How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
macias
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

Post by macias »

Debian Squeeze RC2.

I installed Debian (because LMDE installer lacks support for LVM/dmcrypt) with hope, that after successful installation it would be possible to switch repos and convert Debian into full LMDE. Since such conversion was described:
http://www.khattam.info/howto-change-de ... qus_thread

it seemed doable.

However, after adding LM repos (as described) I got error from apt-get, that LM repos do not have a signature. And that's all, apt-get refused to do any work.

So -- is the conversion possible, and if yes, how to do it?
Last edited by macias on Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
jam666
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 6:31 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Post by jam666 »

Acer Aspire 4810TZG running LMDE 64bit
Asus P5G41C-M LX, Intel Dual-Core E5300, 2gb DDR3 running Debian Squeeze 6.0 64bit
macias
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Post by macias »

Thank you very much!!! ;-) The howto you linked contains one crucial piece -- downloading the keys for each repo. I downloaded the keys, apt-get asked me if it is OK to download UNSIGNED packages, I agreed, and after that apt-get worked without any complains about missing signatures.

So, I have LMDE (I think at least I have it) now. I restarted computer, and it worked.

Small issues, though -- originally /etc/apt/sources.list contained entry for deb-src, in both howtos this line is omitted. How can I put it back in correct form (I would like to use testing repo, not stable).

The other things are strictly superficial -- I think I can handle them. But the one above -- adding source packages to repo list -- I would like to solve this, because the entry was there originally (from Debian install).

Thank you in advance.
User avatar
debian_bugsbunny
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:56 am

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Post by debian_bugsbunny »

For source files simply duplicate the lines in sources.list that start with deb and replace the deb at the beginning with deb-src. So, if sources.list currently looks like:

Code: Select all

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ testing main non-free
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
then simply add the following lines:

Code: Select all

deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ testing main non-free
deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
Image Debian testing+sid/experimental on Dell Inspiron 9300
macias
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Post by macias »

Thank you!
macias
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

Post by macias »

Hmm, you mean that verbatim quote of pinning in the articles mentioned at start of this thread are not good enough?
fearedbliss
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 4:40 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

Post by fearedbliss »

I wrote a tutorial on installing Linux Mint with LVM

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... VM#p391323
Get paid to shop at Market America !
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”