Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windows 7

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windows 7

Post by palimmo »

I'd very thankful if you could help me to figure out this problem.

Same websites
http://mediacenter.dw.de/english/live/
or
http://www.spiegel.tv/filme/gefahrengebiet-hamburg/

Same laptop, same browser (Firefox 26).

If I use Win 7, I can see the flash media content. If I use GNU/Linux (I've tried both with LMDE and SolydK), no way. The stream doesn't start.

Any idea?
:cry:

thanks!!
LM Cinnamon 64bit
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by killer de bug »

For Spiegel, it's working for me. From France. I got the sound and video.
Do you have flash installed ?

edit : do you have 'hal' installed ?

Code: Select all

apt install hal
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
perham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by perham »

palimmo wrote:I'd very thankful if you could help me to figure out this problem.

Same websites
http://mediacenter.dw.de/english/live/
or
http://www.spiegel.tv/filme/gefahrengebiet-hamburg/

Same laptop, same browser (Firefox 26).

If I use Win 7, I can see the flash media content. If I use GNU/Linux (I've tried both with LMDE and SolydK), no way. The stream doesn't start.

Any idea?
:cry:

thanks!!
install google chrome, or run this command in a terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz DDR3-1600 12GB ]LinuxMint 16 Cinnamon
Intel Pentium 4 540 3.2GHz DDR-400 2GB LinuxMint 16 Mate
Intel Pentium 4 1.5 GHz 512MB Debian Jessie LXDE
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

killer de bug wrote:For Spiegel, it's working for me. From France. I got the sound and video.
Do you have flash installed ?

edit : do you have 'hal' installed ?

Code: Select all

apt install hal

Code: Select all

~ $ sudo apt-get install hal
[sudo] password for alessio: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
hal is already the newest version.
Last edited by palimmo on Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
LM Cinnamon 64bit
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

perham wrote:
palimmo wrote:I'd very thankful if you could help me to figure out this problem.

Same websites
http://mediacenter.dw.de/english/live/
or
http://www.spiegel.tv/filme/gefahrengebiet-hamburg/

Same laptop, same browser (Firefox 26).

If I use Win 7, I can see the flash media content. If I use GNU/Linux (I've tried both with LMDE and SolydK), no way. The stream doesn't start.

Any idea?
:cry:

thanks!!
install google chrome, or run this command in a terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin
I have Chromium on LMDE as well. And the response is unfortunately the same.
Other flash videos on other websites work. I have flashplugin-nonfree installed.
LM Cinnamon 64bit
perham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by perham »

palimmo wrote:
perham wrote:
palimmo wrote:I'd very thankful if you could help me to figure out this problem.

Same websites
http://mediacenter.dw.de/english/live/
or
http://www.spiegel.tv/filme/gefahrengebiet-hamburg/

Same laptop, same browser (Firefox 26).

If I use Win 7, I can see the flash media content. If I use GNU/Linux (I've tried both with LMDE and SolydK), no way. The stream doesn't start.

Any idea?
:cry:

thanks!!
install google chrome, or run this command in a terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin
I have Chromium on LMDE as well. And the response is unfortunately the same.
Other flash videos on other websites work. I have flashplugin-nonfree installed.
install google chrome, not chromium. you need to get it from google website. also install adobe-flashplugin instead of flashplugin-nonfree. I'm just suggesting of course.
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz DDR3-1600 12GB ]LinuxMint 16 Cinnamon
Intel Pentium 4 540 3.2GHz DDR-400 2GB LinuxMint 16 Mate
Intel Pentium 4 1.5 GHz 512MB Debian Jessie LXDE
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

I have tried installing just google chrome (and not adobe-flashplugin).

And that's interesting:
with google chrome works. here an example.
chrome.png
but the flash player version is different from firefox!

In chrome, as you can see in the screenshots, is 11.9..
In Firefox (and Chromium) is 11.2.
firefox.png
Why?
Could it be this the reason?
Which version of flash do you have in Firefox?
Thanks!
LM Cinnamon 64bit
perham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by perham »

palimmo wrote:I have tried installing just google chrome (and not adobe-flashplugin).

And that's interesting:
with google chrome works. here an example.
chrome.png
but the flash player version is different from firefox!

