Page 2 of 3

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:53 pm
by wf54
There's no Terminal on the install, Not sure how to do that, Linux skill 0.
Writing this from an old laptop'
No programs or software manager and terminal to use on the installed 18.

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:58 pm
by austin.texas
wf54 wrote:There's no Terminal on the install, Not sure how to do that, Linux skill 0.
Ctrl+Alt+t
austin.texas wrote:Open a terminal: Ctrl+Alt+t
If that does not work, try Ctrl+Alt+F2 to go to tty2 and log in.
Then when you are done with the Boot Info Script commands, do Ctrl+Alt+F7 to return to your original graphical session.

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:43 pm
by wf54
ctrl+alt+t didn't work
ctrl+alt+f2 worked, went to Documentation https//www.linuxmint.com
myname@myname-Swystem-Product-Name ~ $
got the link but unable to select it and past it into the terminal.
by terminal do you mean go out of this window using after myname@myname-System-Product-Name ~ $ Ctrl+Alt+t
Or do i type it after myname@myname-system-product-Name ~ $

Sorry but I did say idiot proof and thanks for doing this

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:53 pm
by wf54
couldn't open terminal, had to go back to graphical session.

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:04 pm
by wf54
I managed to open terminal and followed your instructions.
couldn't copy and paste but here's the link that came up after sudo bootinfoscript --stdoubt | pastebin
https://gist.github.com/9a56be09b8b0db4 ... 074344bf8e
thanks

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:41 am
by austin.texas
wf54 wrote:I managed to open terminal and followed your instructions.
couldn't copy and paste but here's the link that came up after sudo bootinfoscript --stdoubt | pastebin
https://gist.github.com/9a56be09b8b0db4 ... 074344bf8e
thanks
You did get some output, but not the expected full report.
Did you perhaps spell --stdout wrong when entering the command?

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:25 pm
by wf54
Don't think so but i will give it another try.
Question, would burning 8.2 and trying to install 8.2 work, or would the computer just load into 8.3?
Thinking along the lines of maybe a different mint may clean it up and boot afresh.

Here's the result; https//gist.github.com/dcd53d82339ee932de92e2b449c4ae71

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:38 pm
by austin.texas
It wouldn't hurt to try. That would help eliminate the possibility of a bad download on your 18.3

Re: Mint 18.3 Locked out unable to install

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:44 pm
by JerryF
This is the same problem that you've posted here:

viewtopic.php?f=237&t=261719&p=1418843#p1418843

and marked it as solved. You were going to return the HP and try another.

If you want help, please respond to member's questions and suggestions with definite answers, not "I think I did".

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:51 pm
by Moem
Mod note:
Topics merged.

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:56 pm
by whm1974
Not trying to be a smart ass here, but having issues such as this are a good reason to build your own computer, or buy from a Linux vendor. I'm afraid that these sort of problems will get worse in the near future.

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:00 pm
by wf54
No it's not the same problem, it loaded, previous problem was to get past the secure boot.
This is a screw-up on my part by failing to take out the usb [no warning given to remove media so I didn't remove usd and the install isn't correct.
going to try installing 8.2, the computer may not bypass the usb and think it's a new os to be installed and wipe out 8.3.
Not trying to be a smart ass here, but having issues such as this are a good reason to build your own computer, or buy from a Linux vendor. I'm afraid that these sort of problems will get worse in the near future.
not a smart ass, you're flaming right

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:07 pm
by whm1974
wf54 wrote:No it's not the same problem, it loaded, previous problem was to get past the secure boot.
This is a screw-up on my part by failing to take out the usb [no warning given to remove media so I didn't remove usd and the install isn't correct.
going to try installing 8.2, the computer may not bypass the usb and think it's a new os to be installed and wipe out 8.3.
Not trying to be a smart ass here, but having issues such as this are a good reason to build your own computer, or buy from a Linux vendor. I'm afraid that these sort of problems will get worse in the near future.
not a smart ass, you're flaming right
However you might have much better results with a not too old refurbished machine. If you look carefully, Newegg has a wide selection with decent specs and low prices. I have a Thinkpad T430 I brought last for $170 and had no trouble installing Manjaro and then Mint a week ago.

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:49 pm
by wf54
I'm half way there. trying to install 18.2 idea didn't work although I checked the boot and fast start.
I managed to use the shortcut keys to take a snapshot of my window, the result showed what looked like two pages, one showing the left half with icons the other page looked like the right have with mint logo. the page resolution was correct but playing with the other settings merged them into one, and it's stayed so for now.
In computer it shows;

File System,

ADATA SU800 size type date unknown, this is the boot drive which has home folder and settings that I can access.

DRW-24D5MT which seems to be working.

Generic compack flash, generic MS/MS-Pro, Generic SD/MMC and Generic SM/xD-Picture - tried the SD and thats working.

ST1000DM010-2EP102 - UNABLE TO MOUNT Can't mount file box appears and although it shows up in the Computer and bios I'm unable to send file to it or open it,
The idea of having the 1TB was to be able to drag and drop files and send files into it from folders,
If I can do this then maybe a future upgrade will put right the other issues.
another idiot question what's does mount mean? as you see below both drives are listed.

System: Host: Name-System-Product-Name Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc:
5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) dm: lightdm Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine: Mobo: ASUSTeK model: H110M-PLUS v: Rev X.0x Bios: American Megatrends v:
3401 date: 03/16/2017
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-7100 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 15648
clock speeds: min/max: 800/3900 MHz 1: 799 MHz 2: 799 MHz 3: 799 MHz 4: 799 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Device 5912 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:5912
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Kabylake GT2 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering:
Yes
Audio: Card Intel Sunrise Point-H HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3 chip-ID:
8086:a170
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network: Card-1: Intel Device 24fd driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:24fd
IF: wlp1s0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1128.2GB (1.2% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: ADATA_SU800 size: 128.0GB serial: 2H4320096461
ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST1000DM010 size: 1000.2GB serial: W9A9DDW1
Partition: ID-1: / size: 110G used: 5.6G (6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.45GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID: System: supported: N/A
No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Unused Devices: none
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 30.0C mobo: 29.8C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Repos: Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
deb http: //packages.linuxmint.com sylvia main upstream import backport
deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial main restricted universe multiverse
deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ xenial-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http: //archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ xenial partner
Info: Processes: 205 Uptime: 12 min Memory: 632.6/7844.9MB
Init: systemd v: 229 runlevel: 5 default: 2 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Unknown python2.7 client inxi: 2.2.35

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:46 pm
by wf54
Question, Could I use the Disks utility to mount the second drive.
When looking in the utility it has all the drives details, model, size, serial No and assessment.
After opening the cog wheel icon below the Volumes box and clicking on format partition would it be wise to leave the first two options erase and type alone and just add a file name?

Not knowing what I'm doing so asking what may be foolish questions. While searching for answers I've found different methods, some of which may be out of date and I could end up doing more harm than good.

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:56 pm
by austin.texas
wf54 wrote:Question, Could I use the Disks utility to mount the second drive.
To be precise, you don't mount the drive, you mount a partition.
What partition do you want to mount?

Post the result of

Code: Select all

sudo lsblk -o model,name,size,fstype,label,owner,uuid,mountpoint

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:13 pm
by wf54
I'm unable to use my 1TB drive to place file and folder into to save the space on my smaller main drive,
When trying to open the drive a box opens to say 'Unable to mount location - Can't mount file'.
Didn't know it the Disks application could fix this problem.


System-Product-Name ~ $ sudo lsblk -o model,name,size,fstype,label,owner,uuid,mountpoint
[sudo] password for wilf:
MODEL NAME SIZE FSTYPE LABEL OWNER UUID MOUNTPOINT
ST1000D sdb 931.5G root
DRW-24D sr0 1024M root
ADATA S sda 119.2G root
├─sda2 110.9G ext4 root 3369bae5-305f-4ba8-b70e-6af0a16f7475 /
├─sda3 7.9G swap root f9848b7e-f85d-408d-bd42-3144eb7be302 [SWAP]
└─sda1 512M vfat root D824-8F0B /boot/efi

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:27 pm
by Spearmint2
This is a Seagate drive that is 6 years old at least. It's during a time when high failure rates on 1-4TB drives were occurring with Seagate drives.

https://www.backblaze.com/blog/hard-dri ... mber-2014/

This is about the 3TB drives which were the worst, but the 1TB drives also had high failure rates then. Both were deployed in 2012.

https://www.pcworld.com/article/3028981 ... rates.html
https://www.extremetech.com/computing/2 ... lure-rates


Image

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:03 pm
by wf54
This is a Seagate drive that is 6 years old at least. It's during a time when high failure rates on 1-4TB drives were occurring with Seagate drives.
It's a new system from CCL computers with no documentation about the drive. Seems odd that a company is installing drives that are six or more years old.
Odd but not impossible.
Is there a way to find out the manufacture date by the serial number? opening up the case would void the warranty.

Re: SOLVED-I would love to go back to Linux right now.

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:26 pm
by Spearmint2

Code: Select all

inxi -xxD
will give you the serial number.