What is different with LMDE2 from LMDE1 ? [SOLVED]

Archived topics about LMDE 2
Locked
ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

What is different with LMDE2 from LMDE1 ? [SOLVED]

Post by ron_h » Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:05 am

LMDE2 Cinnamon 64bit upgrade from LMDE1 201403 Cinnamon 64bit

What is different as far as a user is concerned with LMDE2 compared to LMDE1 ? I understand that the repositories and the underlying Debian system has changed but at the moment the system as it interacts with a user seems to be much the same. If this is as it should be, that's great. The upgrade process just took a bit longer, and was more complicated, than applying changes through Update Manager but that's it ?

Ron
Last edited by ron_h on Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Distro-Don
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:43 pm

Re: What is different with LMDE2 from LMDE1 ?

Post by Distro-Don » Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:12 pm

For one thing the installer is much better.

ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Re: What is different with LMDE2 from LMDE1 ?

Post by ron_h » Tue Jul 14, 2015 7:20 pm

What installer ? Presumably not the installer for a new LMDE2 system because that is not relevant to a LMDE1 to LMDE2 upgrade. So I have no idea what you mean by installer.

And better in which ways that a user can understand and see ?

Ron

GeneBenson
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: What is different with LMDE2 from LMDE1 ?

Post by GeneBenson » Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:02 am

Hi ron_h,

Most of the differences will be "under the hood" and thus not noticeable to the user. You may get a newer version of your DE with some cosmetic changes or added features. You may get newer versions of some apps you've already installed that may look slightly different. It really is hard to be more precise without knowing exactly what you have installed.

If you haven't already done so I would strongly advise you to read this link about upgrading from LMDE1 to LMDE2.

ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Re: What is different with LMDE2 from LMDE1 ?

Post by ron_h » Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:34 am

I did indeed use the tutorial in order to upgrade from LMDE1 to LMDE2.

Thank you for your response, that's what I wanted to know. If an app or a service seems a little different, then that's what's to be expected !

Ron

Locked

Return to “LMDE 2 "Betsy" Archive”