[SOLVED] Will my Hp Stream Laptop run a VM? [SOLVED]

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
silverpuma

[SOLVED] Will my Hp Stream Laptop run a VM? [SOLVED]

Post by silverpuma »

Hi Folks, a Linux newbie here. I have an underpowered hp stream 14" laptop with 4g ram and 16.4 GB HD. I don't use the laptop for anything other than web browsing and learn Linux so I don't need any of the remaining 16GB of HD for storage.

I have never used a VM before but would like to try a handful of distros for fun and interest on a VM but keep Mint as my main system. Would my laptop be able to limp along with VMware or virtualbox or any other VM you would recommend? I added a screenshot that I read others say in a post it may be helpful when asking this type of question.

Any advice would be appreciated.............thanks
Screenshot from 2018-05-12 19-19-54.png
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Will my Hp Stream Laptop run a VM?

Post by catweazel »

silverpuma wrote: Sat May 12, 2018 2:32 pm Hi Folks, a Linux newbie here. I have an underpowered hp stream 14" laptop with 4g ram and 16.4 GB HD. I don't use the laptop for anything other than web browsing and learn Linux so I don't need any of the remaining 16GB of HD for storage.
It's highly unlikely that it will even limp along.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12

Post by absque fenestris »

You can try something like SLiTAZ (size approx. 50MB, runs completely in RAM). Or MINIX.
But just as soon as it is to be installed on the HD, it becomes very tight.
Larger SSD maybe?
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Post by catweazel »