(VB 6.0.10) Snapshot request segfaults

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
ajgringo619
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1391
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

(VB 6.0.10) Snapshot request segfaults

Post by ajgringo619 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:08 pm

If you're thinking of upgrading VirtualBox to the latest version (v6.0.10), you might want to wait a bit. The snapshot feature seems to be broken, creating an aborted VM that doesn't always boot afterwards. The v6.0.8 edition does not have this issue, even with the v6.0.10 Guest Additions installed.

I have a thread started on the VB forums; hopefully I'll hear something soon.
Mint 19.2 XFCE
kernel 4.15.0-64-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 960 w/2GB RAM (435.21)
Image

User avatar
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2607
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: (VB 6.0.10) Snapshot request segfaults

Post by kyphi » Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:36 pm

VirtualBox 6.0.10 (virtualbox-6.0_6.0.10-132072~Ubuntu~bionic_amd64.deb) works fine here as does the snapshot function including restart.

Did you upgrade the corresponding Extension Pack?
Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon - 64bit

ajgringo619
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1391
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: (VB 6.0.10) Snapshot request segfaults

Post by ajgringo619 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:39 pm

Yep. This was my first attempt at creating a snapshot under v6.0.10 (Windows 10 guest). Maybe it's only a Windows thing - all of my Linux VMs are running under QEMU. I've seen other issues with v6.0.10 on the VB boards; not exactly like mine, but they were serious glitches.
Mint 19.2 XFCE
kernel 4.15.0-64-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 960 w/2GB RAM (435.21)
Image

User avatar
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2607
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: (VB 6.0.10) Snapshot request segfaults

Post by kyphi » Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:03 am

No QEMU in use here. I have used VirtualBox since Innotek created it.

Running Bionic Beaver and Win 7 (W7 without internet access). Win 7 needed solely for running medical software.

Anyway, wait and see if others have similar problems to those experienced by you.
Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon - 64bit

Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization”