Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
skibum505
Level 1
Level 1

Install Windows in Virtual Box from system recovery disk <SOLVED>

Post by skibum505 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:05 pm

Hi, I have a Dell XPS 8900 that came with Windows 7. I removed the hard drive when I got the computer and replaced it with a another one, on which I installed Mint 18 (Cinnamon, if it matters). I don't really like dual boot and I do like Mint.

But there are some (rare) occasions when I still need to run Windows. I have some experience with Virtual box from an earlier computer. I don't want to buy a copy of Windows. It occurred to me that I might boot from the (currently) unused Windows hard drive on an external USD mount which I have, create a windows "system recovery" disk from the windows utility, and then install into VB from that disk?

Thanks for any advice...
Last edited by skibum505 on Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23

Re: Install Windows in Virtual Box from system recovery disk

Post by Cosmo. » Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:16 pm

This is impossible out of 2 reasons.
1. the recovery disk will (likely) only work on the given hardware.
2. You cannot attach an usb drive to VM without a running guest OS. So even a Linux live system stored on a usb stick would not work. (It would also not make sense, but this is another question.)

Neil Edmond
Level 6
Level 6

Post by Neil Edmond » Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:53 pm

You may, however, be able to convert the already installed system to a virtual machine.

http://www.howtogeek.com/213145/how-to% ... l-machine/

grumpy_geek
Level 2
Level 2

Post by grumpy_geek » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:14 am

Neil Edmond wrote:You may, however, be able to convert the already installed system to a virtual machine.

http://www.howtogeek.com/213145/how-to% ... l-machine/