UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 977
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by kmb42vt »

zerozero wrote:wyrdoak, that is funny, if you open the image with EoG and try to set it as background, nothing happens, however if you open it with F-Spot, it works, go figure :shock:
Same here but I rarely use EoG as I find it rather useless. I have Gthumb set as my default image viewer and "Set as background works fine".

Here's what I get when I open EoG via the terminal then open an image, attempt to set it as background and then click on the "Open Background Preferences" button that pops up within EoG after it supposedly sets the image as the background (which it doesn't).
kmb42vt@lmde-respin-rc ~ $ eog
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"

** (gnome-control-center:6361): WARNING **:
error raised: [libslab_get_gconf_value: error getting /desktop/gnome/applications/main-menu/lock-down/user_modifiable_apps]


** (gnome-control-center:6361): WARNING **:
error raised: [load_xbel_store: couldn't load bookmark file [NULL]
]


** (gnome-control-center:6361): WARNING **: get_actions_list() - PROBLEM - Can't load gtk-theme-selector.desktop


** (gnome-control-center:6361): WARNING **: get_actions_list() - PROBLEM - Can't load gnome-cups-manager.desktop
Seems like EoG isn't integrated into LMDE very well? I'll have to boot into LM 11 and see if it works from there. if it does then it probably means that this EoG version is still set to work in Ubuntu and not Debian but that's just a supposition on my part.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 977
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by kmb42vt »

I found out today that the vbox driver did not upgrade properly so that my Windows 7 VirtualBox VM would not run. I had to open a terminal and type in the following in order to patch the updated vbox driver to the kernel:

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
Note: I installed the non-free version of VirtualBox (currently 4.1.2) by adding the VirtualBox repository to my sources.list and installing from Synaptic.

This should have happened during the update but it didn't for some reason and unfortunately, I'm not code savvy enough to figure it out myself. Hopefully Clem will see this and check it out himself?
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5113
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by viking777 »

by viking777 on Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:42 pm
Unetbootin.

I just noticed that on this installation (201108 Gnome rc, 64bit, Update Pack 3) I am completely unable to run Unetbootin - perhaps somebody can confirm if this is me or the distro.
Anybody? All you have to do is try and start it,or am I the only one using it?
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
The Diamond Geezer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:47 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by The Diamond Geezer »

kmb42vt wrote:I found out today that the vbox driver did not upgrade properly so that my Windows 7 VirtualBox VM would not run. I had to open a terminal and type in the following in order to patch the updated vbox driver to the kernel:

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
Note: I installed the non-free version of VirtualBox (currently 4.1.2) by adding the VirtualBox repository to my sources.list and installing from Synaptic.

This should have happened during the update but it didn't for some reason and unfortunately, I'm not code savvy enough to figure it out myself. Hopefully Clem will see this and check it out himself?
The problem with

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
is that it is only temporary and you'll have to repeat this every time after you reboot your host. It happened to me when I upgraded VirtualBox from 4.0.x to 4.1.2.

Add "vboxdrv" on a line of its own, without the quotes) to the MODULES array in /etc/modules, save, reboot and that will do the job :D
Last edited by The Diamond Geezer on Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:31 am, edited 2 times in total.
secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by secipolla »

Hi Mint users. EOG is version 3.x in wheezy so that should be the reason why it won't work. It works fine in GNOME 3 (to set the background).
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by xircon »

viking777 wrote:
by viking777 on Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:42 pm
Unetbootin.

I just noticed that on this installation (201108 Gnome rc, 64bit, Update Pack 3) I am completely unable to run Unetbootin - perhaps somebody can confirm if this is me or the distro.
Anybody? All you have to do is try and start it,or am I the only one using it?
First run it asks to uninstall, I let it, second run it loaded OK. Don't use it myself, is it a wine program?
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5113
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by viking777 »

xircon wrote: First run it asks to uninstall, I let it, second run it loaded OK. Don't use it myself, is it a wine program?
No it is not a Wine program, it is a Linux program (although they make a Windows and Mac version as well) It makes bootable usb keys from iso files.

I didn't get this 'uninstall' request I just get nothing (although I have uninstalled and reinstalled it to no effect).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by xircon »

It doesn't follow my theme and looks very windows 95/98. What do you get if you launch from a terminal? Any errors?
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5113
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by viking777 »

Unetbootin SOLVED.

OK it must have been me. Up till now I have always just downloaded Unetbootin from their site and double clicked to run it. That now doesn't work. However I see unetbootin is now in the package manager (it might have been there for some time but I have never looked before). Installing via this method made it work. I notice it downloaded quite a few dependencies at the same time, so maybe they are now needed to make it run successfully.

