Starting any VM locks my system up

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
borg101
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:00 pm

Starting any VM locks my system up

Post by borg101 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:39 am

I have ran into a problem with a Windows 7 VM that had worked under Ubuntu 17.04/17.10, Mint 18.2, 18.1, elementaryOS 0.4, and others but locked up my system under Mint 18.3 (both cinnamon and gnome DE's). At first I chalked it up to changes in 18.3. So I tried creating a brand new Windows 10 VM....same thing, locked my system up. I can't seem to find a debug log for virtualbox. Is the system dropping one somewhere besides the home directory?
Mobo: ASRock model: Z97E-ITX | CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-4690 | GPU: NVIDIA GM206 [GeForce GTX 960] | RAM: 16GB DDR3 | SSD/HDD: Total Size: 8251.6GB | OS: Mint 18.3 (Gnome)

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 507
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Starting any VM locks my system up

Post by thx-1138 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:45 am

...logs are under .config/VirtualBox & also in a folder named 'Logs' located there where your VM images are stored (eg. /home/borg101/mywindows10testvm/Logs)...

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16704
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Starting any VM locks my system up

Post by Cosmo. » Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:55 am

Which version of VB do you use in Mint? I do a guess: 5.0.x?
Next question (just for completeness): Which kernel do you use in Mint?

User avatar
borg101
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:00 pm

Re: Starting any VM locks my system up

Post by borg101 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:26 pm

thx-1138 wrote:...logs are under .config/VirtualBox & also in a folder named 'Logs' located there where your VM images are stored (eg. /home/borg101/mywindows10testvm/Logs)...
nothing in either location.
Cosmo. wrote:Which version of VB do you use in Mint? I do a guess: 5.0.x?
Next question (just for completeness): Which kernel do you use in Mint?
4.13.0-32-generic GNU/Linux and VB 5.0.4
Mobo: ASRock model: Z97E-ITX | CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-4690 | GPU: NVIDIA GM206 [GeForce GTX 960] | RAM: 16GB DDR3 | SSD/HDD: Total Size: 8251.6GB | OS: Mint 18.3 (Gnome)

smurphos
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am

Re: Starting any VM locks my system up

Post by smurphos » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:50 am

borg101 wrote:4.13.0-32-generic GNU/Linux and VB 5.0.4
Known not to play nice together....

Either remove VB 5.0.40 and manually install 5.1 or 5.2 from https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads or install the latest 4.4 series kernel and remove any 4.8, 4.10 and 4.13 kernels having booted into 4.4 and confirmed that works OK with your system.

User avatar
borg101
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:00 pm

Re: Starting any VM locks my system up

Post by borg101 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:25 am

smurphos wrote:
borg101 wrote:4.13.0-32-generic GNU/Linux and VB 5.0.4
Known not to play nice together....

Either remove VB 5.0.40 and manually install 5.1 or 5.2 from https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads or install the latest 4.4 series kernel and remove any 4.8, 4.10 and 4.13 kernels having booted into 4.4 and confirmed that works OK with your system.
Hazaaaa! It worked! Thanks. I do have a new problem, and if you can't answer it I completely understand. This is on my HTPC and I'm about 13 feet away from the screen. For some reason this version of VB is not scaling the text. Any ideas?
Mobo: ASRock model: Z97E-ITX | CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-4690 | GPU: NVIDIA GM206 [GeForce GTX 960] | RAM: 16GB DDR3 | SSD/HDD: Total Size: 8251.6GB | OS: Mint 18.3 (Gnome)

smurphos
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am

Re: Starting any VM locks my system up

Post by smurphos » Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:35 am

borg101 wrote:
Hazaaaa! It worked! Thanks. I do have a new problem, and if you can't answer it I completely understand. This is on my HTPC and I'm about 13 feet away from the screen. For some reason this version of VB is not scaling the text. Any ideas?
Sorry I can't answer that. I think there may be some differences in seamless mode. Maybe a question for the Virtualbox forums....? https://forums.virtualbox.org/index.php

Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization”