Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade. [SOLVED]

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade. [SOLVED]

Post by zerocc »

Upgraded almost painlessly this morning. Just the one issue identified so far: no right click on the desktop, no desktop icons, unable to set wallpaper or desktop colour.
Any ideas?

EDIT: I can change the colours after all - but I can't set a gradient...
Last edited by zerocc on Sun May 24, 2015 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
darethehair
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Morden Manitoba Canada
Contact:

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by darethehair »

zerocc wrote:Upgraded almost painlessly this morning. Just the one issue identified so far: no right click on the desktop, no desktop icons, unable to set wallpaper or desktop colour.
Any ideas?

EDIT: I can change the colours after all - but I can't set a gradient...
As for myself, with the latest LMDE 2 upgrade (and new Cinnamon), I have also noticed a few quirks:

- existing wallpaper folders work, but attempts to add other new ones just shows grayed-out image selections
- occasional sudden losses of desktop features i.e. minimal or invisible running app icons -- this forces me to 'reset' Cinnamon (ALT F2 + 'r')
There is nothing more dangerous than a bored cat.
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by killer de bug »

zerocc wrote:Upgraded almost painlessly this morning. Just the one issue identified so far: no right click on the desktop, no desktop icons, unable to set wallpaper or desktop colour.
Most (or all) of these features are handled by Nemo. Therefore, please check if nemo is correctly installed and if it's running correctly.
Did you restart after the upgrade?

Code: Select all

apt update && apt install nemo

Code: Select all

nemo &
Last edited by killer de bug on Sat May 23, 2015 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

Nemo running very happily, thank you. That was my first thought.

And yes - I have rebooted several times since.
Biker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:58 am
Location: Where my hat is

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by Biker »

Noticing the same behavior after the updates this morning. Right mouseclick on desktop provides a different menu now, where as before one could update/change the desktop backgrounds. This is no longer possible.
Linux User #384279
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

Biker wrote:Noticing the same behavior after the updates this morning. Right mouseclick on desktop provides a different menu now, where as before one could update/change the desktop backgrounds. This is no longer possible.
That's not the 'same' behaviour that I'm experiencing. I think what you're describing is a 'feature'.
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by killer de bug »

Could you please both provide the output of

Code: Select all

apt policy cinnamon cinnamon-desktop-data cinnamon-desktop-environment nemo 
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

killer de bug wrote:Could you please both provide the output of

Code: Select all

apt policy cinnamon cinnamon-desktop-data cinnamon-desktop-environment nemo 

Code: Select all

cinnamon:
  Installed: 2.4.8+betsy
  Candidate: 2.4.8+betsy
  Version table:
 *** 2.4.8+betsy 0
        700 http://packages.linuxmint.com/ betsy/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     2.2.16-5 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
cinnamon-desktop-data:
  Installed: 2.4.2+betsy
  Candidate: 2.4.2+betsy
  Version table:
 *** 2.4.2+betsy 0
        700 http://packages.linuxmint.com/ betsy/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     2.2.3-3 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
cinnamon-desktop-environment:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 2.2.4
  Version table:
     2.2.4 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
nemo:
  Installed: 2.4.5+betsy
  Candidate: 2.4.5+betsy
  Version table:
 *** 2.4.5+betsy 0
        700 http://packages.linuxmint.com/ betsy/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     2.2.4-2 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

So I installed cinnamon-desktop-environment - which got me a whole load of the old Gnome games package and some other stuff, but didn't cure the problem....
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by killer de bug »

zerocc wrote:So I installed cinnamon-desktop-environment - which got me a whole load of the old Gnome games package and some other stuff, but didn't cure the problem....
You should remove this immediately. It's from an old version (Cinnamon 2.2 and you have Cinnamon 2.4)... :shock:
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
simonbrown
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:49 am

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by simonbrown »

check settings, desktop, show desktop icons is on. You will have no right click menu etc. if it is turned off, as these are provided by nemo, and if the desktop icons are turned off then it will not be managing the desktop.
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

Yep, Desktop Icons is set 'on'. I experimented with that already....
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

killer de bug wrote:You should remove this immediately. It's from an old version (Cinnamon 2.2 and you have Cinnamon 2.4)... :shock:
Yep. Sheepish face. All gone now....
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by killer de bug »

I'm running our of ideas. Maybe you can install Cinnamon 2.6 and see if it solves your problems.

Cinnamon 2.6 is available in Romeo, the repo for unstable packages. It's a development version and therefore a few bugs are still present. Nevertheless, it's perfectly usable and already rocking solid.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

Thanks for your help. I may try that eventually....
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

And no: the situation is exactly the same with 2.6. Ah, well...


EDIT: Ignore that - remembered to reboot and now everything is dandy!!! 2.6 FTW!
Last edited by zerocc on Sun May 24, 2015 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
simonbrown
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:49 am

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by simonbrown »

Do you have right click elsewhere ?
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by zerocc »

Sorry - ignore my previous post. After rebooting everything is sorted! And 2.6 is looking great, btw....
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Inactive Cinnamon Desktop since upgrade.

Post by killer de bug »

Perfect! Good piece of news!
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”