In chrome, as you can see in the screenshots, is 11.9..
In Firefox (and Chromium) is 11.2.
firefox.png
Why?
Could it be this the reason?
Which version of flash do you have in Firefox?
Thanks!
google chrome ships with internal pepper-based flash player which is being updated and supported by adobe, while firefox uses generic flash player available in linux which is old and dropped by adobe.
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz DDR3-1600 12GB ]LinuxMint 16 Cinnamon
Intel Pentium 4 540 3.2GHz DDR-400 2GB LinuxMint 16 Mate
Intel Pentium 4 1.5 GHz 512MB Debian Jessie LXDE
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

perham wrote:
palimmo wrote:I have tried installing just google chrome (and not adobe-flashplugin).

And that's interesting:
with google chrome works. here an example.
chrome.png
but the flash player version is different from firefox!

In chrome, as you can see in the screenshots, is 11.9..
In Firefox (and Chromium) is 11.2.
firefox.png
Why?
Could it be this the reason?
Which version of flash do you have in Firefox?
Thanks!
google chrome ships with internal pepper-based flash player which is being updated and supported by adobe, while firefox uses generic flash player available in linux which is old and dropped by adobe.
Ok. So, according to you, no one should be able to see this stream in Firefox in Linux. Am I right?
LM Cinnamon 64bit
perham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by perham »

palimmo wrote:
perham wrote:
palimmo wrote:I have tried installing just google chrome (and not adobe-flashplugin).

And that's interesting:
with google chrome works. here an example.
chrome.png
but the flash player version is different from firefox!

In chrome, as you can see in the screenshots, is 11.9..
In Firefox (and Chromium) is 11.2.
firefox.png
Why?
Could it be this the reason?
Which version of flash do you have in Firefox?
Thanks!
google chrome ships with internal pepper-based flash player which is being updated and supported by adobe, while firefox uses generic flash player available in linux which is old and dropped by adobe.
Ok. So, according to you, no one should be able to see this stream in Firefox in Linux. Am I right?
nope, I can see that in firefox too. install adobe-flashplugin and probably it gets fixed for you too.
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz DDR3-1600 12GB ]LinuxMint 16 Cinnamon
Intel Pentium 4 540 3.2GHz DDR-400 2GB LinuxMint 16 Mate
Intel Pentium 4 1.5 GHz 512MB Debian Jessie LXDE
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

perham wrote: nope, I can see that in firefox too. install adobe-flashplugin and probably it gets fixed for you too.
Ok. I try!
LM Cinnamon 64bit
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

palimmo wrote:
perham wrote: nope, I can see that in firefox too. install adobe-flashplugin and probably it gets fixed for you too.
Ok. I try!
uhm.. I do not have any adobe-flashplugin in my synaptic archive.
Just flashplugin-nonfree and mint-flashplugin-11. :|
LM Cinnamon 64bit
perham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by perham »

palimmo wrote:
palimmo wrote:
perham wrote: nope, I can see that in firefox too. install adobe-flashplugin and probably it gets fixed for you too.
Ok. I try!
uhm.. I do not have any adobe-flashplugin in my synaptic archive.
Just flashplugin-nonfree and mint-flashplugin-11. :|
that's because you're using lmde which is based on debian and not linuxmint which is based on ubuntu. you can add the ubuntu partner repository manually to your sources if you want to, but it is not recommended.

edit: first give mint-flashplugin-11 a try, some people have solved their problem using that. but you still need to remove any traces of flashplugin-nonfree.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get --purge autoremove flashplugin-nonfree 
but here's how in case you wanted to do it:

run these commands one at a time:

Code: Select all

echo "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ saucy partner" | sudo tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get --purge autoremove flashplugin-nonfree 
sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz DDR3-1600 12GB ]LinuxMint 16 Cinnamon
Intel Pentium 4 540 3.2GHz DDR-400 2GB LinuxMint 16 Mate
Intel Pentium 4 1.5 GHz 512MB Debian Jessie LXDE
Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3058
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by Monsta »

Install mint-flashplugin-11 (it works fine in Firefox) and don't risk using Ubuntu repos.
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

Monsta wrote:Install mint-flashplugin-11 (it works fine in Firefox) and don't risk using Ubuntu repos.
Hi Monsta.
As already stated before, I have on my machine both flashplugin-nonfree and mint-flashplugin-11.
But the version shipped with this two packages (11.2) doesn't give me the opportunity to watch these streams.
Are you using firefox as well? which flash version do you see with a right click?
thanks!
LM Cinnamon 64bit
Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3058
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by Monsta »

I don't know why you have both. I'm using the current version of mint-flashplugin-11 which is 11.2.202.332. Both of your links are working fine, I can see the videos.

