Virtual Box Only Runs Max Resolution 1600X1200 [SOLVED]

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
TwoLeftThumbs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:49 am

Virtual Box Only Runs Max Resolution 1600X1200 [SOLVED]

Postby TwoLeftThumbs » Sun Oct 02, 2016 12:07 am

So Far Virtual Box Sucks, it has a standard VGA Driver Installed and I can't above 1600X1200 Resolution.

Probably Stupid but I went to Nvidia and tried to install the drivers and came up with can't detect card.

Any suggestions.

I have a Nvidia GTX 980 TI

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15599
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Virtual Box Only Runs Max Resolution 1600X1200

Postby Cosmo. » Sun Oct 02, 2016 6:51 am

Virtual machines use an own virtualized graphics hardware, not related with the physical hardware on the guest. You don't need and you should not install any Nvida driver, but you need to install the proper guest additions inside of the running VM. You get direct access for installing them in the devices menu of the VM.

TwoLeftThumbs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:49 am

Re: Virtual Box Only Runs Max Resolution 1600X1200

Postby TwoLeftThumbs » Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:59 am

Cosmo, thank you for the clues.

I found the answer on another thread.
For the next newbie below is what I did.

1. Open Software manager
2. Type in the search box " VirtualBox "
3. I have V5.1 installed. I installed any package that didn't tell me that it would deinstall my 5.1
4. I found and installed the package " Virtual Box-Guest-Additions-ISO "
5. Then I opened Windows Virtual Box and opened my Windows 7 Machine
6. On the toolbar at top I went to "Devices"
7. At the bottom of the choices List I found
" Insert Guest Additions CD-IMage "
8. I double clicked on it to install
9. Rebooted as per instructions
10. Went back into the machine
Voila high definition Video. I didn't even have to change the settings it detected it.
Rock and roll!!!


Return to “Virtualization”