LMDE Newbie (SOLVED)

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

LMDE Newbie (SOLVED)

Post by Wrinkly »

Good morning.
Is there a special forum within LMDE for very basic questions?
Or should I go back to the main support list and post in Newbie Questions, even if my query relates to LMDE?
Thanks.
Last edited by Wrinkly on Sat Oct 23, 2010 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by caf4926 »

You are in the right place
Go ahead
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

OK, thanks. I'm sure this is a really stupid question.....
I've successfully downloaded LMDE, took about 8 hours. Then I did all the updates, which took another 5 hours.
If LMDE is a "rolling release", then surely the number of updates is going to get greater and greater. Does this mean that eventually it's going to take about a month just to download all the updates?

User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by caf4926 »

No
Don't worry
Updates work the same as any release. The first batch of updates post install is going to be big. From now on things will be much less. But rolling release means you will not need to re-install to get the next release. As the updates feed thru, you get the latest and greatest from debian.
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

Thanks, caf4926. I understand that.
But what about the person who downloads LMDE for the first time next year?
Or what happens if I have, for some reason, to completely re-install my operating system? Or if I buy a new laptop?
Will there be a more up-to-date "starting point" in the future?

User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by caf4926 »

In the release notes, it does mention that from time to time the LMDE.iso will be updated
So you would still need to download that.

I take it your internet is somewhat limited?
In which case, isn't or wouldn't it be perhaps better to use Mint 9 which is far more conservative in updates and is LTS too. Just a thought.
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

OK, I understand. Thanks
I take it your internet is somewhat limited?
You are very polite. By African standards, I've got a good broadband connection, but it's rubbish compared with the speeds I get when I'm in UK.
Wouldn't it be perhaps better to use Mint 9 which is far more conservative in updates and is LTS too?
I've got LM9 installed too. And I was so impressed with it that I took a deep breath and deleted the original operating system (Windows Vista).
So I thought I'd try out this wonderful new LMDE. I only use my computer for simple stuff, mostly OpenOffice & email. But I've noticed that LMDE is definitely faster.

Thanks for your help,
Cheers

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by vincent »

When you upgrade a package from the repos, it automatically chooses the most recent package (unless you've pinned your APT repositories with non-default priorities, but that's a totally different issue we're talking about here). E.g. say you had Firefox 3.6.8, and there's a package in the repo offering you an upgrade to 3.6.11. If you had just installed this distro that came with FF 3.6.8, you can upgrade straight to 3.6.11 (i.e. you don't have to upgrade to 3.6.9, then 3.6.10, then 3.6.11). Therefore, although the size of the updates will generally become greater if you haven't updated for a long period of time, it certainly won't get to the stage where it'll take you a whole month to download updates, as updates are not cumulative...all you need is the latest package from the repos, not everything in between.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by caf4926 »

I took a deep breath and deleted the original operating system (Windows Vista)
No a difficult one to decide. That OS is so slow it's like treacle in Winter.
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

caf4926 wrote:That OS is so slow it's like treacle in Winter.
....except that we don't get winter in this part of the world :D

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

vincent wrote:When you upgrade a package from the repos, it automatically chooses the most recent package (unless you've pinned your APT repositories with non-default priorities, but that's a totally different issue we're talking about here). E.g. say you had Firefox 3.6.8, and there's a package in the repo offering you an upgrade to 3.6.11. If you had just installed this distro that came with FF 3.6.8, you can upgrade straight to 3.6.11 (i.e. you don't have to upgrade to 3.6.9, then 3.6.10, then 3.6.11). Therefore, although the size of the updates will generally become greater if you haven't updated for a long period of time, it certainly won't get to the stage where it'll take you a whole month to download updates, as updates are not cumulative...all you need is the latest package from the repos, not everything in between.
Thanks, Vincent. That makes a lot of sense. Now, I really understand.

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5059
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by tdockery97 »

Just wanted to pop in and say welcome to LMDE Wrinkly. :D
Mint Cinnamon 19.3

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

Thank you very much, tdockery97. That's very civil of you. I hope you have a great weekend.

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5059
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by tdockery97 »

Thanks, you too Wrinkly.
Mint Cinnamon 19.3

craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by craigevil »

The updates are the biggest when you first install and Debian based distro, simply because testing and sid are updated often.That is why people that install Debian itself use the netinstall cd, it downloads straight from the repos and installs the newest packages at install. Once you get it installed you shouldn't have many updates, OpenOffice and some of the bigger games like Openarena are some of the biggest apps.

I run sid and I upgrade daily, most of the time there are around 30-70MBs to download. Even on dial-up that shouldn't take too long to download.
LMDE should be about the same.
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

Thanks for the explanation, craigevil.

rtrev
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:11 am

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by rtrev »

craigevil wrote:I run sid and I upgrade daily
<heavily snipped>

I notice you say you "upgrade" daily. How do you do that? Just using MintUpdate? Sorry, I'm another newbie and have never used a rolling distro.

I've asked around and heard all kinds of stories about the best way to update a rolling distribution. Some say just use the normal updater, others say I should run a script which does an update, a dist-upgrade, an autoremove, and an autoclean.

I'm confused. Should I just use MintUpdate and accept whatever it offers? Or should I use Synaptic and take everything it will give me?

I would guess that just the MintUpdate would do it, but I'd like to make sure.

Thanks,
Bob

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie?

Post by Wrinkly »

Gosh, Bob, I'd like the answer to that question too.
I hope that the answer is MintUpdate, because I don't really understand all that sudo-stuff. (I think I was born a few decades too soon).
So I hope someone can point us in the right direction.

Wrinkly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie (SOLVED)

Post by Wrinkly »

Wrinkly wrote:I hope someone can point us in the right direction.
.... but I've just re-read the forum rules & I see that we're meant to open a new topic (is it called a "thread"?) for each new question, which I'll do now.
Also I'm going to mark this thread (?) as "SOLVED", which, I think, might be the right thing to do.

Thanks you to everybody who helped me.

secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: LMDE Newbie (SOLVED)

Post by secipolla »

I know you marked this as solved, Wrinkly. But this is important.
Install the debdelta package because it allows you to not need to download the whole new packages but just the difference between the current version in your system and the new version.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install debdelta
Then before you update your system, be it through apt-get/aptitude, Synaptic or mintupdate, you run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo debdelta-upgrade
This will download the deltas (differences) and create the new packages. It will save you a lot of time and bandwidth.

Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”