Trouble installing VMWare Player as new Linux user

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
antikythera
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1426
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by antikythera »

Virtualbox is proprietary too but much easier to get up and running. The fact it's in repositories means there's no messing about in terminal windows to install it or add a user to the system, plus as and when it's updated for stability or security, you get the updates automatically too. Maybe it makes me lazy but I prefer the simpler life these days ;)
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
catrunner75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by catrunner75 »

antikythera wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 5:34 pm
Virtualbox is proprietary too but much easier to get up and running. The fact it's in repositories means there's no messing about in terminal windows to install it or add a user to the system, plus as and when it's updated for stability or security, you get the updates automatically too. Maybe it makes me lazy but I prefer the simpler life these days ;)
ok, understood. now its not really about even using VMWare, but about solving why i cant get it installed. its erking the hell out of me and im just not the type that can just let it go, specially since i know this will come up again. but , how to i go to repository ? how do i proceed to get virtualbox? off the top of my head im thinking i go to download manager or software manager to start, is that correct?
catrunner75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by catrunner75 »

Moem wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:30 pm
catrunner75 wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 1:38 pm
why am i using "sudo"? this is what i dont understand as well...if im using the computer as the super user, the admin, why do i have to enter "sudo" which is whatever the word means, "fake superuser" or whatever?
The thing is, in Linux Mint an adminstrator is not the user with the highest rights.

Every time you want to make a change to the system (such as installing software), you need elevated rights: superuser rights. You, as the admin and primary user, do not have those rights, but you have sudo rights. Sudo rights means the right to give commands to the actual superuser: the virtual user root. Root is not a person, but an account on your system with the highest possible rights. Root works for you: it's the janitor and security guard of your system.
Sudo means: Hey, root, do this for me as if I were the superuser.
Root will then reply by asking for your password, which means: Who's asking? Can you prove to me that you have the right to tell me what to do?
And then you type your password, as if to reply: Yes, I have the right and I can prove it with my password, here it is.
Root will then execute the command.
catrunner75 wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 1:38 pm
one of my first responses on this forum came from someone saying stay the hell away from "sudo"
Sorry, I see that I wasn't clear. I meant to tell you to stay the hell away from sudo as long as you don't know what it does. But now you know. And please do keep asking questions as long as there are things that puzzle you.
ok, I understand. I dont really know why its this way, maybe trying to explain that would just be more confusing. so your really not an admin or anything like that, you dont have any rights to change anything. so there is only user(s) and root... you have a surrogate, or better yet the security guard janitor. for whatever reason, i own the building , its mine, but im never allowed in. whenever i want something in the building, fetched or changed, i have to hit the doorbell and summon ROOT (janitor) and he'll go to do it or get it?
so i read something over here in the states the other day that the netherlands is going crazy. is this true? like anarchy?
catrunner75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Trouble installing VMWare Player as new Linux user

Post by catrunner75 »

Code: Select all

bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ sudo ./VMware-Player-16.0.0-16894299.x86_64.bundle
[sudo] password for bryce:         
sudo: ./VMware-Player-16.0.0-16894299.x86_64.bundle: command not found

Code: Select all

bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ sudo apt-get update
Ign:1 http://packages.linuxmint.com ulyana InRelease
Hit:2 http://packages.linuxmint.com ulyana Release                             
Hit:3 http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu focal InRelease                      
Hit:4 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal InRelease              
Get:5 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security InRelease [107 kB]
Get:6 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates InRelease [111 kB]
Get:8 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-backports InRelease [98.3 kB]
Get:9 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security/main amd64 DEP-11 Metadata [24.3 kB]
Get:10 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security/universe amd64 Packages [57.5 kB]
Get:11 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security/universe i386 Packages [27.9 kB]
Get:12 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security/universe Translation-en [30.3 kB]
Get:13 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security/universe amd64 DEP-11 Metadata [52.3 kB]
Get:14 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/main amd64 Packages [359 kB]
Get:15 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/main i386 Packages [212 kB]
Get:16 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/main Translation-en [136 kB]
Get:17 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/main amd64 DEP-11 Metadata [209 kB]
Get:18 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/universe amd64 Packages [166 kB]
Get:19 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/universe i386 Packages [91.1 kB]
Get:20 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/universe Translation-en [88.1 kB]
Get:21 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/universe amd64 DEP-11 Metadata [186 kB]
Get:22 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates/multiverse amd64 DEP-11 Metadata [2,468 B]
Get:23 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-backports/universe amd64 DEP-11 Metadata [1,768 B]
Fetched 1,960 kB in 3s (695 kB/s)   
Reading package lists... Done
bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ sudo apt-get install build-essential -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
build-essential is already the newest version (12.8ubuntu1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 30 not upgraded.