EDIT. The problems I have had with Unetbootin led me to have a look at Pendrivelinux for the first time and I must say it looks a more capable program - I think I will use that instead.
Last edited by viking777 on Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4205
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by clem »

Quick heads up: The upcoming LMDE stable ISOs will ship with Update Pack 2. As far as I can see so far, Update Pack 3 looks pretty good, but since we've done the RC with the Update Pack 2 kernel, we're not rushing things out for the release.
Image
elastic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:50 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by elastic »

xircon wrote:
elastic wrote:as far as I can say actually everything works fine except of many broken AWN Applets: Wheather, Volume, Logout, Mint Menu, File Browser Launcher, Digital Clock and Media Control (maybe more ...)
AWN works fine here, but I use the Ubuntu PPA version, it is more up to date than the one in the repos.
that works for me as well but for the c-core applets I hat to install libindicator0 as a dep from ubuntu:
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/lucid/i386/libindicator0

not really a clean way, but it works - maybe we need AWN for LMDE in Mint repos ...
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 977
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by kmb42vt »

The Diamond Geezer wrote:The problem with

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
is that it is only temporary and you'll have to repeat this every time after you reboot your host. It happened to me when I upgraded VirtualBox from 4.0.x to 4.1.2.

Add "vboxdrv" on a line of its own, without the quotes) to the MODULES array in /etc/modules, save, reboot and that will do the job :D
Thanks for the info but I finally gave it up for a loss. I've never had to run the above code in the terminal more than once and the change was permanent and that was only when I downloaded the newest kernel .debs and installed them via gdebi. And adding "vboxdrv" to the /etc/modules file didn't help either for whatever reason.

Seems to me that there's obviously a conflict with the latest VirtualBox 4.1.2 and the newer kernels. Considering that VirtualBox 4.1.2 installed directly from the VirtualBox repo is designed for Debian Squeeze which uses a much older kernel (2.6.32) that might be the reason? Either way, I've removed the VirtualBox repo from my sources.list and downgraded to 4.0.6 which comes from the 'debian.linuxmint.com' repos. I added the appropriate extension pack, installed the 4.0.6 Guest Additions via my Windows 7 VM and everything works fine now. No problems. I'm sure they'll get the bugs worked out eventually.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
Andrew33
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Maple Heights, Ohio Republic USA
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by Andrew33 »

I have an issue with the ability to check what update pack I have.....I click the button and nothing happens....what's up with this. I'm running LMDE 201007 64bit and experimental KDE, can anyone shead some insight on this?.....thank you in advance for your help and input....cheers


Andrew
User avatar
rufong
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by rufong »

3.0.0-1-686-pae #1 SMP Sun Jul 24 14:27:32 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo #Added by software-properties
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free

# deb http://getswiftfox.com/builds/debian unstable non-free
deb http://dl.google.com/linux/deb/ stable non-free main
# Official site for latest version of Skype. http://wiki.debian.org/skype
#deb http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/debian/ stable non-free

mintupdate-debian was upgraded
446 updates listed, went thru except;
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
gnome-applets : Breaks: gnome-applets-data (< 2.30.0-4) but 2.30.0-3 is installed

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get -f install
i do realize that aptitude is recommended for debian, just so used to apt-get
i had already used it to upgrade, as well as smxi before u gave us mu-debian.. ;)
Preparing to replace gnome-applets-data 2.30.0-3 (using .../gnome-applets-data_2.30.0-4_all.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement gnome-applets-data ...
dpkg-deb (subprocess): data: internal gzip read error: '<fd:0>: invalid code lengths set'
dpkg-deb: error: subprocess <decompress> returned error exit status 2
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/gnome-applets-data_2.30.0-4_all.deb (--unpack):
short read on buffer copy for backend dpkg-deb during `./usr/share/gnome/help/stickynotes_applet/sv/figures/stickynote-right-menu-lock.png'
configured to not write apport reports
Processing triggers for python-support ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/gnome-applets-data_2.30.0-4_all.deb

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo apt-get autoremove
unresolved error still present

[since update 2] disabled/enabled the skype repository due to the same error with libqt4-core
E: /var/cache/apt/archives/libqtcore4_4%3a4.7.3-5_i386.deb: short read on buffer copy for backend dpkg-deb during `./usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4.7.3'
been using gtalk since..
cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by cecar »

rufong wrote:3.0.0-1-686-pae #1 SMP Sun Jul 24 14:27:32 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo #Added by software-properties
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free

# deb http://getswiftfox.com/builds/debian unstable non-free
deb http://dl.google.com/linux/deb/ stable non-free main
# Official site for latest version of Skype. http://wiki.debian.org/skype
#deb http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/debian/ stable non-free
Update Pack 3 is ready for you to test

WARNING: LMDE Update Packs now cover not only the Debian repository, but also the "Security" and "Multimedia" repos. Make absolutely sure you're pointing to these three repositories (and not to the original debian, security or multimedia repos):

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5060
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by tdockery97 »

andrew5859 wrote:I have an issue with the ability to check what update pack I have.....I click the button and nothing happens....what's up with this. I'm running LMDE 201007 64bit and experimental KDE, can anyone shead some insight on this?.....thank you in advance for your help and input....cheers


Andrew
I can't confirm that, it may be specific to your system. When I press the button I get the message that my sources are pointed to Debian and only more experienced users should do this. That's exactly what it should be telling me.
Mint MATE 20.1
secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by secipolla »

rufong wrote:3.0.0-1-686-pae #1 SMP Sun Jul 24 14:27:32 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo #Added by software-properties
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free