I recommend uninstalling flashplugin-nonfree. Maybe it just gets in the way.
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

Monsta wrote:I don't know why you have both. I'm using the current version of mint-flashplugin-11 which is 11.2.202.332. Both of your links are working fine, I can see the videos.

I recommend uninstalling flashplugin-nonfree. Maybe it just gets in the way.
That's strange.
I have removed flashplugin-nonfree and my version of mint-flashplugin-11 is the same as you, 11.2.202.332. But I can't watch these streams.
LM Cinnamon 64bit
partha_665
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:11 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by partha_665 »

Hello ..

I'm having the same issue that I can watch a live stream smoothly on Google Chrome on Linux-Mint 13 ( Xfce-4.10 desktop) but the same stream does not run on Firefox version 26 on Linux Mint. I have done enough of putting queries in linux mint channels on IRC & posted query in Linux Mint Forum as well.But no reply or solution was received from any end whatsoever. Can you please help me to fix this nagging bug! Does Firefox lag behind Google Chrome in streaming videos? I have already tried installing "hal" & adobe flushplugin as instructed in the reply to the query made as "Media content not available in Linux but it is in Windows 7". & all output says its installed.

So would be the fix? Please help me out.I would be immensely greatful for any solution provided.

Thanks & Regards.
partha_665.
User avatar
palimmo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:55 am

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by palimmo »

partha_665 wrote:Hello ..

I'm having the same issue that I can watch a live stream smoothly on Google Chrome on Linux-Mint 13 ( Xfce-4.10 desktop) but the same stream does not run on Firefox version 26 on Linux Mint. I have done enough of putting queries in linux mint channels on IRC & posted query in Linux Mint Forum as well.But no reply or solution was received from any end whatsoever. Can you please help me to fix this nagging bug! Does Firefox lag behind Google Chrome in streaming videos? I have already tried installing "hal" & adobe flushplugin as instructed in the reply to the query made as "Media content not available in Linux but it is in Windows 7". & all output says its installed.

So would be the fix? Please help me out.I would be immensely greatful for any solution provided.

Thanks & Regards.
partha_665.
Hi partha_665.
Sorry but until now the solution I'm adopting is simply using Chrome when I need to stream Deutsche Welle or Spiegel.tv.
LM Cinnamon 64bit
perham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Media content not available in Linux, but it is in Windo

Post by perham »

partha_665 wrote:Hello ..

I'm having the same issue that I can watch a live stream smoothly on Google Chrome on Linux-Mint 13 ( Xfce-4.10 desktop) but the same stream does not run on Firefox version 26 on Linux Mint. I have done enough of putting queries in linux mint channels on IRC & posted query in Linux Mint Forum as well.But no reply or solution was received from any end whatsoever. Can you please help me to fix this nagging bug! Does Firefox lag behind Google Chrome in streaming videos? I have already tried installing "hal" & adobe flushplugin as instructed in the reply to the query made as "Media content not available in Linux but it is in Windows 7". & all output says its installed.

So would be the fix? Please help me out.I would be immensely greatful for any solution provided.

Thanks & Regards.
partha_665.
adobe flash player for linux which is used in firefox and other browsers (except chrome) is unmaintained and discontinued. updates will only be available for chrome's pepper-based flash player. sorry, but that's the policy of adobe. you can support projects like gnash which try to offer an alternative to adobe flash player, or write adobe's support to voice your opinion about their decision.

http://www.osnews.com/story/25639
his is all part of Adobe's effort to move away from the Flash Player. The mobile versions had already been discontinued, and step by step, the other versions will be discontinued or de-emphasized as well. With the arrival of HTML5 and Adobe's inability to deliver acceptable performance on platforms other than Windows, Flash Player's fate was sealed.
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz DDR3-1600 12GB ]LinuxMint 16 Cinnamon
Intel Pentium 4 540 3.2GHz DDR-400 2GB LinuxMint 16 Mate
Intel Pentium 4 1.5 GHz 512MB Debian Jessie LXDE
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”