Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
User avatar
TomFreeloader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 9:55 am

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by TomFreeloader »

bu99zy wrote:

Code: Select all

deb http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/ sid main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/ sid main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free
Well my KDE install is still working well but what are those repos? I mean, will they mess anything up? I put those lines in my /etc/apt/sources.list and did apt-get update and it had over 1000 updates and 1GB to download! I didn't do it because I'm not sure if it will screw up my install or not. Here's my current sources list ----

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free
deb http://download.bitdefender.com/repos/deb/ bitdefender non-free
deb http://www.lamaresh.net/apt sid main
deb http://repository.spotify.com stable non-free

Any advice or comments, anyone?

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by zerozero »

Tom, take a look at the FAQ :wink:
and i noticed as well packages.linuxmint is missing from there.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
TomFreeloader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 9:55 am

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by TomFreeloader »

Hey thanks! I was looking for something like that. Ok so now adding -------

#from the FAQ page
deb http://debian.mirror.frontiernet.net/debian squeeze-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ squeeze-backports main

gave me only 8 updates to install. lame, libblueray, libmatroska and some vlc libs... Is it ok to have a combination of sid and squeeze?
I'm certainly no expert on Debian but I thought debian 6.0 squeeze was stable while sid was not. And correct me if I'm wrong..

I know that this LMDE is ALL testing really but so far so good.

Also (may be a little off topic) I have a HP mutimedia keyboard with all the volume buttons and stuff, and I was multi-tasking on top of multi-tasking today but somehow one of the buttons launched this --- http://i.imgur.com/oZza3.jpg very unity like... not sure how I did this exactly...

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by zerozero »

Tom,
i though that the FAQ was somehow clear about the risks of mixing releases :) apparently not.
unless you know what you are doing, the sources.list are a danger place to be :lol:

re. that interface, that is the netboot-interface (one of kde's interfaces)
something like this
Image
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
TomFreeloader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 9:55 am

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by TomFreeloader »

Well it was good info maybe a little overwhelming to me right now. I have it bookmarked and will read it again tonight. I've been really busy today so I skimmed it while I should have sat down and read it. What it is with me is that I've used Linux since 2004 starting with puppy linux. Of course, like alot of ppl, I've tested and played around with quite a few distros I guess I'm a little spoiled on the ubuntu based Mint editions. I'm learning more about differences in deb packages. For instance, earlier today I got on sourceforge looking for kflickr now they had a ubuntu deb (I'm amd64 btw) but I read somewhere that LMDE is compatible with Debian, which isn't compatible with Ubuntu. so rather than download the Kflickr.amd64-ubuntu.deb I downloaded the source tar.gz (which compiled nicely) I wasn't sure if the ubuntu deb would work or not...
I'm trying to watch what I install but so far everything seems to be stable with this KDE so far... of course I have everything backed up on other partitions anyway so if this breaks than I'm not out much. (Not that I'm trying to screw it up)
:D
so here is my sources.list now-----

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import universe multiverse
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free
deb http://download.bitdefender.com/repos/deb/ bitdefender non-free
deb http://www.lamaresh.net/apt sid main
deb http://repository.spotify.com stable non-free
#from the FAQ page
deb http://debian.mirror.frontiernet.net/debian squeeze-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ squeeze-backports main

if memory serves backports are recompiled packages from testing (mostly) and unstable (correcrt?)

sudo apt-get -f install and sudo aptitude -f install come back ok... again bear with me. I'm not expert but am always willing to learn new things about Linux and remain enthusiastic about this.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by zerozero »

Tom,
backports are to used with stable, they are of no use with testing or sid.
they are a way to get new app into stable, because other way they would be to old and outdated. in testing you don't have that issue (kinda off, testing is not cutting edge), testing is fairly updated.

also lamaresh is outdated, you should find other ways to get wine, a simple search in the lmde sub-forum will show you a few topics about the subject.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
TomFreeloader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 9:55 am

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by TomFreeloader »

Ok i got wine all fixed up. so now my sources.list is :

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free
deb http://download.bitdefender.com/repos/deb/ bitdefender non-free
deb http://repository.spotify.com stable non-free

Words like "backports" and "Romeo" I always tended to stay away from... I guess I need to do some more research here.. I've just been so busy working and all...

Yeah I guess that I shouldn't really be messing with it but does that seem right? Everything is running really great here otherwise..
Image I like it so far :)

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Unable to Install KDE on LMDE

Post by zerozero »

Code: Select all

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main import backport romeo upstream
you can see here in this web-interface what each of these are and what pkgs/lib they provide to your system.

afaik backport has been always empty, romeo is used to test some pkg that Clem has still some doubts about its stability and then usually they move on either to main, import or upstream.
so it can be disabled as well that you won't miss much, unless you want to test things :lol:

ahh, and kde is sweet, hey?
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”