LMDE in netbooks

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Iskander
Level 1
Level 1

LMDE in netbooks

Post by Iskander »

I'm a Mint beginner, in the sense that I have never actually used or installed any of the Mint variants (except that I tried a it a bit from a usb key on a netbook). I was thinking about installing Mint XFCE in my wife's netbook, but with the announcement of LMDE I wonder if that would not be a better option. The idea is that I would not like to have to re-install her netbook's OS every 6 months, but don't mind upgrading it every 2 weeks.

The question is: can LMDE be made to be appropriate for a netbook (lightweght, display adapted to a netbook), or it's just better to go with Mint XFCE and accept a reinstall in 6 months?

Rifester

Re: LMDE in netbooks

Post by Rifester »

Debian may be more difficult to install drivers. If you are prepared for this and willing to do some research Debian would be great. Why not install the current LTS version of Mint and then you won't have to reinstall in 6 months? If you post the type of netbook & wireless card we might be able to advise you about compatibility issues.

vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12

Post by vrkalak »

I recently bought a new AAO Netbook.
First, thing I did was install a Debian OS on it. (not Mint-Debian but similar)
My new AAO Netbook came in today.

I've spent the last hour or so playing with it.

It was supposed to have Windows 7 Home Premium edition ... instead, it has Windows XP Service Pack 3.
I was a little bummed about that, just cause I wanted to see what all the 'hoopla' was about with W7.

First thing I did was download DebianLive 5.0.4 to Unetbootin ... and changed the Netbooks BIOS for USB boot-up.
Debian opened up as a LiveUSB ... I've been playing with it. Haven't installed anything yet.

So far ... everything in DebianLive works "out of the box".
Wireless ... Wifi ... Webcam ... everything.

I'll keep ya'll updated on my Acer Aspire One netbook and Linux adventures.