How to Install VMware-Player in Cinnamon

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Oskar1224
Level 5
Level 5

How to Install VMware-Player in Cinnamon

Post by Oskar1224 »

In my Cinnamon 20.1 desktop I want to install as a Guest a free version of the VMware-Player where I will Install VISTA 32bit to run some old utilities. I do have a VMware-Player download which runs in my Windows10 laptop (VMware-Player-12.0.0-2985596.exe) but I don’t know if this will be suitable in Cinnamon.

Assuming I will get the right VMware-Player download how do I run an .EXE file in Cinnamon?

If I have to use the terminal what will be the exact command line syntax? I have used the terminal before but I have limited experience with it. Something like this?

cd/downloads/sudo apt install /vmware-player.exe

Please tell me exactly what I should write

Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Nicolas
MikeNovember
Level 7
Level 7

Re: How to Install VMware-Player in Cinnamon

Post by MikeNovember »

Hi,

You should 1st download the Linux version of VMware Workstation player from here: https://www.vmware.com/products/worksta ... ation.html
(click on the download link on the right).

You normally get a file with ".bundle" extension in your downloads directory.
With today revision, 16.1.2, it is "VMware-Player-Full-16.2.1-18811642.x86_64.bundle".

Open a terminal in your downloads directory and enter the following command lines (wait for a command line to be executed before to type the following one):

Code: Select all

sudo apt install gcc build-essential -y
export LC_ALL=C
sudo chmod +x VMware-Player*
sudo ./VMware-Player*
The last command launches the installation of VMware Workstation Player.