We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by zerozero »

i believe it wont happen: the new iso, the new update packs (latest if you want to play safe, incoming if you feel more adventurous) LMDE can be a trouble-free ride 8)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
Spec-chum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by Spec-chum »

Finally got around to reinstalling lmde on to ssd. Took a couple of -f installs to update but now fully updated tracking incoming :mrgreen:

Looking forward to breaking something now lol
Sonsum
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:03 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by Sonsum »

I installed LMDE mid to late June. Oddly, I haven't had any borkage (although I did have to upgrade in stages initially. First I updated stage 1 > 2> 3. After that, I started using apt-get upgrade for all my updates).
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by Dar-es-Salaam »

Hi zerozero,

I wouldn't mind being a tester but as a relative newbie to Linux I dont think that I would be much use. I mearly use the programs and have no idea about code but good luck anyway :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
Spec-chum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by Spec-chum »

Dar-es-Salaam wrote:Hi zerozero,

I wouldn't mind being a tester but as a relative newbie to Linux I dont think that I would be much use. I mearly use the programs and have no idea about code but good luck anyway :D :D
I wouldn't worry about that too too much, even reporting a problem you can't fix would help as it would alert possibly more experienced users who may have not encounted the issue yet. :)
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by zerozero »

Dar-es-Salaam, as Spec-chum said you can pin-point an issue with a program or a pkg, even without finding the solution, that others would not find;
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by kmb42vt »

Spec-chum wrote:
Dar-es-Salaam wrote:Hi zerozero,

I wouldn't mind being a tester but as a relative newbie to Linux I dont think that I would be much use. I mearly use the programs and have no idea about code but good luck anyway :D :D
I wouldn't worry about that too too much, even reporting a problem you can't fix would help as it would alert possibly more experienced users who may have not encounted the issue yet. :)
I'll second that as well. A pair of "fresh eyes" can be invaluable ("merely using programs" without encountering problems is the ultimate goal, right?). Especially when the mind behind those "fresh eyes" isn't stuffed with years full of code debugging, scratching about forums for answers, bug reports, troubleshooting problems, applying various solutions and plain old experience overload, that you end up forgetting half of what you learned in the first place. :shock:

You know what they say about familiarity? :D

If you simply have a "how do you do this?" question about LMDE then you can start your own LMDE thread or search thorough the Mint forums (and Google of course) for the answer. But if you're getting error code thrown up in your face when you're attempting to do something like run a program, some hardware isn't working, an application stops working after an update, if updating fails in one way or another or things just start acting funky then post it here.

Welcome to the circus! :D
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by kmb42vt »

zerozero wrote:Dar-es-Salaam, as Spec-chum said you can pin-point an issue with a program or a pkg, even without finding the solution, that others would not find;
You know, if I wasn't so darn wordy you wouldn't keep beating me to the punch like this.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by zerozero »

kmb42vt wrote:
zerozero wrote:Dar-es-Salaam, as Spec-chum said you can pin-point an issue with a program or a pkg, even without finding the solution, that others would not find;
You know, if I wasn't so darn wordy you wouldn't keep beating me to the punch like this.
:lol: :lol: :twisted:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by Dar-es-Salaam »

Hi All,

Well after reading all your comments I have changed my source list as requested and am now on your testing list so I find out if anything goes wrong. I hope, not but will report it if I spot anything. :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1309
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by wyrdoak »

Something I found out today, when I was installing LMDE I forgot to create a swapfile, for it I just assumed it would find the one already there for Mint 10. A week latter finally found out it didn't.