# deb http://getswiftfox.com/builds/debian unstable non-free
deb http://dl.google.com/linux/deb/ stable non-free main
# Official site for latest version of Skype. http://wiki.debian.org/skype
#deb http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/debian/ stable non-free

mintupdate-debian was upgraded
446 updates listed, went thru except;
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
gnome-applets : Breaks: gnome-applets-data (< 2.30.0-4) but 2.30.0-3 is installed

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get -f install
i do realize that aptitude is recommended for debian, just so used to apt-get
i had already used it to upgrade, as well as smxi before u gave us mu-debian.. ;)
Preparing to replace gnome-applets-data 2.30.0-3 (using .../gnome-applets-data_2.30.0-4_all.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement gnome-applets-data ...
dpkg-deb (subprocess): data: internal gzip read error: '<fd:0>: invalid code lengths set'
dpkg-deb: error: subprocess <decompress> returned error exit status 2
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/gnome-applets-data_2.30.0-4_all.deb (--unpack):
short read on buffer copy for backend dpkg-deb during `./usr/share/gnome/help/stickynotes_applet/sv/figures/stickynote-right-menu-lock.png'
configured to not write apport reports
Processing triggers for python-support ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/gnome-applets-data_2.30.0-4_all.deb

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo apt-get autoremove
unresolved error still present

[since update 2] disabled/enabled the skype repository due to the same error with libqt4-core
E: /var/cache/apt/archives/libqtcore4_4%3a4.7.3-5_i386.deb: short read on buffer copy for backend dpkg-deb during `./usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4.7.3'
been using gtalk since..
This means the packages are corrupted. Delete them from /var/cache/apt/archives or run 'apt-get clean' to delete all packages. Then try to reinstall them.
http://raphaelhertzog.com/2011/06/27/de ... ffer-copy/
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 977
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by kmb42vt »

After testing Update Pack 3 the only problem I have is a problem I have is booting off the Linux 3.0 kernel. The first thing that immediately happens after I boot off the 3.0 kernel via Grub is the screen changes to the boot text display and the following text immediately appears:
[ 0.378622] pci_root PNP0A08:00: address space collision: host bridge window [mem 0x000d0000-0x000dffff] conflicts with Adapter ROM [mem 0x000ce000-0x000d3dff]
Then the system boots normally. Once logged into the desktop everything appears and operates normally but after leaving the system idling for about an hour with only Thunderbird running, the internal speaker began buzzing which I've never heard this or any other PC do before. Booting with the previous 2.6.39-2 kernel and any previous kernel before that does not experience this problem. Considering that my machine is as off-the-shelf as you can get these days plus the fact that I've not encountered this problem with any previous kernel I have to believe that the problem exists with the 3.0 kernel itself and not my machine. This doesn't mean it's a wide spread problem of course, I'm just reporting my experience.

I haven't found the conflicting device and I'm not sure I can. I'm certainly not an expert in Linux kernels by any means. :o

Update: This problems does appear to be with Linux kernel 3.0 according to this Fedora Bugzilla bug report: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=729652

Although the conflict has to do with the "Video ROM" rather than "Adapter ROM" in my case it's most likely the same type of conflict and just depends on the hardware configuration as to how it shows up. I would bet that my "Adapter ROM" is actually the Intel 43/45 HD video hardware on my MB (which I'm not using) but I'm not sure of this yet. The good thing is that apparently the next version of the 3.0 kernel should fix this.

System: (slightly modified) Gateway Intel Core2-Quad Q8400/4MB L2 Cache, 8GB DDR2, 1 TB HDD, Nvidia GT-430 w/1GB DDR3, 550 watt Power supply
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
rufong
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by rufong »

/facepalm! hey thx cecar for pointing that out..

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get clean
to delete all packages.
secipolla wrote: ...try to reinstall them.
http://raphaelhertzog.com/2011/06/27/de ... ffer-copy/
thx secipolla, clean as a whistle now..
User avatar
m4daredsun
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:31 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 3 FEEDBACK THREAD

Post by m4daredsun »

Just installed the update pack 3. All that download & install was what quite tough, but it worked nicely.

Unfortuntately, I have to report on 2 regressions I noticed in my 1st tests. I use Mint LMDE Debian on top of which I put Openbox as DE.

1) in the update manager the button "show for individual files" does not work anymore, see screenshot below. You can push it hundreds of time, but nothing will happen.
Untitled.jpg
By the way, while using GIMP to generate the image, I noticed that somthing similar happens in the "Save as" window. It is not possible to chose a different location or to choose the file extension.

Can anybody confirm what I saw in UM and GIMP?


2) in my customized LMDE with Openbox DE, I use LxPanel as panel (how strange...).
Afetr updating to Update Pack 3, my menu does not work anymore, see my 2nd screenshot.
Screenshot-11-g3.jpg
This is quite weird :? . I also noticed that if I put the panel in the bottom position, everything works as expected. I know this not something strictly related to LMDE, but this may eventually indicate to the developers that some component is misdesigned.

I'll eventually post something similar to the LXDE post too.
The only limiting factor of the Linux operating system is its user - Linus Torvalds
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”