Page 1 of 1

A new LMDE user

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:46 am
by kbmaniac
I have just installed LMDE on my D610 Laptop and have to say it totally flies !, I used to be a debian user many years ago, then ubuntu but needed something lightweight so LMDE ... perfect.

Really pleased with it, the only "problem" being the lack of a boot screen, I know its only cosmetic and a known issue, is there a workaround out there ?

Cheers

kbmaniac

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:07 am
by tdockery97
You can install Plymouth and then you can watch solar flares instead of a bunch of text flying by. :wink:

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:53 am
by kbmaniac
Thanks, I will look into it :)

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 1:43 am
by skypeace
tdockery97 wrote:You can install Plymouth and then you can watch solar flares instead of a bunch of text flying by. :wink:
Thanks downloading it now......

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:27 am
by twa
skypeace,
to install Plymouth

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install plymouth-themes-all
then edit GRUB

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
and change lines 7 and 8 to read
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="vga=791"
or change VGA to your screen resolution/depth.
sav the file and give following to abilitate Plymouth

Code: Select all

sudo plymouth-set-default-theme solar

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub

Code: Select all

sudo update-initramfs -u
restart the PC
:wink:

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:43 am
by kbmaniac
Many many thanks, that makes it a lot easier :), got to say am loving LMDE, apart from the splash screen, where are these rough edges I was expecting .... cant seem to find them ... all I have found so far is a lot of polish

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:39 am
by twa
kbmaniac,
do U mean this ???

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:10 am
by dungbeetle
Thanks TWA. I just followed your instructions and have it working. My screen has a native res of 1600x900 and I cant find a vga code number for it. There do not seem to be any 16x9 codes, so I used 791 but the sun is not round :shock:
Anyone know how to find my vga code?

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:38 am
by twa
dungbeetle,
I googled intensely but unable to find a VGA for your 1600x900.
found only for 1440x900 : 8 bits = 868
16bits = 869
try to change to one of these
:?:

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:01 pm
by dbkblk
Here's my MEMO to configure plymouth (+ proprietary drivers). I hope it'll be a correct translation from french:

MEMO : Plymouth installation

If you use the free drivers. You just have to do this:
$ apt-get install plymouth
/usr/sbin/plymouth-set-default-theme solar (you can change "solar" by the theme you want. The list can be obtained with "/usr/sbin/plymouth-set-default-theme --list")
update-initramfs -u

If you use the proprietary drivers, you ALSO have to fix the display bug with this procedure :
As root:
$ apt-get install v86d

Reboot and type « c » into grub, then « vbeinfo » and note the display configuration that your graphic card can afford. Then :

As root:
$ gedit /etc/default/grub

and copy, then change the following values (with a resolution that you saw with vbeinfo):

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash nomodeset video=uvesafb:mode_option=1280x1024-24,mtrr=3,scroll=ywrap"
GRUB_GFXMODE=1280x1024

Save, then :
As root:
$ gedit /etc/initramfs-tools/modules

Add the following line :

uvesafb mode_option=1280x1024-24 mtrr=3 scroll=ywrap

Save, then :
As root:
$ gedit /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/splash

Add this :

FRAMEBUFFER=y

Save, then :
As root:
$ update-grub2
update-initramfs -u

I hope it help. No need to guess vga code this way :p

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:06 pm
by sgosnell
Instead of the code, just put in your screen resolution.

Re: A new LMDE user

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:03 pm
by dungbeetle
Thanks guys, I will have a play around with those suggestions. I did see a message flash past just after booting saying something on the lines of "vga=791 is deprecated" so I will check into that.