So been running an Atom CPU with 2gbs of RAM for a week and just noted that I have no swap in LMDE. :oops:

I just used dphys-swapfile to create one. Didn't want to mess with the partitions, for still unsure of it in Linux.
-Dell Mini Inspiron 910 Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
15GB RAM- 1gbs-(LinixMint-19.3: LMDE)
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1263
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by SimonTS »

That's very odd. My Linux systems all share the same swap partition (be they Mint, LMDE, PCLinuxOS etc) without any problem. I'm certain that LMDE just pick up the swap through the installer - when I set the partition for / the swap was already listed and it just worked.
Mind you, on a laptop with 6GB RAM I don't exactly need to use it, but it's there if I ever get bored and decide to play around with hibernation :evil:
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by wayne128 »

Update Pack 2

2011.07.21
More to come...

We're currently gathering feedback on this update pack...
got it updated

some 221 package

reboot, still there.. will test more .. :lol: :mrgreen:
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1263
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by SimonTS »

Currently messing around with PCLOS, but I'll come back over and try this update later.
Serendipity
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:38 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by Serendipity »

I notice that Update 2 is trying to install OpenOffice.org. Anyone know if downloading these files will replace LibreOffice, install OpenOffice along side LibreOffice, or if the packages are just misnamed?
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by wayne128 »

OK
a bit of mini- test:
1. media playing all ok, however , remember I uninstalled Pulse totally.
2. network browsing vis Nautilus, OK
3. youtube watching video OK, full screen OK

now that old issue of kernel panic when multi-partition USB drive is unmount
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 00#p445930

tested 4 times without reboot yet..
plugin USB drive, OK,
unmount USB drive------------------no panic, :mrgreen:
repeat this 4 times, seems ok

will reboot later and test again.

EDIT:
Reboot, test USB drive again. no more kernel panic, great to see it resolved.
Last edited by wayne128 on Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Serendipity
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:38 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by Serendipity »

Never mind. I removed OOO from LMDE months ago, but it somehow crept back.
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by wayne128 »

Serendipity wrote:I notice that Update 2 is trying to install OpenOffice.org. Anyone know if downloading these files will replace LibreOffice, install OpenOffice along side LibreOffice, or if the packages are just misnamed?

I think those open office thing you saw are as below.
They are harmless.
After upgrade Libreoffice is still fully installed. :mrgreen:

Code: Select all

office productivity suite -- GTK+ integration 
 
This is a transitional package, replacing the OpenOffice.org packaging
with the LibreOffice packaging.

It can be safely removed after an upgrade.

Code: Select all

office productivity suite -- email mail merge 
 
This is a transitional package, replacing the OpenOffice.org packaging
with the LibreOffice packaging.

It can be safely removed after an upgrade.

Code: Select all

office productivity suite -- database 
 
This is a transitional package, replacing the OpenOffice.org packaging
with the LibreOffice packaging.

It can be safely removed after an upgrade.
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1598
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by GeneC »

Tracking "Incoming Testing"
Fully updated to Service Pack 2 (just now)

No problems.
Tested video, sound, et.
Nvidia works fine.
bikrus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 6:43 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Post by bikrus »

Just switched from "Latest" to "Incoming" repo.
apt-get update & upgrade (207 packages + about 10 later)
Reboot. No problems.
Tested (not deeply):
- firefox, gpsd, krusader, kate, terminator, mercurial
- apache+php+sqlite + flashplayer standalone (little local web app)
- video (youtube in firefox, smplayer & vlc on h264)
- sound (youtube in firefox, smplayer & vlc on ac3, mp3)
- usb stick (mount-unmount)
- wifi-networking (Intel)
- nvidia

NVidia installed after upgrade by nvidia-xconfig package from synaptic. Reboot. Blank screen with cursor. Alt-F2->login->"sudo nvidia-xconfig". Reboot. Nvidia work perfectly.
GL support tested on gl-screensavers.

Just one disappointment. apt-get upgrade didn't upgrade few packages:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
  gdebi gdebi-core python-webkit vlc vlc-nox vlc-plugin-notify vlc-plugin-pulse
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 7 not upgraded.
But later on these packages has been upgraded by update-manager without any problems. Why they hasn't been upgraded by apt-get upgrade I didn't understand.

Current configuration:
- "Incoming" repo
- 2.6.39-2-686-pae
- XFCE
- grub on logical partition, chainloaded
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”