Printer works on USB Mint but not on VMware Mint

Questions about virtualization software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
pbtn6
Level 1
Level 1

Brother printer that worked on USB Mint does not on VM MInt

Post by pbtn6 »

Sorry if this has been covered before but there are so many posts about printers that I did not know how to search for something relevant.

I am completely new to Mint.

Yesterday I installed Mint 21 Cinnamon on a USB stick and everything seemed to work on my Windows 10 laptop except my USB-connected Brother DCP-J785DW printer/scanner when Mint found the printer and installed a driver. Trying to print in Libre Office Writer produced a "could not start printer" error.

Downloading the driver installer tool from Brother's web site and following the installation instructions solved the problem and encouraged me to install Mint in a more permanent way.

Today I installed VMWare on my laptop, downloaded a fresh Mint ISO file and went through the whole process again, this time installing it on the virtual machine. Same problem with the driver that Mint installed, so I again downloaded and installed the Brother driver.

Although the final installation step of printing a test page worked, Libre Office Writer is still reporting "could not start printer". In the Print troubleshooter, when I tried to print a test page it reported "waiting for printer to become available".

Can anyone suggest what steps I should take next?

Peter
Last edited by LockBot on Thu Mar 02, 2023 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
brian_p
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Brother printer that worked on USB Mint does not on VM MInt

Post by brian_p »

I have never used a VM, so am not much use to you when it is in the picture/

Give a list of printers seen in the Writer dialog. Which one gave the error message?