LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
User avatar
IIJETHROII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Quebec city

LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by IIJETHROII »

Hi everybody,

First i want to say that i am glad to be part of the Mint community.

My first question is about Gnome. Is it possible to install the latest Gnome desktop on LMDE?
If so, can anybody tell me how to do this?

The gnome version with LMDE is ugly i think.

Thank you

PS: Dont take care about my english... Its not my primary language.
Image
gotjazz
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:38 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by gotjazz »

could it be that you just want another theme? 2.30 and 2.32 dont really look any different......

2.32 might be in unstable btw
Image
User avatar
IIJETHROII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Quebec city

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by IIJETHROII »

Ok i'm gonna try it...
Image
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by sumski »

http://library.gnome.org/misc/release-notes/2.32/

as you can see there isn't anything new that would be worth bothering with upgrading to 2.32

also , as gotjazz said you can try to change the theme :D
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
IIJETHROII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Quebec city

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by IIJETHROII »

Everything is OK! :)
Image
Image
User avatar
blowtorch
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:03 pm

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by blowtorch »

IIJETHROII wrote:Everything is OK! :)
Image
how'd u upgrade?
User avatar
IIJETHROII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Quebec city

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by IIJETHROII »

blowtorch wrote:how'd u upgrade?
This is'nt an upgrade of Gnome but a simple customisation of my desktop. I downloaded all the themes available in synaptic and then i choose one. And then i've installed a new icons theme, wich is Faenza Cupertino+Variants 1.0. And then i've switch the menu icon for a new one.

That's it!

But i am working on creating new wallpapers for LMDE because i think there's no really great one. I'm talking about Mint wallpaper... Cuz it's cool to be back on Debian but it still Linux Mint! :)

Image
Image
User avatar
blowtorch
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:03 pm

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by blowtorch »

IIJETHROII wrote:
blowtorch wrote:how'd u upgrade?
This is'nt an upgrade of Gnome but a simple customisation of my desktop. I downloaded all the themes available in synaptic and then i choose one. And then i've installed a new icons theme, wich is Faenza Cupertino+Variants 1.0. And then i've switch the menu icon for a new one.

That's it!

But i am working on creating new wallpapers for LMDE because i think there's no really great one. I'm talking about Mint wallpaper... Cuz it's cool to be back on Debian but it still Linux Mint! :)

Image
ah ok gotcha! +1 for faenza cupertino + variants ... thats what i'm also using
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 24994
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE with Gnome 2.32?

Post by xenopeek »

carla23 wrote:And if compare XFCE and LMDE
From my understanding, XFCE is more lightweight, while LMDE uses gnome. Is this true? Any other differences? Anybody run either of these and can share an opinion?

Thanks.
Next to Gnome, LMDE is also available in Xfce. And the KDE and Fluxbox versions of Linux Mint are moving to the LMDE base also. (Ubuntu based Linux mint will keep Gnome and LXDE.)

FYI a recent comparison of the memory footprint & CPU utilization of different DEs: http://www.renewablepcs.com/about-linux ... me-or-xfce
Image
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”