Page 1 of 1

LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 1:53 am
by KenWeiLL
I've seen discussions about changing LMDE from testing to stable (upcoming squeeze) but have not encountered changing from testing to sid (unstable).

Well, I just did change the repo from testing to sid, on multimedia, i changed to experimental.
So far, almost all went well. I did dist-upgrade and only encountered one problem.

"W: Failed to fetch http://ftp.debian.org/debian/pool/main/ ... -2_all.deb
Hash Sum mismatch"

Other than that, everything seems smooth.

I've tested several distro before on this same PC I'm using right now, all of them have slow performance when it comes to flash with my machine. Haven't tried flash with LMDE based on Testing. I have tested flash on my machine only after dist-upgrading with sid repos. I was surprised with flash performance. It's as smooth as playing flash games on winxp. :D

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:16 am
by mati75
For fix this problem you must run:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f
I have that some problem on normal install debian sid.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:39 am
by ugh
I upgraded LMDE to Sid without issue as well. Nice and snappy just as you'd expect.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 12:50 pm
by gotjazz
hrm I don't know - I mean sid and testing aren't THAT much apart from each other (even now when squeeze is already frozen) so, apart from the aparently better sevurity on sid, right now I'd rather think "why bother?"
I don't know how up-to-date that extra security repo for testing is so even that might not be an issue. Anyway, testing is less likely to break and not so far behind...

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:40 pm
by omenest
gotjazz wrote:...aparently better sevurity on sid, right now I'd rather think "why bother?"
I don't know how up-to-date that extra security repo for testing is so even that might not be an issue.
Firstly, sid has no security team whatsoever. Testing does in the freeze phase.
Secondly, when Debian pushes 6.0 codename 'Squeeze' current testing will be replaced by packages that are currently in sid.
Thirdly, the "extra security repository" is enabled by default, so if you haven't messed with your sources list, it should still be there.

As far as Debian base goes, sid is the only true rolling distro among all it's flavors. Price to pay for this is lack of security and potential system instability, but this is nothing that common sense (TM) can't mitigate. If anything, the dangers it carries should make you read up on changelogs and forums, hell, maybe even learn something in the process before you hit that update all button.

Running sid is the nerd way of living on the edge :lol:

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:13 am
by KenWeiLL
mati75 wrote:For fix this problem you must run:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f
I have that some problem on normal install debian sid.
Thanks, but it didn't solve the problem.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:05 am
by anamnesis
KenWeiLL wrote:
mati75 wrote:For fix this problem you must run:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f
I have that some problem on normal install debian sid.
Thanks, but it didn't solve the problem.
No wonder. $ sudo apt-get -f install might solve your problems.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:13 am
by vincent
omenest wrote:As far as Debian base goes, sid is the only true rolling distro among all it's flavors.
Not quite; Testing is also qualified as a rolling release distro, it's just that updates take a bit more time to trickle down from Unstable to Testing. You'd always be a bit behind Unstable in terms of cutting-edge-ness, but you'll be able to run Testing for an indefinite amount of time without having to re-install (until you're bored of Debian, or you break it so badly for some reason that you have to re-install); isn't that what "rolling release" means?

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:15 pm
by indaymadel
vincent wrote: Not quite; Testing is also qualified as a rolling release distro, it's just that updates take a bit more time to trickle down from Unstable to Testing. You'd always be a bit behind Unstable in terms of cutting-edge-ness, but you'll be able to run Testing for an indefinite amount of time without having to re-install (until you're bored of Debian, or you break it so badly for some reason that you have to re-install); isn't that what "rolling release" means?
PCLinuxOS is a rolling release, yet it's stable. I even think, as I've what observed, that it's even more bleeding edge than Debian Sid itself.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:11 am
by sumski
I think Sid is currrently maybe most stable of all "released" distros, because they are preparing Squeeze for release, and packages must first come into Sid, so at this time there isn't any of the bleeding edge packages in Sid. If you want upstream packages, enable Experimental. (Wouldn't recommend it,only if you pick individual packages)

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:44 pm
by reference2myself
I just upgraded to sid too, the only problem I had was with pidgin, uninstalling "pidgin-facebookchat" fixed it

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:43 pm
by Scorpio_Snake
I ran Sid for 6 months with only one problem and it wasn't a problem specific to Sid. Sid is actually very stable, though it does have the potential to have problems. I wouldn't use it for servers, but it seems fine for a desktop. I have been thinking about upgrading my LMDE to Sid as well.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:28 am
by kruijf
Can some one tell me what the right sid security line must be i get a 404 on that.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:07 am
by vincent
There is no "security" repository for Sid, like there is for stable and testing. Sid simply moves too fast for the Debian security team to handle, and besides, security fixes land up in newer upstream versions to packages in Sid fairly quickly.

Re: LMDE based on sid

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:37 am
by kruijf
Thanks for the quick answer.