Code: Select all

bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ sudo chmod +x vmware.bin
chmod: cannot access 'vmware.bin': No such file or directory

Code: Select all

bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ wget -o ~/vmware.bin https://www.vmware.com/go/getWorkstation-linux
bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ wget -O ~/vmware.bin https://www.vmware.com.go/getWorkstation-linux
--2020-09-15 21:51:41--  https://www.vmware.com.go/getWorkstation-linux
Resolving www.vmware.com.go (www.vmware.com.go)... failed: Name or service not known.
wget: unable to resolve host address ‘www.vmware.com.go’
bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ wget -O ~/vmware.bin https://www.vmware.com/go/getWorkstation-linux
--2020-09-15 21:54:07--  https://www.vmware.com/go/getWorkstation-linux
Resolving www.vmware.com (www.vmware.com)... 23.53.118.52, 2600:1408:5c00:38c::2ef, 2600:1408:5c00:3b4::2ef
Connecting to www.vmware.com (www.vmware.com)|23.53.118.52|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 303 See Other
Location: https://maintenance.vmware.com/info9.html [following]
--2020-09-15 21:54:07--  https://maintenance.vmware.com/info9.html
Resolving maintenance.vmware.com (maintenance.vmware.com)... 23.53.118.52, 2600:1407:a000:385::2ef, 2600:1407:a000:386::2ef
Connecting to maintenance.vmware.com (maintenance.vmware.com)|23.53.118.52|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 2201 (2.1K) [text/html]
Saving to: ‘/home/bryce/vmware.bin’

/home/bryce/vmware. 100%[===================>]   2.15K  --.-KB/s    in 0s      

2020-09-15 21:54:07 (149 MB/s) - ‘/home/bryce/vmware.bin’ saved [2201/2201]

Code: Select all

bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ sudo chmod +x vmware.bin

Code: Select all

bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ sudo ./vmware.bin
./vmware.bin: 1: cannot open !doctype: No such file
./vmware.bin: 1: html: not found
./vmware.bin: 2: cannot open html: No such file
./vmware.bin: 3: cannot open head: No such file
./vmware.bin: 4: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 4: http-equiv=Content-Type: not found
./vmware.bin: 5: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 5: http-equiv=content-language: not found
./vmware.bin: 6: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 6: http-equiv=X-UA-Compatible: not found
./vmware.bin: 7: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 8: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 9: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 10: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 11: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 12: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 13: cannot open link: No such file
./vmware.bin: 14: cannot open title: No such file
./vmware.bin: 14: Maintenance: not found
./vmware.bin: 15: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 16: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 17: Syntax error: redirection unexpected
bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ sudo ./vmware.bin
./vmware.bin: 1: cannot open !doctype: No such file
./vmware.bin: 1: html: not found
./vmware.bin: 2: cannot open html: No such file
./vmware.bin: 3: cannot open head: No such file
./vmware.bin: 4: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 4: http-equiv=Content-Type: not found
./vmware.bin: 5: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 5: http-equiv=content-language: not found
./vmware.bin: 6: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 6: http-equiv=X-UA-Compatible: not found
./vmware.bin: 7: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 8: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 9: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 10: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 11: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 12: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 13: cannot open link: No such file
./vmware.bin: 14: cannot open title: No such file
./vmware.bin: 14: Maintenance: not found
./vmware.bin: 15: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 16: cannot open meta: No such file
./vmware.bin: 17: Syntax error: redirection unexpected>
bryce@bryce-Satellite-C55D-B:~$ 
so ive been at this another half hour. i dont understand the difference between downloading the software into downloads file , giving it executable permission, and this other way that seems to load it directly into the terminal(current directory?) as a bin? this is making my head hurt. this shouldnt be this hard , what is WRONG
pbear
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5367
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by pbear »

catrunner75 wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 1:40 pm
pbear wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:39 pm
catrunner75 wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 2:16 pm
... all thats going thru my mind is WOW this is windows all over again
Really? It doesn't occur to you that maybe you did something wrong?
What instructions were you following? Link, please.
no thanks
Read your opening post again. Maybe you can see where I'm coming from. And describing what you did is basic troubleshooting. if you refuse to do that, you're not going to get very far with support threads. Anyhoo, I'll be moving along now. Good luck.
catrunner75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Trouble installing VMWare Player as new Linux user

Post by catrunner75 »

karlchen wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:23 pm
Hello, catrunner75.

