Bug in virtualBox

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
futex
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:31 pm

Bug in virtualBox

Postby futex » Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:41 am

Hello all,

I'am on linux mint 18.1 up to date and i use the version 5.0.40_Ubuntu r115130.

My problem is i have a VM running another Linux with have two networks interfaces, the first one is binded on his internal virtual network (innet) and the second is NATed.
When i finished to work i freeze the VM, and when i start i unfreeze it, but the VM is unable to retreive IP on some interfaces, sometime the somertine the second. I have tried manualy to do a dhcp eth0/eth1 without success (the route table seem ok), And a reboot doesn't correct anything

Anyone have this behavior and/or have an idea to solveit?

Thank you

futex
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Bug in virtualBox

Postby futex » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:09 am

And if i reboot the problem disapear (sometime), but if i freeze the VM after the problem come back, and network manager on the VM is unable to retreive DHCP. I have check the route table, they are the same before (when all is ok) and after the freeze.
That's weird.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5856
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Bug in virtualBox

Postby Pierre » Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:10 am

it's generally suggested that you use the V5.1.xx of VirtualBox:
https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads
rather than the version, that you are currently using.

you will need to Un-install the version 5.0.40_Ubuntu r115130
- before you can install the later version, or you will get some errors, otherwise.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

futex
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: Bug in virtualBox

Postby futex » Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:13 am

arf yes, i have to use Ubuntu repository. I will try, thank you


Return to “Virtualization”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests