virtualization”