Unlike Windows, Linux is case-sensitive. The folder which you try to change into is named Downloads.
Therefore the correct commandline to do so is: cd ~/Downloads

Note:
~ (tilde) is a shortcut for $HOME. $HOME is your home directory, /home/bryce.
As a consequence, cd ~/Downloads is equivalent to cd /home/bryce/Downloads

HTH,
Karl
thank you, it worked. appreciated!
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11583
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by Moem »

catrunner75 wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:38 pm
for whatever reason, i own the building , its mine, but im never allowed in. whenever i want something in the building, fetched or changed, i have to hit the doorbell and summon ROOT (janitor) and he'll go to do it or get it?
The reason is security. It's much harder to give commands that you don't really mean by mistake, and also: no one can make changes without that password, not even if they are pretending to be you. If someone manages to smuggle a program of some kind into your computer, they can't install it: it will prompt you for your password, and you'll know something is up.
so i read something over here in the states the other day that the netherlands is going crazy. is this true? like anarchy?
No.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
antikythera
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1426
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by antikythera »

catrunner75 wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:23 pm
ok, understood. now its not really about even using VMWare, but about solving why i cant get it installed. its erking the hell out of me and im just not the type that can just let it go, specially since i know this will come up again. but , how to i go to repository ? how do i proceed to get virtualbox? off the top of my head im thinking i go to download manager or software manager to start, is that correct?
You can use either Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager to install applications from the repositories using a graphical user interface rather than the terminal.

I saw your other thread about where to get VirtualBox from. I still stick with installing it from the repositories despite what the other guys advise. You only really ever need to start using the version from Oracle's own website when your kernel does not match the default provided by Ubuntu/Mint or want to host another linux operating system with a newer kernel. For running Windows 7/8/8.1/10 the repository version is absolutely reliable.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
catrunner75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by catrunner75 »

antikythera wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:13 am
catrunner75 wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:23 pm
ok, understood. now its not really about even using VMWare, but about solving why i cant get it installed. its erking the hell out of me and im just not the type that can just let it go, specially since i know this will come up again. but , how to i go to repository ? how do i proceed to get virtualbox? off the top of my head im thinking i go to download manager or software manager to start, is that correct?
You can use either Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager to install applications from the repositories using a graphical user interface rather than the terminal.

I saw your other thread about where to get VirtualBox from. I still stick with installing it from the repositories despite what the other guys advise. You only really ever need to start using the version from Oracle's own website when your kernel does not match the default provided by Ubuntu/Mint or want to host another linux operating system with a newer kernel. For running Windows 7/8/8.1/10 the repository version is absolutely reliable.
thank you. my intention is to run Kali in the virtual box. ive set up a second laptop with mint and this is my "learning" laptop. im taking a python course and inbetween for fun im going to watch you tube videos on penetration testing and white hat hacking as a script kiddie.
motoryzen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:25 am

Re: first download and already, its windows?

Post by motoryzen »

Hoser Rob wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:33 am
catrunner75 wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 2:16 pm
i downloaded VMware workstation player for linux...this is my first attempt ever at installing software on linux which ive downloaded form the internet...and its a disaster, and all thats going thru my mind is WOW this is windows all over again, i thought linux was cleaner, faster...
Who in the hell told you installing software in Linux was easier than in WIndows? That's just so untrue. In fact some Linux users think WIndows software installation is made too easy.
-- That opinion depends on the individual software. There's nothing untrue about it depending on the software as well as the individual user's needs. IF people don't care what KIND of Linux software -installation method it involves ( .deb file, flatpak, snaps, etc), all they care about is that it just works, and it's available in the Software Manager application, then yeah..it doesn't get ANY easier than that. 99.99% of the time. Handbrake, Makemkv, LibreOffice, Thunderbird, Virtualbox, obs studio, openshot, audacity, Steam are all valid examples of this.

Google Chrome Browser =Now with those who prefer google chrome browser, there is only ONE measly dependency he or she must install first for it to install correctly. I forgot what it was named exactly but it's easily found in Synaptic Package manager. select to install it, click apply and it's just next next basically to get it done..THEN run the google chrome installer you get from directly downloading it from doing an internet search on any browser for " google chrome for linux" and you'll get the .deb file. Worst case is you may have to make it executable, I don't remember having to do that ever.

Now there are some that take more and much more know-how in the Linux world to get installed and running. Makemkv USED To be a damn compile-using-cmake-bs adventure-only from the 2016 and 2015 days of mint versions. I became tired of that bs really fast and just patiently waited until it became available to install using easier methods.

