LMDE with different DE's installed

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by vger7 »

I added XFCE and LXDE to my Debian install.
I now have the choice of which DE and what to start up.

Here are some memory usage numbers (idle + htop running).

Gnome - 151 MB
XFCE - 102 MB
LXDE - 82 MB :mrgreen:

LMDE is running on VBox.
OS was shutdown completely and restart before launching the various DE's.
All updates are current.
User avatar
darethehair
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Morden Manitoba Canada
Contact:

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by darethehair »

Interesting! Thanks for running those DE/memory stats!
There is nothing more dangerous than a bored cat.
msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 878
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by msuggs »

vger7 wrote:Here are some memory usage numbers (idle + htop running).

Gnome - 151 MB
XFCE - 102 MB
LXDE - 82 MB :mrgreen:
Interesting, your Xfce could probably do with a bit more tweaking :D I can generally get my Xfce installs to run at about the same memory usage as Openbox. The key is to remove the extra plugins that you don't really use.
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by craigevil »

LXDE 68.6 MiB :)

Code: Select all

 python ps_mem.py
 Private  +   Shared  =  RAM used    Program 

 80.0 KiB +  13.5 KiB =  93.5 KiB    klogd
116.0 KiB +  18.0 KiB = 134.0 KiB    irqbalance
120.0 KiB +  33.0 KiB = 153.0 KiB    gnome-pty-helper
132.0 KiB +  24.0 KiB = 156.0 KiB    atd
132.0 KiB +  30.5 KiB = 162.5 KiB    syslogd
152.0 KiB +  31.0 KiB = 183.0 KiB    init
140.0 KiB +  57.0 KiB = 197.0 KiB    ck-launch-session
160.0 KiB +  78.0 KiB = 238.0 KiB    hald-addon-input
164.0 KiB +  78.5 KiB = 242.5 KiB    hald-addon-acpi
200.0 KiB +  78.5 KiB = 278.5 KiB    lxsession
208.0 KiB +  72.0 KiB = 280.0 KiB    hald-runner
252.0 KiB +  29.0 KiB = 281.0 KiB    dirmngr
256.0 KiB +  39.0 KiB = 295.0 KiB    dbus-launch
240.0 KiB +  87.0 KiB = 327.0 KiB    cron
364.0 KiB +  16.0 KiB = 380.0 KiB    dhclient
264.0 KiB + 154.5 KiB = 418.5 KiB    menu-cached
316.0 KiB + 109.0 KiB = 425.0 KiB    su
288.0 KiB + 188.0 KiB = 476.0 KiB    hald-addon-storage (2)
408.0 KiB + 141.0 KiB = 549.0 KiB    getty (6)
652.0 KiB +  78.5 KiB = 730.5 KiB    ntpd
560.0 KiB + 181.0 KiB = 741.0 KiB    dbus-daemon (2)
704.0 KiB + 161.5 KiB = 865.5 KiB    console-kit-daemon
328.0 KiB + 669.5 KiB = 997.5 KiB    udevd (3)
876.0 KiB + 158.0 KiB =   1.0 MiB    xscreensaver
  1.3 MiB + 388.0 KiB =   1.7 MiB    slim
  1.5 MiB +   1.1 MiB =   2.6 MiB    parcellite
  2.4 MiB + 661.5 KiB =   3.0 MiB    openbox
  2.9 MiB + 152.5 KiB =   3.0 MiB    hald
  2.6 MiB +   1.5 MiB =   4.1 MiB    x-terminal-emul
  4.2 MiB +  41.5 KiB =   4.3 MiB    preload
  3.0 MiB +   1.8 MiB =   4.9 MiB    lxpanel
  4.4 MiB + 836.0 KiB =   5.2 MiB    bash (2)
  5.2 MiB +   2.1 MiB =   7.3 MiB    pcmanfm
 22.0 MiB +   1.1 MiB =  23.1 MiB    Xorg
---------------------------------
                         68.6 MiB
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
vooid
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 7:27 pm

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by vooid »

well my LMDE (GNOME) setup uses 84 MB at startup
Joylove
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:33 pm

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by Joylove »

Openbox (with Tint2) = 54mb
Image
vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by vger7 »

Original numbers were pretty much from out of the box setting.
The only additional startup item was NTP.

But after just some minor changes to the startup items,
and removing pulseaudio, I got
these numbers:

Gnome: 140
LFCE: 92
LXDE: 71 :!:

My only gripe now is the speaker volume icon, which is black
on a graduated black background. I haven't found its location
yet to change it.
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by craigevil »

vger7 wrote:Original numbers were pretty much from out of the box setting.
The only additional startup item was NTP.

But after just some minor changes to the startup items,
and removing pulseaudio, I got
these numbers:

Gnome: 140
LFCE: 92
LXDE: 71 :!:

My only gripe now is the speaker volume icon, which is black
on a graduated black background. I haven't found its location
yet to change it.
Right-click the panel>Panel Settings>Appearance
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by vger7 »

Changing the Panel is not the problem.
I like it the way it is.

It's finding the volume icon so i can change it appearance, that is the problem.
indaymadel
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by indaymadel »

How about KDE?
Get started building backlinks using my free backlinks collection.
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by craigevil »

vger7 wrote:Changing the Panel is not the problem.
I like it the way it is.

It's finding the volume icon so i can change it appearance, that is the problem.
If you change the font to a lighter color the speaker shows up.


Image
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
Joylove
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:33 pm

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by Joylove »

indaymadel wrote:How about KDE?
IIRC around 190~220mb :cry:
phil
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:46 pm
Location: Consejo, Belize, Central America

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by phil »

Interesting

My memory usage is:

Gnome with Debian menu, Conky, Thunderbird, and Firefox but no speaker on panel: 105mb
Xfce with , Conky, Thunderbird and Firefox but no speaker on panel: 108mb

I am partial to Xfce and use it most of the time. This is not the computer listed on my signature but the following:
Mint LMDE & Win 7, Intel Atom D510MO @ 1663 mhz, 2g Crucial mem, Vertex SSD, internal Intel graphics.
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: LMDE with different DE's installed

Post by jeffreyC »

Debian Squeeze Fluxbox with conky, preload and wicd running 48mb
The same with Xfce 90mb
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”