Yeah..i get it ...it read as if catrunner75 was more ranting than asking for help. *nods slowly*. Let's just try to remember to be patient. We've all been Linux noobs at one time. Hell..I'm no expert that's for damn sure xD, but I got all of my games working flawlessly except for just one. Warcraft III original 2 disc Battle Chest set. May have to run a windows VM for that one. (shrugs)
motoryzen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:25 am

Re: first download and already, its windows???? PART II

Post by motoryzen »

catrunner75 wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:52 pm
to follow up on my previous request for help, im now an hour into this and have made little progress trying to install VMWare. ive downloaded the file fresh, this time it went smoothly and did so rather quickly. second, as per instructions from here, i went into properties and mad the file executable. now this is where progress stops. in one instructional i was told i needed to ... "sudo apt install build-essential", it appears this has gone thru and installed, however i have zero idea what it is and was simply said that this was needed. then it tells me....<

<sudo bash ~/vmware.bin>
bash: /home/bryce/vmware.bin: no such file or directory

when i double click on the folder in downloads and ask me to "run" or "run in terminal", nothing happens at all. no response, nothing as if i didnt click on anything.
<$ cd ~/downloads>
bash: cd: /home/bryce/downloads: no such file or directory
<pwd>
home/bryce
<$ ls>
desktop documents downloads music pictures public templates videos

thats well over an hour today, id say wasted but im learning right?
--Why do you need to us VMware? What software needs to have a VM in order to use it? Corel Wordperfect? ...Adobe content creation software? Autocad? Microsoft Flight Simulator? Logitech software? Legit..all good vibes meant, but I'm curious. IF it's none of those, I may be able to help you get it running using Wine and manage it via Lutris if needed..especially if it's a game. ( Warcraft III original 2 disc Battle Chest set is my only dead-end ..humbly speaking)
catrunner75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Trouble installing VMWare Player as new Linux user

Post by catrunner75 »

you probably missed it on some of my replies, but i dont need it specifically for anything. its the fact that ive tried 2 different methods and i cant get the thing to install. so its a learning thing, what have i not done or missed? i spent some time this afternoon beating myself up after installing virtualbox because i could not find it anywhere, but after reading some forum threads found that its most likely a bug of some sort. so, the only way i can get virtual box to open up is to type it in terminal. so i cant get vmware to install, and i want to know why. i have it downloaded. i have clicked the box for permission to allow executable. so... click "run in terminal"....extracting vm installer...done...then some message about root flashes for .1 of a second, i just cant read it , flashes so fast and closes. alternatively, when i just click on "run", it does nothing at all. i also tried something with "vmware.bin" in my home folder. ive followed a few different instructions off of google searches.
Kseanfitz_1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:32 pm
Location: USA love it or leave it!

Re: Trouble installing VMWare Player as new Linux user

Post by Kseanfitz_1 »

Another W.A.G from me...
Wondering if in some of the instructions you are trying to use they have a $ symbol in the command to be copied? I see this quite a lot in commands offered on the net! If so, then do not copy that part of the command given! copy the given command from the first visible character and on to its end(sometimes hidden from view in the post often showing a scroll bar down below. Do not copy an empty space after the $ sign and before the first charter.
You will notice the "$" (without the quotes) is already on your command line prompt with one space after it indicating you are a basic user. Additionally when you are a Super User (root) that symbol will change to "#" (without the quotes). also be ware on net offered commands that have posting user applied quotation " " marks where they are often but not always not part of the proper command to be entered.
Another thing i have found is that sometimes a command is given as a user command and failed, but when I used, sudo before the command it worked.
Word of caution: sudo or su are not toys and need to be used cautiously.
Do not be afraid to ask if a sudo or su command is safe in an exact command syntax line just to make sure untill a person has a better understanding and experience with using POWERFUL commands!

Edit: If you are unsure of the syntax used or if you forgot any command previously used you can open a command prompt window, terminal, and type it the word "history" (without the quotation marks) and out pops all the commands you have entered.

BTW, Welcome to the Linux Mint Forums :D
Last edited by Kseanfitz_1 on Fri Sep 18, 2020 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Welcome to the Linux Mint forums!
"One, is glad to be of service."
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11583
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trouble installing VMWare Player as new Linux user

Post by Moem »

Kseanfitz_1 wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:04 pm
Another W.A.G from me...
What's a W.A.G.?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
Kseanfitz_1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:32 pm
Location: USA love it or leave it!

Re: Trouble installing VMWare Player as new Linux user

Post by Kseanfitz_1 »

Moem wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:41 pm
Kseanfitz_1 wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:04 pm
Another W.A.G from me...
What's a W.A.G.?
:oops: :shock: Wild A$$ Guess :mrgreen:
Welcome to the Linux Mint forums!
"One, is glad to be of service."
Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization”